Search found 615 matches

by bbotus
Sat Mar 15, 2014 9:00 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: to tell or not to tell
Replies: 18
Views: 3562

Re: to tell or not to tell

I like to make a copy of the FoG Army List Generator Excel spreadsheet for my army and give it to the opponent. I even mark the troops that are impetuous. During the game I'll tell him which unit is which whenever he asks.
by bbotus
Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:59 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Wooded terrain and rear archer support
Replies: 9
Views: 1416

Re: Wooded terrain and rear archer support

If a unit of bows has it's front rank in a wood but the second rank outside the wood, does the unit still get rear rank shooting support in the impact combat if being charged from the front. My view is not. As Hazelbark said, since the front frank is in the woods, you only get to shoot with the fro...
by bbotus
Mon Mar 10, 2014 4:57 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Gen'l Status, Routing with BG That Is Picked Up
Replies: 19
Views: 3947

Re: Gen'l Status, Routing with BG That Is Picked Up

rbodleyscott wrote:
petedalby wrote:
And be similarly dispersed and destroyed?
Not according to my set of rules - no. :)
You are of course correct Pete.
Thanks, much appreciated.
by bbotus
Thu Mar 06, 2014 12:18 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Gen'l Status, Routing with BG That Is Picked Up
Replies: 19
Views: 3947

Re: Gen'l Status, Routing with BG That Is Picked Up

Hmmm. I hear what you guys are saying. I can't get around the wording on page 107 which says the BG is destroyed at the end of the phase and the CMDR can't leave the BG until the JAP. To me that strongly implies that he has to stay with the BG when it is picked up at the end of melee (or impact, if ...
by bbotus
Wed Mar 05, 2014 9:26 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Gen'l Status, Routing with BG That Is Picked Up
Replies: 19
Views: 3947

Re: Gen'l Status, Routing with BG That Is Picked Up

Is the routing BG removed before the immediate pursuit? No, page 107 says that if a routing BG meets an enemy it cannot bypass, then it is destroyed at the end of the phase. But there is another sentence on that page which answers the question about the fate of the commander, i think. 2nd Column, p...
by bbotus
Tue Mar 04, 2014 9:58 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Gen'l Status, Routing with BG That Is Picked Up
Replies: 19
Views: 3947

Re: Gen'l Status, Routing with BG That Is Picked Up

Yeah, that is what the rules say. So, even though the BG can't complete its rout move and is surrounded and surrenders on mass, the general is left on the table and squirts away.

I wonder if the authors thought about this specific situation.
by bbotus
Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:54 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Gen'l Status, Routing with BG That Is Picked Up
Replies: 19
Views: 3947

Gen'l Status, Routing with BG That Is Picked Up

A question that has been bugging me for some time finally happened the other day. Is a CMDR lost if routing with a BG that is picked up because it cannot complete its rout move? The CMDR is removed from play if routing/evading off the table with a BG (page 54, V2). Here is what happened. A cav BG (w...
by bbotus
Thu Feb 27, 2014 5:36 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Armour in combat
Replies: 29
Views: 4054

Re: Armour in combat

Troop quality is in the rules. Armor isn't as heavy as people tend to think. I've seen people in full body armor jump up easily from the ground. I've worn a full kit of Roman Legionary armor for re-creations. It wasn't that bad and I wasn't used to wearing it. If you train in armor, it gets a lot ea...
by bbotus
Thu Feb 20, 2014 6:04 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: shooting and adding it up
Replies: 6
Views: 1061

Re: shooting and adding it up

Shooting is not rounded up. You get 1 die per X bases. MF get 1 dice per base in front rank at 4 MU or less and 1 per 2 bases for any bases in the 2nd rank or any bases over 4 MU. So in your example in effective range (4 MU or less), you would get 3 dice. 1 each for the bases in 1st rank. You only h...
by bbotus
Wed Feb 19, 2014 3:24 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: LF Evading with Interpenetration, V2
Replies: 16
Views: 2530

LF Evading with Interpenetration, V2

I'd like to make sure I'm reading the rules on pages 49 and 50 like everyone else. In the first photo the LF are in front of their infantry but angled to them. A frontal charge is declared on the LF and they choose to evade directly to their rear. http://i1213.photobucket.com/albums/cc467/bbotus/33f...
by bbotus
Sat Feb 15, 2014 10:20 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shooting backwards
Replies: 9
Views: 1467

Re: Shooting backwards

petedalby wrote:
Some people claim this was a tad fortunate
Clearly no more than you deserved Dave - a master class in tactics.
Yes, it takes an expert to know when to throw 6's :wink:
by bbotus
Fri Feb 14, 2014 10:47 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: support lf and shooting
Replies: 7
Views: 1150

Re: support lf and shooting

Yeah , I looked at the wrong line and was in a hurry. :oops:
by bbotus
Fri Feb 14, 2014 8:13 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Portable Defences, Medium Foot in the Open
Replies: 4
Views: 606

Re: Portable Defences, Medium Foot in the Open

Assuming the MF lose the impact , they wouldn't take a CT -1 for losing to mounted (not in the open) but they would still take the -1 CT for losing to lancers. Yes?
by bbotus
Thu Feb 13, 2014 7:19 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shooting backwards
Replies: 9
Views: 1467

Re: Shooting backwards

Yeah, that's what I thought. thanks. I thought Dave might have some ?sneaky? move.
by bbotus
Thu Feb 13, 2014 7:18 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: a flank or not a flank charge?
Replies: 3
Views: 527

Re: a flank or not a flank charge?

I've got the book and your statements are on page 60 and page 70 respectively.
by bbotus
Thu Feb 13, 2014 7:14 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: support lf and shooting
Replies: 7
Views: 1150

Re: support lf and shooting

And I agree. The only restriction is if a BG moves in Impact, it can't shoot. However, 2 LF bases get 1 die per 2 bases so the Dailami are shooting 1 die vs the cav which you said had lost a base and was down 25% so it still had 3 bases. 1 hit per 3 bases does not cause a CT test according to my boo...
by bbotus
Thu Feb 13, 2014 1:58 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shooting backwards
Replies: 9
Views: 1467

Re: Shooting backwards

Anybody ever use the shooting backward tactic successfully and under what circumstances?
by bbotus
Thu Feb 13, 2014 1:44 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shooting backwards
Replies: 9
Views: 1467

Re: Shooting backwards

Yeah, and I note that I generally want to shoot to my rear after I've evaded in Impact and , of course, you can't do that.
by bbotus
Thu Feb 13, 2014 1:39 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Wheeling to Charge Skirmishers in Terrain
Replies: 13
Views: 1395

Re: Wheeling to Charge Skirmishers in Terrain

OK, thanks for the help.
by bbotus
Tue Feb 11, 2014 7:45 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Wheeling to Charge Skirmishers in Terrain
Replies: 13
Views: 1395

Re: Wheeling to Charge Skirmishers in Terrain

One last question to make sure I understand it. Here is the position AAAALLL AAAALLL HHHH----CC HHHH----CC A=HF in melee with H H=HF in melee with A L=LF in overlap against H C=Cav facing up with no one in front of them (they are allied with H) The cav declares a charge on L. Assume the position is ...

Go to advanced search