Search found 98 matches

by paullongmore
Tue Jun 23, 2020 8:33 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: MAXIMA AND MINIMA
Replies: 7
Views: 460

Re: MAXIMA AND MINIMA

A celtiberian ally would have 6 -16 caetrati and 12 - 32 scutarii. For an iberian main list it's easy the number taken as allies are subtracted from the max and min caetrati and scutarii in the main list. The mercenery celtiberians are unaffected. For a lusitanian main list it's more nuanced as ther...
by paullongmore
Sun Jun 21, 2020 12:20 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: later polish town militia xbow and spear
Replies: 2
Views: 225

Re: later polish town militia xbow and spear

When the front rank doesn't have a missile weapon and the rear does the rear rank counts as the front rank when determining the number of dice (p89). Hence the three rear rank xbow bases will shoot with 3 dice at up to 4 inches and with one dice between 4 and 6 inches. The big bonus for such troops ...
by paullongmore
Sun Jun 21, 2020 12:20 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: later polish town militia xbow and spear
Replies: 2
Views: 225

Re: later polish town militia xbow and spear

When the front rank doesn't have a missile weapon and the rear does the rear rank counts as the front rank when determining the number of dice (p89). Hence the three rear rank xbow bases will shoot with 3 dice at up to 4 inches and with one dice between 4 and 6 inches. The big bonus for such troops ...
by paullongmore
Wed Aug 30, 2017 8:54 am
Forum: Army Design
Topic: Classical Greek
Replies: 2
Views: 1775

Re: Classical Greek

Yes
by paullongmore
Tue Jul 11, 2017 6:35 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can you count a general who is not with the unit when testin
Replies: 7
Views: 2430

Re: Can you count a general who is not with the unit when te

I often find, despite many views to the contrary, that playing Dave is a pleasure as I learn stuff.

This was one of those occasions.

Thought it was worth pointing out as many people don't realise/ play it that way and it is quite clear in the rules. :D
by paullongmore
Thu Jul 06, 2017 6:55 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can you count a general who is not with the unit when testin
Replies: 7
Views: 2430

Can you count a general who is not with the unit when testin

I had always considered that when a units opponents broke and it kept up in pursuit the combat continued so a general with the unit who had fought was still fighting and could not leave and as the unit was in combat it could only count a general who was with the unit for the CMT to halt pursuit. How...
by paullongmore
Tue Mar 07, 2017 2:29 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: FOG Brain Teaser
Replies: 1
Views: 762

Re: FOG Brain Teaser

The explanation is (so stop reading if you don’t want to know) The situation needs to be that you have ended up with a unit with both shock and missile armed foot in the front rank. So you have to test to charge due to the missiles and not too due to the shock. I believe there are two armies which p...
by paullongmore
Tue Mar 07, 2017 2:17 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: FOG Brain Teaser
Replies: 1
Views: 762

FOG Brain Teaser

I am the commander of an army and part way through the battle I want one of my steady units to charge. The unit can declare and make a charge on the target unit but I realise that it will make no difference whether I give the unit the order to charge or not. What army am I commanding?
by paullongmore
Thu Mar 02, 2017 9:56 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: commander upgrades when with BG
Replies: 2
Views: 770

Re: commander upgrades when with BG

There is no page dealing with shooter upgrades for a general being with the unit, since there are no upgrade to shooting for a general being with the unit (other than support shooting at impact) Note: It is only the dice rolled in the melee and impact and not those for cohesion testing as a result t...
by paullongmore
Thu Feb 16, 2017 8:15 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Interpenetrating in an evade...
Replies: 19
Views: 3831

Re: Interpenetrating in an evade...

Just to clarify, it wasn't my game but I was there. The situation was that the evade move of the LF reached the red and blue pike block (it did not reach the yellow) Therefore the LF are placed beyond the red and blue BG. Being destroyed if they cannot fit. As shown in the photo the yellow BG stops ...
by paullongmore
Fri Feb 03, 2017 9:00 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: More Overlaps
Replies: 16
Views: 3111

Re: More Overlaps

My suggestion, on the night, was that since you fight as if conformed and I believe the conform would be for the left hand unit to be in front contact (staggered) and the right hand unit to be in overlap. This would give the charge receiver 4 and 2 dice respectively. The chargers dice using the same...
by paullongmore
Fri Nov 11, 2016 9:16 am
Forum: Tournaments
Topic: Northern League Round 5 and Year Results
Replies: 2
Views: 779

Re: Northern League Round 5 and Year Results

Problem this round was it was themed and my army choice was extremely limited. :( I was worried I was going to lose my record of never having lost a game 25-0, as Muslim Indian Sultanates vs Chin is to put it mildly not a good matchup, especially when your IC dies early. Although I didn't exactly sh...
by paullongmore
Mon Oct 24, 2016 12:14 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Impacting 2nd rank
Replies: 4
Views: 1196

Re: Impacting 2nd rank

If the 2 bases were contacted by 2 enemy bases in a non-flank charge you would fight with 4 bases.
The POAs for all 4 dice are as for the front rank. e.g. all would count as 2 deep spears
by paullongmore
Wed Sep 28, 2016 3:35 pm
Forum: Field of Glory 3.0 Beta
Topic: SHOOTING
Replies: 31
Views: 6567

Re: SHOOTING

There has been some discussion of Hoplite vs Immortals or Sparabara and it has been pointed out that the Immortals or Sparabara will be at an advantage in impact but will then be at a disadvantage in melee. I have compared the number of for the 3 different FOG standards. (Rerolls have been ignored a...
by paullongmore
Mon Sep 26, 2016 2:05 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Ambush markers
Replies: 8
Views: 1629

Re: Ambush markers

You put down a 40mm by 40mm marker to represent a possible ambush. The troops in it have to not be visible from where your opponent could deploy. I think you can put down up to 3 ambush markers. You then write down what if anything is in each of your ambush markers, you also write down if you have a...
by paullongmore
Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:04 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Elephants and own cavalry
Replies: 2
Views: 716

Re: Elephants and own cavalry

Just to be clear as an Elephant only disorders within 1 base even if your own cavalry unit is lined up next to the Elephants since cavalry are normally 2 bases deep only 2 bases would be affected. As you lose 1 dice per 3 bases affected this therefore has no impact in terms of dice lost. It would af...
by paullongmore
Thu Sep 22, 2016 4:40 pm
Forum: Field of Glory 3.0 Beta
Topic: SHOOTING
Replies: 31
Views: 6567

Re: SHOOTING

FOG 3 MF bows My thoughts on v3 Rule changes affecting MF Bow (inc Longbow). Detrimental MF with Bow or Bow* who wish to shoot in the shooting phase have their movement reduce by 1MU. They cannot fire at all if they turned, expanded or placed PO's' this turn. Initial thought is it seems reasonable t...
by paullongmore
Tue Sep 13, 2016 7:47 am
Forum: Field of Glory 3.0 Beta
Topic: AARs
Replies: 54
Views: 9876

Ancient Briton vs Late Republican Roman

Phil Powell has a beautifully painted Ancient British army and he wanted to “see if they have become useable as well as beautiful” I likewise have an Ancient British army so was interested to see if the proposed changes had made the army competitive. We therefore did a test of them vs Late Republica...
by paullongmore
Mon Jul 25, 2016 9:26 am
Forum: Tournaments
Topic: Britcon 2016 12-14 August 2016
Replies: 83
Views: 10328

Re: Britcon 2016 12-14 August 2016

Andy,

I did send my list on Friday. I will send again tonight as you seem to be missing it.

Apologies to all for holding up R&Rs. I am playing Later Seleucid, which will please those who made predictions. :D
by paullongmore
Mon May 23, 2016 7:21 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: 4th rank...
Replies: 8
Views: 2256

Re: 4th rank...

Pikes are in the open and fight at full effect. The MF lose 1 dice per 3 and if they had a 2nd rank of shooters they would not count at impact due to being in the village. When the MF lose they have -1 on their test for having lost to HF in the open (it is whether the HF are in the open rather than ...

Go to advanced search