Search found 192 matches

by imanfasil
Thu Nov 03, 2011 4:41 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Intercept Charges
Replies: 30
Views: 1268

From what I can see you did it correctly. The yellow interceptor moves forward up to 2MU in an attempt to get between the blue charger and their intended target. Looking at the distances involved, this would still appear to allow the blue charger to wheel to contact both the yellow interceptor and ...
by imanfasil
Tue Nov 01, 2011 10:49 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Intercept Charges
Replies: 30
Views: 1268

If a charge is cancelled.... Perhaps I did not qualify the point correctly. My opponats case was that charges are NEVER cancelled and hence the centre coulmn IS the target of a charge and hence cannot intercept. The point being that charges are only stopped from moving to contact when an intercepto...
by imanfasil
Tue Nov 01, 2011 10:09 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Intercept Charges
Replies: 30
Views: 1268

Agreed. Looking at the picture I think that no interception is possible at all. The leftmost bottom unit is outside of the charge path. I don't think it can get between the charger and its intended target. (Note - it cannot make contact with the charger) It needed to be in a legal flank position or ...
by imanfasil
Tue Nov 01, 2011 9:40 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Intercept Charges
Replies: 30
Views: 1268

I think from the picture I agree with Nik. The outer most charge is NOT a flank charge so it doesn't cancel the charge declared on the would-be-flank-charging-interceptor it only gets in its way and prevents it from making contact. (There is clearly not a full base behind the front line of the charg...
by imanfasil
Thu Oct 27, 2011 1:47 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Heavy Artillery?
Replies: 5
Views: 386

IanB3406 wrote:It's not supposed to be effective.
Correct... don't let the extremely high cost mislead you!
by imanfasil
Thu Oct 27, 2011 1:24 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Heavy Artillery?
Replies: 5
Views: 386

I'm not sure there is an effective way...
by imanfasil
Sun Oct 23, 2011 10:15 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: LF charging LF in mixed BG.
Replies: 5
Views: 468

It is not legal. p18 defines skirmishers as only units of LH or completely LF... and p 60 - LF cannot ever charge unbroken non-skirmishers in the open.

Somewhere else it defines how mixed BGs work... but I didn't find it at first glance.
by imanfasil
Sun Oct 23, 2011 9:53 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Do MF handgunners get support shooting in Impact?
Replies: 9
Views: 585

All firearms shoot the same... like BW* , Javelins, or slings.
by imanfasil
Fri Oct 21, 2011 8:45 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Do MF handgunners get support shooting in Impact?
Replies: 9
Views: 585

yes according to my QRS.

1 dice per base for 1 rank of foot with bow, crossbow, longbow or firearm in 2nd rank, or bow in
3rd rank, behind stationary HF or MF.
by imanfasil
Thu Oct 20, 2011 4:42 am
Forum: Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion
Topic: Fog 2.0 release date, planned timing?
Replies: 4
Views: 1131

Someone mentioned that from the time things are finalized it will still be something like 6 months to get to the shelves... so I'd think Summer 2012 at the earliest since things are still un-final.
by imanfasil
Wed Oct 19, 2011 2:20 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: what happens if an evade ends in the path of another charge?
Replies: 39
Views: 1527

Don't forget evading in the manevuer phase (pp 75-76) when someone in side edge to side edge or corner to corner contact shifts or turns 90 to create a melee with a target that is evade capable.
by imanfasil
Wed Oct 19, 2011 1:44 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shifting into Melee and Expanding
Replies: 81
Views: 2869

philqw78 caught the error for the most recent Scenario A, units can turn 90 degrees in the manoeuver phase if in side edge contact (page 76). For completeness there is also an error in Scenario B. Manoeuvre Phase Red will be picked up and placed front edge to front edge with blue with close combat ...
by imanfasil
Tue Oct 18, 2011 8:51 pm
Forum: Tournaments
Topic: Millennium Con 14 - Open FOG Tournament, Austin, TX
Replies: 2
Views: 371

What is the due date for lists?

Thanks,
James
by imanfasil
Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:35 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shifting into Melee and Expanding
Replies: 81
Views: 2869

** Warning - This post contains non-sense** I am clearly (I Hope!) playing devil's advocate on the whole - why can't my in melee unit charge if charging BGs I'm already in contact with is legal... but I still can't find it. The authors comment on this will no doubt be: "You can't charge if already ...
by imanfasil
Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:32 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shifting into Melee and Expanding
Replies: 81
Views: 2869

That gets into my idiocy of a 0mm advance being up to a full advance straight ahead.
by imanfasil
Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:30 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Cav not in one rank
Replies: 5
Views: 436

It is clear in the POA section of the rules, but the word ENTIRELY is omitted from most or all of the QRSs. The fact that people are used to figuring POAs by target file for impact and melee (ranks of spear/pike, etc) confuse the issue in that case.
by imanfasil
Tue Oct 18, 2011 7:09 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shifting into Melee and Expanding
Replies: 81
Views: 2869

There is for sure one mistake in that... Scenario A) in the manuever phase red can turn 90 degrees and enter melee. (this is the side edge to side edge part of the same rule as the corner to corner one we are debating - BGs already in contact but not engaged in close combat) pp 76-77 You mentioned N...
by imanfasil
Mon Oct 17, 2011 9:53 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shifting into Melee and Expanding
Replies: 81
Views: 2869

You need to consult the rules again... no where does it say (that I have found or anyone else has mentioned) that they are not allowed to move in the impact phase. Normal move isn't used in the impact phase section - Normal Move Distance is... which is used in the interpenetration section (and answe...
by imanfasil
Mon Oct 17, 2011 9:20 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Shifting into Melee and Expanding
Replies: 81
Views: 2869

It says within its Normal Move Distance. Either its 3 (if HF) or its 0 (if you are right on intent), either way... 0 is sufficient since I am already in contact. The Charge move part says I must advance straight ahead UP TO my maximum move distance... again I choose to move 0, and end in legal charg...
by imanfasil
Mon Oct 17, 2011 9:11 pm
Forum: Army Design
Topic: Another Mid Republican Question
Replies: 3
Views: 787

I think you are misreading the intent of the lists. The 8 bases allowed by the core list are not specifically Roman (or allied) they are just 'cavalry'. So it could represent either of the types you describe. The Ally list is not a representation of an allied legion, it represents the Roman forces a...

Go to advanced search