Search found 946 matches

by Cunningcairn
Thu Oct 17, 2019 4:37 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 467

Re: LH cannot charge

To be fair the whole trapping your light unit with a second light unit in order to pin the enemy with a flank charge is rather absurd and probably needs to go. Talk about a gamey tactic to frustrate newer players! Mind you, I'll use it in a tournament myself, gotta try to win and all that, but seve...
by Cunningcairn
Thu Oct 17, 2019 11:49 am
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 467

Re: LH cannot charge

The light horse could have charged too, if you had done it in one move... Correct but it might have recoiled after impact which meant the MF would have still been able to charge my fragged cavalry in the next turn. Which would, of course, have been more realistic. Yes agree. Why do they stick when ...
by Cunningcairn
Thu Oct 17, 2019 11:46 am
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 467

Re: LH cannot charge

What is happening with the current ZOC rules is not predictable and therefore does not model warfare. And therein lies the point of contention. In reality, warfare is not completely predictable, and it is complete predictability that does not model warfare. :D Yes but tanks don't do well at sea and...
by Cunningcairn
Thu Oct 17, 2019 11:43 am
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 467

Re: LH cannot charge

Why does the Reduced CC free turn count as large turn when with CC it doesn't? It's especially weird since in the exact same situation a non-light cavalry can still charge after turning and moving. Are you saying a cav out of CC making the same move would be allowed to charge? The light horse could...
by Cunningcairn
Thu Oct 17, 2019 11:40 am
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: Please don't make me come and get you.
Replies: 94
Views: 1761

Re: Please don't make me come and get you.

paulmcneil wrote:
Thu Oct 17, 2019 11:12 am
Thanks for the tip; I'll be using these tactics from now on, what's not to like?
Does that mean you are surrendering our current game :D
by Cunningcairn
Thu Oct 17, 2019 11:36 am
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 467

Re: LH cannot charge

I have confirmed this. This is of course an artifact of the way the different code for light troops and non-light troops works, but I will have to be very careful in "fixing" it, not to break anything else. The question is whether to fix it so that both can charge, or both can't charge. I think if ...
by Cunningcairn
Thu Oct 17, 2019 10:30 am
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: Please don't make me come and get you.
Replies: 94
Views: 1761

Re: Please don't make me come and get you.

I played a game a few seasons ago when my opponent had chosen one of the "cheesy" options, an Arab City State army while I was playing with Dacians. He took a defensive position between woods and I had no choice but to deploy my MF and loose formation warband in the open. To my surprise he did not a...
by Cunningcairn
Thu Oct 17, 2019 10:16 am
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 467

Re: LH cannot charge

Are you saying a cav out of CC making the same move would be allowed to charge? Yeah, I just tested 45 and 90 degree angles with and without CC with Light Horse, and 45 degree angle with and without CC with Cavalry. Only the light cavalry loses the ability charge. It obviously doesn't make a large ...
by Cunningcairn
Thu Oct 17, 2019 9:58 am
Forum: Field of Glory II Digital League
Topic: Biblical: winners post your results here . . .
Replies: 37
Views: 793

Re: Biblical: winners post your results here . . .

Div A

Cunningcairn - Hebrew 681-586 BC with Egyptian 664-571 BC ally beat 43 - nyczar - Assyrian 681-609 BC with Egyptian 664-571 Ally by 50% to 23%
by Cunningcairn
Wed Oct 16, 2019 11:38 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II Digital League
Topic: Themed Event: winners post your results here . . .
Replies: 27
Views: 518

Re: Themed Event: winners post your results here . . .

Group C nyczar (Chinese Qin 221-207 BC?) defeats Cunningcairn (Chinese Han 206-100 BC?) 52-25%. I am sorry but I can not tell, nor recall, if i had Qin or Han. The game does not tell me either. Cnningcairn, perhaps you recall/know? Sorry no idea they are too similar. Anyway I won the next one using...
by Cunningcairn
Wed Oct 16, 2019 11:32 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II Digital League
Topic: Classical Antiquity: arrange your matches here . . .
Replies: 75
Views: 1397

Re: Classical Antiquity: arrange your matches here . . .

Div A
Cunningcairn - Ptolemaic 55-30 BC with Roman 105-25 BC ally
Challenges
Triarii - Carthaginian (Hannibal in Italy) 216-203 with Samnite ally
Snugglebunnies - Carthaginian (Hannibal in Africa) 202 BC
PW is your username in lower case
PM sent
by Cunningcairn
Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:35 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 467

Re: LH cannot charge

Why does the Reduced CC free turn count as large turn when with CC it doesn't? It's especially weird since in the exact same situation a non-light cavalry can still charge after turning and moving. Are you saying a cav out of CC making the same move would be allowed to charge? Yeah, I just tested 4...
by Cunningcairn
Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:24 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 467

Re: LH cannot charge

MVP7 wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:14 pm
Why does the Reduced CC free turn count as large turn when with CC it doesn't? It's especially weird since in the exact same situation a non-light cavalry can still charge after turning and moving.
Are you saying a cav out of CC making the same move would be allowed to charge?
by Cunningcairn
Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:22 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 467

Re: LH cannot charge

It is because they are out of command range of an unengaged general in line of command. ("Reduced CC"). Because they are out of command range, the 45 degree turn they have already made has set the "Made Large Turn" flag, which then precludes charging. If they had made the move in one step they coul...
by Cunningcairn
Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:59 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 467

Re: LH cannot charge

I have 16 AP left and cannot charge. Why not? It is because they are out of command range of an unengaged general in line of command. ("Reduced CC"). Because they are out of command range, the 45 degree turn they have already made has set the "Made Large Turn" flag, which then precludes charging. I...
by Cunningcairn
Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:57 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 467

Re: LH cannot charge

Dude, I can’t play “clue” with you all day where you give snippets of info ( And also go back and edit your prior words to give more accurate info after the fact) Just draw an arrow on your lh’s position and facing prior to moving, and repost. ( what’s so confusing w using map directions? North up,...
by Cunningcairn
Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:13 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 467

Re: LH cannot charge

You must have been out of arc to charge. I can tell because you have used you free turn, otherwise you would be able to move 4 grids to the west, but you can only move two. I was not out of arc and moved one square only. I started in the square behind the LF that is now behind the LH and was facing...
by Cunningcairn
Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:38 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 467

Re: LH cannot charge

You must have been out of arc to charge. I can tell because you have used you free turn, otherwise you would be able to move 4 grids to the west, but you can only move two. I was not out of arc and moved one square only. I started in the square where the LF behind the LH is now standing and was fac...
by Cunningcairn
Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:30 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 467

Re: LH cannot charge

You must have been out of arc to charge. I can tell because you have used you free turn, otherwise you would be able to move 4 grids to the west, but you can only move two. I was not out of arc and moved one square only. I started in the square where the LF behind the LH is now standing and was fac...
by Cunningcairn
Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:10 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 467

Re: LH cannot charge

TheGrayMouser wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:54 pm
Cunningcairn wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:29 pm
Can anyone please tell me why my LH cannot charge the rear of the MF in the picture below?

LH cannot charge.jpg
You used 4 aps to get there, so what did you do prior?
LH moved one space to current position and LF went in behind to prevent recoil. I've done this many times in the past.

Go to advanced search