Search found 4202 matches

by TheGrayMouser
Thu Oct 17, 2019 11:40 am
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 453

Re: LH cannot charge

Why does the Reduced CC free turn count as large turn when with CC it doesn't? It's especially weird since in the exact same situation a non-light cavalry can still charge after turning and moving. Are you saying a cav out of CC making the same move would be allowed to charge? The light horse could...
by TheGrayMouser
Thu Oct 17, 2019 12:14 am
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: [SOLVED] I Have Reinstalled Field of Glory II
Replies: 8
Views: 186

Re: [SOLVED] I Have Reinstalled Field of Glory II

Mord wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 11:23 pm
Congrats! Time to crush your enemies and see them driven before you.

Mord.
Don’t forget hearing the “lamenting of the women’s” especially with an Austrian,.. I mean a Cimmerian accent.
by TheGrayMouser
Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:06 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 453

Re: LH cannot charge

Wow, it never occurred to me think about being in command range for a light( I think a long time ago you noted it only mattered in rare occasions) or flagging the turn when goin back to a previously moved unit!! Certainly makes it harder to force a lh from bouncing by blocking its break off path. Th...
by TheGrayMouser
Wed Oct 16, 2019 6:44 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 453

Re: LH cannot charge

Dude, I can’t play “clue” with you all day where you give snippets of info ( And also go back and edit your prior words to give more accurate info after the fact) Just draw an arrow on your lh’s position and facing prior to moving, and repost. ( what’s so confusing w using map directions? North up, ...
by TheGrayMouser
Wed Oct 16, 2019 5:22 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II: Tournaments & Leagues
Topic: Chaos Tourney
Replies: 77
Views: 1673

Re: Chaos Tourney

Clearly real life :roll: is playing havoc with TheGrayMouser's gaming schedule so, for the sake of closure, I would like to report a defeat at his hands from some weeks ago. TheGrayMouser (Armenian) defeated Challenge1 (Thracian) 65-59 Really good game! Haha, real life forgetfulness. It was a great...
by TheGrayMouser
Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:51 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 453

Re: LH cannot charge

You must have been out of arc to charge. I can tell because you have used you free turn, otherwise you would be able to move 4 grids to the west, but you can only move two. I was not out of arc and moved one square only. I started in the square behind the LF that is now behind the LH and was facing...
by TheGrayMouser
Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:15 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 453

Re: LH cannot charge

You must have been out of arc to charge. I can tell because you have used you free turn, otherwise you would be able to move 4 grids to the west, but you can only move two.
by TheGrayMouser
Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:54 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: LH cannot charge
Replies: 41
Views: 453

Re: LH cannot charge

Cunningcairn wrote:
Wed Oct 16, 2019 3:29 pm
Can anyone please tell me why my LH cannot charge the rear of the MF in the picture below?

LH cannot charge.jpg
You used 4 aps to get there, so what did you do prior?
by TheGrayMouser
Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:44 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: Please don't make me come and get you.
Replies: 91
Views: 1552

Re: Please don't make me come and get you.

Mike, I am in full agreement with your first example , but not on you second, for several reasons. That map has a terrain feature roughly in the center, and sure , it appears your opponent would have had an easier time getting troops on it. However, it seems you could have contested said hill by dep...
by TheGrayMouser
Tue Oct 15, 2019 8:15 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: Moving through a ZOC
Replies: 96
Views: 1895

Re: Moving through a ZOC

@GrayMouser. The rule change is easy. A move is only allowed by a unit if it does not conflict with any ZoC rules instead of arbitrarily picking one and ignoring the others. Maybe, Im not so sure its desirable though based on some things I just observed. Its hard to think of "changes" when what we ...
by TheGrayMouser
Tue Oct 15, 2019 4:36 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: Please don't make me come and get you.
Replies: 91
Views: 1552

Re: Please don't make me come and get you.

NO, there is no real life example in a field battle where an army decides last minute to run at a right angle of their original battle line and hide in the woods. Such action have one sole purpose by the player, to NOT LOSE the battle, which is very different than making the best of a situation and...
by TheGrayMouser
Tue Oct 15, 2019 12:45 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: Moving through a ZOC
Replies: 96
Views: 1895

Re: Moving through a ZOC

I don't want to hijack the thread so shush me away if this is irrelevant. How can my unit attack the fragmented archers? Does it relate to what is discussed here or is it something else? ScreenHunter_20 Oct. 14 09.40.jpg This rule: A unit that is in the primary ZOC of an enemy unit (marked in red) ...
by TheGrayMouser
Tue Oct 15, 2019 12:37 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: Please don't make me come and get you.
Replies: 91
Views: 1552

Re: Please don't make me come and get you.

I don't always agree with Pete, (as he will no doubt attest!) but on this one he has nailed it. Cannot disagree with a word of the above contribution. When the Tyrant of Syracuse holed up in his fortress for years frustrating efforts by superior forces to get him out and refusing a "fair fight" on ...
by TheGrayMouser
Tue Oct 15, 2019 11:40 am
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: ZOCs blocking break-offs.
Replies: 20
Views: 504

Re: ZOCs blocking break-offs.

The entire zoc conundrum could mitigated if we could introduce, on top of the existing rules interceptions of units leaving a zoc and or a cohesion test on a unit who had the gall to try to maneuver with an enemy right on top of them. Perhaps additional move costs for same speed units trying to leav...
by TheGrayMouser
Tue Oct 15, 2019 11:15 am
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: Arrows vs Armour: Agincourt Myth Busting
Replies: 20
Views: 922

Re: Arrows vs Armour: Agincourt Myth Busting

There was a history channel show about 15 years ago about the mud at Agincourt. Sadly, although I can find references to it on the web, no videos etc can be found. A brief recap : the mud is clay like in the area, the fields were freshly plowed and sopping wet. The men were sinking in past ankles. T...
by TheGrayMouser
Mon Oct 14, 2019 6:44 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: Moving through a ZOC
Replies: 96
Views: 1895

Re: Moving through a ZOC

Sorry, what mess trying to upload files... The middle one is A...
by TheGrayMouser
Mon Oct 14, 2019 6:35 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: Moving through a ZOC
Replies: 96
Views: 1895

Re: Moving through a ZOC

These are the rules form the manual: When ZOC’d …”The direction of movement must be less than 45 degrees from directly away from the enemy unit. If a unit is in the ZOC of multiple enemy units, the game will decide which one it must move away from – prioritizing primary ZOCers.” Situation A: seems c...
by TheGrayMouser
Mon Oct 14, 2019 6:16 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: Moving through a ZOC
Replies: 96
Views: 1895

Re: Moving through a ZOC

@GrayMouser. The rule change is easy. A move is only allowed by a unit if it does not conflict with any ZoC rules instead of arbitrarily picking one and ignoring the others. Maybe, Im not so sure its desirable though based on some things I just observed. Its hard to think of "changes" when what we ...
by TheGrayMouser
Sat Oct 12, 2019 8:16 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: Moving through a ZOC
Replies: 96
Views: 1895

Re: Moving through a ZOC

Sure, but couldn't we try testing a change to the code so that you couldn't just waltz through two enemy units like that? Of course, but how? What is the RULE? You could just simplify the rules and allow NO movement into any ZOC primary or secondary ever...( normal movement for sake of argument, no...
by TheGrayMouser
Sat Oct 12, 2019 3:33 pm
Forum: Field of Glory II
Topic: Moving through a ZOC
Replies: 96
Views: 1895

Re: Moving through a ZOC

Sure, but couldn't we try testing a change to the code so that you couldn't just waltz through two enemy units like that? Of course, but how? What is the RULE? You could just simplify the rules and allow NO movement into any ZOC primary or secondary ever...( normal movement for sake of argument, no...

Go to advanced search