Search found 263 matches

by pyruse
Wed Jan 08, 2014 5:12 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Clear clarifications please
Replies: 55
Views: 4202

Re: Clear clarifications please

There is no 'rules team' on this forum most of the time - the people posting here are generally experienced players, but may have differing opinions.
We'd all like a set of definitive answers from the rules team to some of these questions, but we are not going to get one.
by pyruse
Tue Jan 07, 2014 10:17 am
Forum: Historical Scenarios
Topic: Osprey Campain Series
Replies: 4
Views: 4503

Re: Osprey Campain Series

It shouldn't be hard at all to convert the DBR OOB to FoG:R.
The DBR stuff will be in terms of elements - easy enough to convert that to units.
DBR Pistols are Fog:R Horse or Determined horse, everything else converts straight across.
by pyruse
Sun Jan 05, 2014 10:49 pm
Forum: Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion
Topic: V2 Hoplites vs Spara Bara
Replies: 64
Views: 12276

Re: V2 Hoplites vs Spara Bara

They are not outmatched at equal numbers - they are outmatched at equal points.
Numbers on the two sides were pretty much equal at Plataea.
by pyruse
Sat Jan 04, 2014 3:00 pm
Forum: Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion
Topic: V2 Hoplites vs Spara Bara
Replies: 64
Views: 12276

Re: V2 Hoplites vs Spara Bara

As to whether armoured Hoplites are good value in open competition, that's a completely different question. No, I disagree. The rules are a total encompassing, and the original question posed was: How is this particular match-up playing out under V2? I'm guessing the Spara Bara now have quite a bit...
by pyruse
Fri Jan 03, 2014 5:24 pm
Forum: Field of Glory : Ancient & Medieval Era 3000 BC-1500 AD : General Discussion
Topic: V2 Hoplites vs Spara Bara
Replies: 64
Views: 12276

Re: V2 Hoplites vs Spara Bara

On that frontage with armoured hoplites you are spending twice as many points as the sparabara The rules would be really broken if that failed The discussion was about whether the rules get this historical interaction correct; for which points are not relevant. If you are refighting Plataea then yo...
by pyruse
Fri Jan 03, 2014 9:42 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Couple of rules questions.
Replies: 36
Views: 3434

Re: Couple of rules questions.

Hmm. That bit about each charge being done separately has implications for the turning to face debate.
by pyruse
Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:50 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can't turn wont turn
Replies: 228
Views: 11916

Re: Can't turn wont turn

Oddly, Rob opened my eyes by stating an obvious fallacy - that the text takes primacy over the examples. Since he was agreeing with me, I knew I needed to reevaluate my position. Apologies to all. I am not happy to admit it, but, yes, I have lost the argument. My way is so much cooler, but it is no...
by pyruse
Wed Jan 01, 2014 6:04 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can't turn wont turn
Replies: 228
Views: 11916

Re: Can't turn wont turn

Oddly, Rob opened my eyes by stating an obvious fallacy - that the text takes primacy over the examples. Since he was agreeing with me, I knew I needed to reevaluate my position. Apologies to all. I am not happy to admit it, but, yes, I have lost the argument. My way is so much cooler, but it is no...
by pyruse
Wed Jan 01, 2014 11:48 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can't turn wont turn
Replies: 228
Views: 11916

Re: Immediately (was Re:Can't won't turn)

The integrity of what rule? The only rule you seem to claim that has been broken is the one you've made up in that you must turn 90 degrees to face a flank charge and 180 degrees to face a rear charge, which isn't in the rules at all. Page 175, as has been mentioned quite a few times. Amazing selec...
by pyruse
Sun Dec 15, 2013 10:13 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can't turn wont turn
Replies: 228
Views: 11916

Re: Can't turn wont turn

If somebody contacted me in the flank or rear, and I wangled it such that because I turned 90 or 180 this prevented a step forward, meaning that only one base fought rather than two bases each (which would be two dice each as opposed to four dice against three) and then say I won that melee and my ...
by pyruse
Sat Dec 14, 2013 9:04 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can't turn wont turn
Replies: 228
Views: 11916

Re: Can't turn wont turn

We've had that argument, and the only 'proof' offered that you turn after all charges was the diagram on page 175, which folks are now saying is wrong. The rules and diagram are inconsistent with each other. I think people need to make up their minds which is right, the rules or the diagram, and th...
by pyruse
Sat Dec 14, 2013 3:27 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can't turn wont turn
Replies: 228
Views: 11916

Re: Can't turn wont turn

We've had that argument, and the only 'proof' offered that you turn after all charges was the diagram on page 175, which folks are now saying is wrong. The rules and diagram are inconsistent with each other. I think people need to make up their minds which is right, the rules or the diagram, and the...
by pyruse
Fri Dec 13, 2013 9:50 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can't turn wont turn
Replies: 228
Views: 11916

Re: Can't turn wont turn

A base can end up turning twice.
It is hit from the rear by enemy BG1 and turns 180, then it gets hit from the front by enemy BG2 and turns 180 again (as required by the rules) leaving the BG facing the same way it started.
by pyruse
Sat Dec 07, 2013 4:47 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can't turn wont turn
Replies: 228
Views: 11916

Re: Can't turn wont turn

I have read it carefully. It says nothing about turning to face happening after the charge. It says it happens immediately the base is contacted. Someone earlier in this thread complained about people reading what they wanted to see in the rule instead of what is actually there.... oh, it was you. ...
by pyruse
Fri Dec 06, 2013 2:06 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can't turn wont turn
Replies: 228
Views: 11916

Re: Can't turn wont turn

I have read it carefully. It says nothing about turning to face happening after the charge. It says it happens immediately the base is contacted.
Someone earlier in this thread complained about people reading what they wanted to see in the rule instead of what is actually there.... oh, it was you. :)
by pyruse
Fri Dec 06, 2013 10:28 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can't turn wont turn
Replies: 228
Views: 11916

Re: Can't turn wont turn

Because the step forward is part of the charge then bases aren't turned until the charge is complete. This is known because it uses past tense to describe the charge when talking about turning bases to face. If you quote rules rather than your incorrect assertion this would be clearly identifiable....
by pyruse
Thu Dec 05, 2013 4:19 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can't turn wont turn
Replies: 228
Views: 11916

Re: Can't turn wont turn

dave_r wrote:
batesmotel wrote: When does the base turn? Is it when initially contacted or after the step forward has occurred. If the former then it can turn 90.

Chris
After the step forward.
Where does it say that? It says bases contacted in flank or rear turn immediately.
by pyruse
Thu Dec 05, 2013 10:08 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can't turn wont turn
Replies: 228
Views: 11916

Re: Can't turn wont turn

It says a base must turn. It doesn't say that if you can't turn 90 then you turn 180; you are reading something into the rules which is not there. The example on page 175 shows a base *not* turning to face. So evidently you don't always have to turn a base. Further question; what happens if a base c...
by pyruse
Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:49 am
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can't turn wont turn
Replies: 228
Views: 11916

Re: Can't turn wont turn

If the rule as written says the bases contacted by a flank or rear charge must turn 90 or 180 degrees, then who decides which applies in a given situation? I would assume its the owner of the target of the charge. Chris That would seem in keeping with other parts of the rules. But if the base is un...
by pyruse
Tue Dec 03, 2013 2:02 pm
Forum: Rules Questions
Topic: Can't turn wont turn
Replies: 228
Views: 11916

Re: Can't turn wont turn

That's not what the rule on page 61 states though. Nowhere does it say that for a flank charge you turn 90 and a rear charge you turn 180. That is only what people _want_ the rule to say. How difficult is this to understand? It does say that. I agree it could be clearer. It says a base hit in flank...

Go to advanced search