game wont start with desktop resolution of 1920X1080

Tech support for Battle Academy

Moderators: Slitherine Core, BA Moderators

Post Reply
pcpilot
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:29 am
Location: Montana

game wont start with desktop resolution of 1920X1080

Post by pcpilot » Tue May 21, 2019 2:50 am

Never had this problem with my old computer which was 32 bit. This one is a 64bit ASRock X370 killer sli/ac with 32 GB DDR4 running a Ryzen 3.6ghx 1600X. I have an XFX Radeon RX580 w/8GB DDR5 running with Windows10 64bit. I have downloaded the newest version of the game, version 2.60, installed it both with admin and started it that way. I found that the game will run under any other resolution but what my desktop is at. It lists that resolution but wont run at it. The mouse disappears if I try to start the game and when I call up task manager it says the game is frozen or whatever it says. I have to reset the computer to get it back to normal. Any suggestions?

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 15412
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: game wont start with desktop resolution of 1920X1080

Post by zakblood » Tue May 21, 2019 4:57 am

uninstall, then make sure both folders are wiped, as settings are placed in your docs folder etc and reinstall as run installer as admin and run game as admin and updater.

works with no issues with windows 10 and that size, as it's the one i run also,

viewtopic.php?f=103&t=18097

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8952
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: game wont start with desktop resolution of 1920X1080

Post by pipfromslitherine » Tue May 21, 2019 10:25 am

It could be a driver issue. If you run at 1080p in Windowed mode it may work better. As Windowed mode is frameless it will appear identical to fullscreen but generally non-fullscreen driver paths tend to be more robust.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

pcpilot
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:29 am
Location: Montana

Re: game wont start with desktop resolution of 1920X1080

Post by pcpilot » Tue May 21, 2019 11:18 pm

Hi, tried all that and nothing. Still makes the mouse disappear and game frozen. You said both folders, I assume your referring also to the one under games in documents. And do I need to run updater if I have downloaded the latest version of the game?

pcpilot
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:29 am
Location: Montana

Re: game wont start with desktop resolution of 1920X1080

Post by pcpilot » Wed May 22, 2019 3:09 am

Ok, it seems if I run the game without fullscreen set, it runs fine and still LOOKS fullscreen...go figure. Anyway it seems to be working. My only beef is that I have to remember to un-tick fullscreen each time I start the game.

pcpilot
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 60
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:29 am
Location: Montana

Re: game wont start with desktop resolution of 1920X1080

Post by pcpilot » Wed May 22, 2019 3:09 am

Now to get order of Battle working again... ;o)

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8952
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: game wont start with desktop resolution of 1920X1080

Post by pipfromslitherine » Wed May 22, 2019 2:54 pm

Unless the game is failing to correctly exit your settings should be saved in the options file. If you open Documents/My Games/BBCBA/OPTIONS.TXT you can set the Fullscreen value to 0 for windowed mode.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

Post Reply

Return to “Battle Academy : Tech Support”