Hot Tip - Leaving Gaps For Evaders

Moderators: Slitherine Core, FOGR Design

Post Reply
Shamus2d6
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 3:14 pm

Hot Tip - Leaving Gaps For Evaders

Post by Shamus2d6 » Wed Jun 27, 2018 2:58 pm

Hi everyone, I am really new to the ruleset and reading through FOGR as a ruleset for my growing collection of Italian Renaissance Combatants in 28mm scale. There is a hot tip mentioned in the rules about leaving gaps to allow evaders to escape through without having to pass through friendly bg's. It would have been really nice for the hot tip to have mentioned how big the gap needs to be. So far I have not picked this up in the rules and was wondering if any of you experienced players can help. P>S I am a Derby, UK based player should any of you be local to me :-)

DavidT
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 268
Joined: Mon Jun 01, 2009 11:10 pm
Location: Northern Ireland

Re: Hot Tip - Leaving Gaps For Evaders

Post by DavidT » Wed Jun 27, 2018 6:18 pm

The minimum gap is one base width. This can cope with BGs up to 3 bases wide (as they can contract by 1 base width on either side to get down to one base wide). For wider battle groups, a wider gap would be needed.

nikgaukroger
Field of Glory Moderator
Field of Glory Moderator
Posts: 10267
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 9:30 am
Location: LarryWorld

Re: Hot Tip - Leaving Gaps For Evaders

Post by nikgaukroger » Wed Jun 27, 2018 6:56 pm

Safest is to leave a gap the same width as the evading unit :D
Nik Gaukroger

"Never ask a man if he comes from Yorkshire. If he does, he will tell you.
If he does not, why humiliate him?" - Canon Sydney Smith

nikgaukroger@blueyonder.co.uk

Shamus2d6
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 3:14 pm

Re: Hot Tip - Leaving Gaps For Evaders

Post by Shamus2d6 » Wed Jun 27, 2018 9:16 pm

Hey Fellas, many thanks for the clarification and tactical tips! This all makes sense and was what I intuitively thought.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”