Reinforcement map trigger

PC : Turn based WW2 goodness in the mold of Panzer General. This promises to be a true classic!

Moderators: Slitherine Core, Panzer Corps Moderators, Panzer Corps Design

Post Reply
Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 6541
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Reinforcement map trigger

Post by Erik2 » Tue Sep 27, 2011 10:45 am

I have assigned a few hexes to zone 1, zone 2 ets.
I just noticed that an air unit on the zone hex will trigger the reinforcement. That is probably not right.

Erik

Kerensky
Content Designer
Content Designer
Posts: 5566
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 2:12 am

Post by Kerensky » Tue Sep 27, 2011 1:12 pm

Attach your reinforcement triggers to flags instead of units, this will solve your problem with air units triggering zones.
If you are concerned about excessive flag capturing rewarding too much prestige for some reason, you can set -50 prestige triggers on each hex.

Molve
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 524
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:06 am

Post by Molve » Tue Sep 27, 2011 3:00 pm

Can't you filter unit triggers on type, nationality and so on just like usual? (Selecting "only ground units in the zone" I mean)

Kerensky
Content Designer
Content Designer
Posts: 5566
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 2:12 am

Post by Kerensky » Tue Sep 27, 2011 8:11 pm

That works for AI triggers, but actually making units appear in their reinforcement triggers does not have that air/ground filter.

El_Condoro
Panzer Corps Moderator
Panzer Corps Moderator
Posts: 2091
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:32 am

Post by El_Condoro » Wed Sep 28, 2011 3:04 pm

Actually, it does. I tested the 'Add map condition' trigger and you can set a unit to appear for many reasons not just the turn ('Add time condition'). In my test I had a unit appear when an enemy unit entered a zone. The check is done at the start of the turn as far as I can tell, so the appearance is not instantaneous, of course.

Kerensky
Content Designer
Content Designer
Posts: 5566
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 2:12 am

Post by Kerensky » Wed Sep 28, 2011 8:17 pm

Yes... you can set reinforcement triggers with varied conditions, but the ones the OP is asking for aren't present. That is, the unit filter section is greyed out. You can choose between zones and flags which should be more than adequate though.

El_Condoro
Panzer Corps Moderator
Panzer Corps Moderator
Posts: 2091
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:32 am

Post by El_Condoro » Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:29 pm

The OP just needs to check that the criteria ("Number of") is set to units (not flags) and then check that the type being checked for is ground (not air or all) and it should work.

Kerensky
Content Designer
Content Designer
Posts: 5566
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 2:12 am

Post by Kerensky » Wed Sep 28, 2011 11:53 pm

Oh yea, I see what you're saying. Okay you're right, I wasn't looking closely enough. My mistake, sorry. :oops:

When you flip your reinforcement trigger from flags to units, the filters DO become active, and you can filter out air units. Listen to El Condoro, he's telling you the right thing here. :)

Xerkis
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2312
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Northeast, USA

Post by Xerkis » Thu Sep 29, 2011 12:02 am

Sorry to say it but, Kerensky… You just dropped from 100 to 99 on my "totally awesome" scale.
:lol:

Kerensky
Content Designer
Content Designer
Posts: 5566
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 2:12 am

Post by Kerensky » Thu Sep 29, 2011 12:04 am

+1 for owning up to and admitting when I'm wrong?
Maybe please? :cry:

lol

Xerkis
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2312
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:56 pm
Location: Northeast, USA

Post by Xerkis » Thu Sep 29, 2011 12:14 am

Well… ok. But only because you got me to look at this game in a completely different way from when we played TFN. I think it helped my strategy out a lot…… And I hate to see you get all teary eyed like that – it might keep you from designing more great scenarios.
:D

Kerensky
Content Designer
Content Designer
Posts: 5566
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 2:12 am

Post by Kerensky » Thu Sep 29, 2011 12:17 am

w00t w00t!

El_Condoro
Panzer Corps Moderator
Panzer Corps Moderator
Posts: 2091
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:32 am

Post by El_Condoro » Thu Sep 29, 2011 2:40 am

Kerensky wrote: Listen to El Condoro, he's telling you the right thing here.
Like I don't normally! :)
Yeah, like Xerkis said, keep making the great scenarios.
Cheers

Molve
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 524
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 10:06 am

Post by Molve » Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:10 pm

Thanks Condoro, you answered my Q spot on!

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 6541
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Post by Erik2 » Fri Sep 30, 2011 7:47 am

El_Condoro wrote:The OP just needs to check that the criteria ("Number of") is set to units (not flags) and then check that the type being checked for is ground (not air or all) and it should work.
Thanks, that should do the trick.
I really like the flexibility built into the reinforcement options.

Erik

Post Reply

Return to “Panzer Corps”