Page 1 of 1

Soviet Corps Budapest

Posted: Sat Mar 05, 2016 10:18 pm
by Rayrard
I played through Budapest twice and have yet to figure out what happens if I destroy the German HQ. The first time I didn't use the sewer tunnel and just blasted through the city with infantry and artillery. The tanks came south from the north and destroyed the Pz4 and Tiger near the airfield and the HQ was destroyed with plenty of turns to spare. I waited to take the final victory objective until something appeared or happened (I was told I had to escort a German commander) but nothing did. The battle ended and I got a triumph but no word on the intelligence gained.

The second time I sent a infantry through the tunnel towards the end when the German units around it were being destroyed. I didn't want one of my infantry to be swarmed by German inf and tanks. I then destroyed the German HQ after using the tunnel and nothing happened. The tunnel was confusing at first but it went to the reserve and I had to redeploy the infantry to B.

Is the prestige award not announced or does the German officer get transferred off screen after the battle? Is there a sequence of events or turn limits to get the HQ?

Re: Soviet Corps Budapest

Posted: Sun Mar 06, 2016 5:27 am
by Alexander1
Thank you for this post, Raynard. I have done same attempts with same results. Hopefully developers can explain this.

Re: Soviet Corps Budapest

Posted: Mon Mar 07, 2016 4:37 pm
by uran21
In order to capture German officer one needs to do it with infantry. Also if hex where hangar is gets occupied after its destruction officer will not appear.

There is one issue though. In order to make sure hangar was destroyed by infantry unit (this is done to prevent aircrafts to "capture" it), game checks if infantry is on one of hexes adjacent to hangar (marked by dollar sign). This check is done after unit is deselected because of Undo move, so if hangar is softened by some other units and infantry is moved adjacent to it and just kills hangar in one move game will never receive input about infantry being there so officer will not appear. This is why hangar was made overstrength. Script is lagged because of undo functionality and alas I cannot do anything about it. When this occurs you can look at it as bad war luck because officer evaded capture.

Re: Soviet Corps Budapest

Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 1:56 am
by Rayrard
So I have to move an infantry next to the bunker and just maul it and not kill it... then after the turn is over the officer will appear next to the beat up bunker?

So if I bomb the bunker or hit it with a tank and then one-shot it to completely destroyed with an infantry it won't work?

Or if I completely destroy it with two infantrys on one turn it won't work?

The bunker has to stay intact in some form with an infantry unit in the dollar signs for the thing to work?

Am I getting this right?

Re: Soviet Corps Budapest

Posted: Tue Mar 08, 2016 6:59 am
by uran21
You need to destroy the hangar with infantry. But if you move infantry adjacent to it and kill it in ONE go, officer will not show up. This happens if hangar was softened up before by some other units and arriving infantry just finish it off. When sewers are used and only those sent on assignment engage hangar, officer will appear captured on the exact hex where hangar was before because it usually takes more than one shoot from infantry to kill it.

Re: Soviet Corps Budapest

Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 10:49 am
by Alexander1
uran21 wrote:You need to destroy the hangar with infantry. But if you move infantry adjacent to it and kill it in ONE go, officer will not show up. This happens if hangar was softened up before by some other units and arriving infantry just finish it off. When sewers are used and only those sent on assignment engage hangar, officer will appear captured on the exact hex where hangar was before because it usually takes more than one shoot from infantry to kill it.
This works. Thanks!

Re: Soviet Corps Budapest

Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 1:45 pm
by Wildthing
I do not understand, why i can deploy 120 units? and whats the reason for the deployment area behind the iron curtain on the right?

Anyway, i finished the campaign yesterday. Great stuff, a very nice twist in the western europe sceanrio. Hahahaha. Thanks a lot!

Re: Soviet Corps Budapest

Posted: Thu Mar 10, 2016 2:21 pm
by uran21
Wildthing wrote:I do not understand, why i can deploy 120 units? and whats the reason for the deployment area behind the iron curtain on the right?

Anyway, i finished the campaign yesterday. Great stuff, a very nice twist in the western europe sceanrio. Hahahaha. Thanks a lot!
The reason is to move all your units from the reserve. Than empty reserve can be exclusively used by infantry going through sewers.

Glad you liked the final ending with a bang!

Re: Soviet Corps Budapest

Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2016 5:39 am
by captainjack
When I have put units on the start hex for the tunnel, nothing happens. I tried leaving them for a turn - they stay there. I tried clicking - they vanish (completely). After a while, I get told the mine tunnel collapses and I lose the unit and the tunnel closes up, but I have never yet had any units emerge at the far end. Have I missed something?

Re: Soviet Corps Budapest

Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2016 5:49 am
by uran21
When unit gets out of the map trough exit zone one can find it in reserve. Since reserve is empty of other units only those in "tunnels" will be there. You can use them to exit the tunnel manually.

Re: Soviet Corps Budapest

Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2016 7:10 am
by captainjack
Thanks for the explanation.
I think that this is one of those cases where an in-game message with instructions would have been helpful.

Re: Soviet Corps Budapest

Posted: Tue Mar 29, 2016 7:44 pm
by purplehood
I still have no idea what you do with those 90+ units on the right side of the map, notwithstanding the explanation above.

Re: Soviet Corps Budapest

Posted: Thu May 11, 2017 9:09 am
by Magic1111
Hi Folks!

Yesterday I played for the first time this scenario, it ends with triumph, but I had the same problem as described in Post #1.

Around the Hangar (Strength 12) on all hexes with Dollar symbol I had engineers placed. In the next turn the first engineer Unit attack the hangar. After this attack the hangar had strength 8, but nothing happened.

In the next turn my engineer unit destroy the hangar complete, but also nothing happened. No german officer appeared.
--
Then I replay the turns: I placed ONLY one engineer unit on only ONE hex with dollar symbol, the other hexes with dollar symbol are empty. Hangar had strength 12. In the next turn I attack the hangar with my engineer unit. Next Turn my engineer unit destroy the hangar - but again nothing happened. No german officer appeared!

Now my quation: What I´m doing wrong?

Can anybody please explain me step by step what is to do, that german officer appear?

The explanation from "Uran21" I don´t understand....... :oops:

Re: Soviet Corps Budapest

Posted: Sat May 13, 2017 8:18 am
by terminator
Well,
I don't have play this scenario.
When I have this kind of problem, the best thing to do is to use the editor to see the scripts.
There is a succession of conditions, difficult to follow when we did not play this scenario.
It seems that you are in a particular case so that it does not work.