Friday Night Fever part 5

PC : Epic WW2 grand strategy game covering the European theatre.

Moderators: Slitherine Core, Time of Fury Design

doomtrader
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A

Friday Night Fever part 5

Post by doomtrader » Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:05 pm

It is the right time to post fifth part of the Friday Night Fever.

I really hope that you enjoy my posts, so don’t be shy, post your comments, even if you just like it or not.

Motto of the today’s issue is “Stukas – the long range artillery”.
During this week, we have got discussion in the betatesters forum about possibility to capture Warsaw before historical date. One of the betas claimed it’s impossible, even if Poles will make a clear way.
As you can see at the image below, it is not true.

I was able to enter the Polish capital in turn third. However I was a assiduous student of Clausewitz, Schlieffen and Guderian. I know that for successful strategy following conditions must be meet:
- Tactical bombers used to clear the way
- Armored (and other fast) units must get into enemy lines as far as possible, at the edge of overstretching
- Supply lines must be secured
If all above is adhered, then there is a high probability to accomplish the task successfully.

During the Fall Weiss (also called Case White or September Campaign) Germans were dominant in all aspects. They have got more air power, much more fast units, and the supremacy in firepower and number of troops was so high, that they can fulfill the third principle. But in terms of the game it means, capturing cities on the way to Warsaw. Of coure sending all the Armored divisions to siege Poznan and Lodz is a mistake. This is an infantry job, and the Panzers might help only if they are crossing nearby.
Time of Fury as the real war are unforgivable. Fortunately, there is a forum and load game option.

So to sum up the most basic strategy, this is what you should do if you would like to end Fall Weiss very quick: