GS Beta Bug Reporting

Moderators: firepowerjohan, rkr1958, Happycat, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
Diplomaticus
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 4:10 pm

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by Diplomaticus » Sat Mar 10, 2012 1:07 am

Yes, so now Italy has to defend Sardinia and Albania, as well as Libya and Tunisia, to keep control of all 5 cities. Sicily and the Italian mainland--all cities count.

Schnurri
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:39 pm

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by Schnurri » Mon Mar 12, 2012 7:08 pm

Playing a game as Allies against Plaid. SW started 11/24/42 and was over on 1/23/42. So, the Russians only got 3 turns of SW. Thought it was supposed to be a minimum of five turns?

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4693
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Mon Mar 12, 2012 10:35 pm

These are the settings:
WINTER_DURATION 5 /*how many turns severe winter in Russia last. Start time random from October till January */
/* Variation of severe winter length */
CHANGE_FOR_DURATION 60 /* 0..100. Accumulated chance that length = WINTER_DURATION. % chance = 60 */
CHANCE_FOR_DURATION_MINUS_1 80 /* 0..100. Accumulated chance that length = WINTER_DURATION - 1. % chance = 20 */
CHANCE_FOR_DURATION_MINUS_2 90 /* 0..100. Accumulated chance that length = WINTER_DURATION - 2. % chance = 10 */
CHANCE_FOR_DURATION_PLUS_1 100 /* 0..100. Accumulated chance that length = WINTER_DURATION + 1. % chance = 10 */

So there is 10% chance for 3 turns, 20% for 4 turns, 60% for 5 turns and 10% for 6 turns

Schnurri
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:39 pm

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by Schnurri » Mon Mar 12, 2012 10:40 pm

Ok - I was just very unlucky! This game Plain got fair weather Feb. 8 all the way through the fall of France and now this!

Note - the brochure on weather says "Once started it will last for 5 to 7 turns before any other weather may occur in that region.

amcdonel
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 11:48 pm

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by amcdonel » Mon Mar 12, 2012 11:31 pm

Schnurri wrote:Ok - I was just very unlucky! This game Plain got fair weather Feb. 8 all the way through the fall of France and now this!

Note - the brochure on weather says "Once started it will last for 5 to 7 turns before any other weather may occur in that region.
I had corrected the brochure - the problem in the brochure was pointed out in another posting. Latest version of the brochure has not been posted.

Diplomaticus
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 4:10 pm

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by Diplomaticus » Tue Mar 13, 2012 12:01 pm

I just got the same thing in one of my current games--only 3 turns of severe winter. That's a bummer, especially now that it's not as severe as it used to be.

Schnurri
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:39 pm

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by Schnurri » Thu Mar 15, 2012 9:32 pm

Tiny bug - when Italy surrenders a message appears saying (don't remember exactly) - "France has lost courage due to fall of Italy and renounces the Tungsten deal" - just change France to Spain.

Schnurri
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:39 pm

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by Schnurri » Fri Mar 16, 2012 8:14 pm

Possible bug - late in game (twice now) I've tried sending GARs to land in now unoccupied Norway and they aren't allowed to land even in good seas - can land just fine on the continent.

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4693
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Sat Mar 17, 2012 3:38 pm

Schnurri wrote:Tiny bug - when Italy surrenders a message appears saying (don't remember exactly) - "France has lost courage due to fall of Italy and renounces the Tungsten deal" - just change France to Spain.
There is no bug as far as I can see. Here is the message:
INDEX-990| "The defeat of Italy has caused Franco to lose faith in the Axis war effort. Spain cancels the tungsten ore trade agreement"

The reference is to FrancO, not FrancE. Franco was the Spanish dictator. Which language version are you playing? Maybe there is a bug there in the translation.

Schnurri
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:39 pm

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by Schnurri » Sat Mar 17, 2012 3:43 pm

That is possible - it went by pretty fast and just caught my eye. I'm English.

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4693
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Sat Mar 17, 2012 3:47 pm

Schnurri wrote:Possible bug - late in game (twice now) I've tried sending GARs to land in now unoccupied Norway and they aren't allowed to land even in good seas - can land just fine on the continent.
What is the weather in the north and central weather zones? Can you send me your save game file?

Diplomaticus
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 4:10 pm

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by Diplomaticus » Sat Mar 17, 2012 5:54 pm

Bug report: In a current game as Allies, there was a successful Sealion, and now the UK forces only hold Scotland and N. Ireland. I had moved my British strat bomber a few turns earlier to Iceland (as soon as the Operation Fork) message came up. But when I rebased the plane elsewhere, I found that the airbase in Iceland was now labeled as owned by Germany! Is this a bug, or is there some rule I'm missing?

The Shetland Islands airbases (off the West coast of Scotland) also now show as German owned, even though no German unit has landed on them.

Schnurri
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 398
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 4:39 pm

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by Schnurri » Sat Mar 17, 2012 6:02 pm

Diplomaticus wrote:Bug report: In a current game as Allies, there was a successful Sealion, and now the UK forces only hold Scotland and N. Ireland. I had moved my British strat bomber a few turns earlier to Iceland (as soon as the Operation Fork) message came up. But when I rebased the plane elsewhere, I found that the airbase in Iceland was now labeled as owned by Germany! Is this a bug, or is there some rule I'm missing?

The Shetland Islands airbases (off the West coast of Scotland) also now show as German owned, even though no German unit has landed on them.
Iceland should never go to the Axis. The other island airbases off England are controlled by various cities in the North so they could be Axis controlled depending on what cities have been taken.

Diplomaticus
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 4:10 pm

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by Diplomaticus » Sat Mar 17, 2012 6:04 pm

Trying to figure this out, I just consulted the 2.0 Manual. There, I found this:

"8/5/2010
Fixed a bug that where Greenland and Iceland airbases would incorrectly switch to German control when certain cities in England/Scotland were captured and if these airbases were unoccupied."

So, it sound like this was a known bug back in 2010, but now it's back. Anybody got some bug spray?

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4693
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Sat Mar 17, 2012 6:16 pm

We haven't made changes in this area for ages. Can you send the save game just prior to the airbase changing to German control?

supermax
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 7:05 pm

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by supermax » Sat Mar 17, 2012 7:56 pm

Hey Cliff, thats because i sent my special german commandos to land in Iceland :)

hehehe

In our current game however, it wont affecdt it too much, since northern atlantic operation will be very limited, no convoys will pass there...

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4693
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Sat Mar 17, 2012 9:54 pm

This is not a bug because Operation Dynamo is only launched if Denmark is conquered. If you end your turn you will see that Operation Dynamo is launched immediately and Keflavik is changed back to UK control. Operation Dynamo starts if Denmark is conquered and Keflavik is not Allied controlled.

supermax
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Lieutenant Colonel - Panther D
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 7:05 pm

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by supermax » Sun Mar 18, 2012 4:16 am

Stauffenberg wrote:This is not a bug because Operation Dynamo is only launched if Denmark is conquered. If you end your turn you will see that Operation Dynamo is launched immediately and Keflavik is changed back to UK control. Operation Dynamo starts if Denmark is conquered and Keflavik is not Allied controlled.

Mmmm, Denmark has been conquered for at least 3 turns now...

Diplomaticus
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 4:10 pm

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by Diplomaticus » Sun Mar 18, 2012 9:39 am

Yeah, that can't be right, because I had a unit in the Iceland air base at the start of the turn I sent to you. I couldn't have even placed that unit in that air base if Dynamo hadn't already occurred.

What happened in our game so closely resembles the wording of that earlier bug fix (quoted above), that I assume it must have something to do with that.

TotalerKrieg
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 80
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 11:35 pm

Re: GS Beta Bug Reporting

Post by TotalerKrieg » Sun Mar 18, 2012 4:55 pm

I was looking at the 1942 scenario and happened to notice that the Volunteer Stundarte NW unit in Dijon has a British garrison skin. I think this unit was probably intended to have the German garrison skin. Not an important "bug" but I thought I would post it since I saw it.

Post Reply

Return to “Commander Europe at War : GS Open Beta”