Page 1 of 1

GS v 2.1 Malta bug

Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:18 am
by Plaid
In our game vs Doug we have found some strange bug.
Axis tryed to capture Malta.
So axis landed paratrooper unit on the airfield and then the current effect occured:
1) At the end of axis turn Malta port hex was allied controlled (green)
2) At the start of next axis turn this port was axis controlled (grey, availiable to place naval unit there)
3) At the end of same axis turn port became allied again
Conditions for all 3 are that Malta fortress is allied controlled, while airfield is occupied by german paratrooper.

Doug suggested that this should be reported to the team, so here it goes.

Re: GS v 2.1 Malta bug

Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2012 7:58 am
by Peter Stauffenberg
Send me a save game so I can check out

Re: GS v 2.1 Malta bug

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 1:16 am
by Peter Stauffenberg
Bug found and fixed. Will be available in the final version that will be sent to Slitherine.

This was an old bug that was introduced when airfields were added. The problem was that both the Malta airfield and the Malta fortress got the port attached to it. So when you changed owner of one of them you also changed owned of the attached port.

We had earlier added code that changed owner of the Malta port to the Malta fortress owner. That was only a fix to the symptom, but not the core problem. That meant the owner switched back and forth. The new code removes the attachment of the port to the airfield.

Thanks for reporting the bug.

Re: GS v 2.1 Malta bug

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 6:40 pm
by Diplomaticus
Come to think of it, I just experienced a similar bug. A partisan spawned in Axis-occupied England, right on top of the "Coal" mine north of Bristol. To my surprise, while the partisan controlled the hex, the port (next to Bristol) adjacent also converted to Allied control.

Re: GS v 2.1 Malta bug

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2012 7:11 pm
by Peter Stauffenberg
I changed the code for Bristol too so only the city controls the ownership of the Cardiff port and not the coal mine. The fix will be out in the final version.