GS 3. How to revert to English?

Moderators: firepowerjohan, Happycat, rkr1958, Slitherine Core, firepowerjohan, rkr1958, Happycat, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
offrench
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:26 am

GS 3. How to revert to English?

Post by offrench » Sat Oct 19, 2013 7:46 pm

I have installed GS3 and started gaming choosing the French language when I first started the game.

The problem is that in many cases, the interface messages are completely wrong. It seems the correspondance between the translation items is completely broken.

I would like to revert to English, but there seems to be no way to do it.
- I tried to rename the installation folder.
- I tried to change the language in the GS300_settings.txt file, but it does not change anything

Any way to change languages apart from the above?

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4693
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: GS 3. How to revert to English?

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Sat Oct 19, 2013 8:47 pm

Remove the GS300_settings.txt file in the My documents\CEAW Grand Strategy 3.00 folder. Then restart the game. Now you should be able to reselect the language settings.

offrench
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 8:26 am

Re: GS 3. How to revert to English?

Post by offrench » Sat Oct 19, 2013 8:59 pm

Finally found.

The GS300_settings.txt used by the game is not in the installation folder, but in C:\Users\MyUserName\Documents\CEAW Grand Strategy 3.00, along with the saved games.

moet
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 3:00 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: GS 3. How to revert to English?

Post by moet » Mon May 04, 2015 11:48 am

offrench wrote: The problem is that in many cases, the interface messages are completely wrong. It seems the correspondance between the translation items is completely broken.
I found and corrected the file that was causing the problem : in the folder Contents/Resources/Java/data, replace the "message_fre.txt" with the attached one (after having unzipped it). Tell me if it solves the problem.

PS : I'll create a general post about this fix.
Attachments
message_fre.txt.zip
(35.67 KiB) Downloaded 176 times

Post Reply

Return to “Commander Europe at War : GS Open Beta”