Panzer Corps won't install on XP

Tech support for Panzer Corps

Moderators: Slitherine Core, Panzer Corps Design, Panzer Corps Moderators

mach101
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:54 am

Panzer Corps won't install on XP

Post by mach101 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 11:04 am

Hi, I downloaded the game but when I tried to install it I got the following error message:

Entry point not found
The procedure entry point DecodePointer could not be located in the
dynamic link library kERNEL32.dll

My system has the stated minimum system requirements, but looking round the net, this error message seems to be related to XP SP2 and I'm on SP1. Is SP1 not supported (assuming this is the issue)?

Thanks

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 8038
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Post by VPaulus » Tue Jul 12, 2011 11:46 am

That might be the issue.
Any reason for not having SP2 or above installed? Al least SP2 is usually important for security reasons.

mach101
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:54 am

Post by mach101 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:24 pm

Yes. Half the programs I use on a regular basis don't work under SP2 and I'm not willing to re-purchase them when they work perfectly well under SP1. When I get a new PC I'll upgrade to Windows 7 (or 8 possibly) but this PC will stay on SP1.

I have a good AV and firewall, security is not a problem if you take sufficient care.

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 8038
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Post by VPaulus » Tue Jul 12, 2011 12:33 pm

I see.

mach101
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:54 am

Post by mach101 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:28 pm

If this definitely isn't going to work under SP1, please just confirm that. It's disappointing but not the end of the world. I'll come back when I get a new PC.

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13521
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:40 pm

It is not an issue we have heard of before so I think is a combination of SP and other software installed.

Can you try this workaround suggested by someone else with an issue with the installer :
In Windows Explorer, right click on the installation file, select Properties, and then the Compatability tab. Check "Run this program in compatability mode" and make sure Windows 95 is selected in the drop down box below it. Click Ok. Then run the installation EXE by double clicking on it.

mach101
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:54 am

Post by mach101 » Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:55 pm

I did that but got exactly the same result. The error message is virtually instantaneous.

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13521
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Post by IainMcNeil » Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:01 pm

Looking this up on Google seems to suggest is is something that was missing from XP SP1. Will do a bit more checking.

Vulcan54
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 11:55 am

Post by Vulcan54 » Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:29 pm

FYI - I've installed it on a machine with XP SP3 - it worked first time and runs perfectly. :)

mach101
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:54 am

Post by mach101 » Sun Jul 17, 2011 11:00 am

Is there an update on this?

lordzimoa
Lordz Games Studio
Lordz Games Studio
Posts: 2417
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 4:20 pm
Contact:

Post by lordzimoa » Sun Jul 17, 2011 12:27 pm

Upgrade your XP, SP1 is the cause of the problem. Maybe Alex has some code workaround, but on SP2 and SP3 the game works fine. Alternative is install on other machine if you really don`t want to upgrade from XP SP1.

Rudankort
FlashBack Games
FlashBack Games
Posts: 3309
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 2:23 pm
Contact:

Post by Rudankort » Sun Jul 17, 2011 1:12 pm

lordzimoa wrote:Upgrade your XP, SP1 is the cause of the problem. Maybe Alex has some code workaround, but on SP2 and SP3 the game works fine. Alternative is install on other machine if you really don`t want to upgrade from XP SP1.
I don't think I can fix it, because, as I understand it, the game does not even install. So any fix is possible only in the installer.

What I would try to do is install the game on a machine where installer works, and then just copy game folder to the original machine with SP1.

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 8038
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Post by VPaulus » Sun Jul 17, 2011 1:48 pm

That's a good workaround. If the problem is with the installer and not with the game itself it will work.

mach101
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:54 am

Post by mach101 » Sun Jul 17, 2011 8:32 pm

OK, thanks for looking into it.

Pak75
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 11:20 pm

Re: Panzer Corps won't install on XP

Post by Pak75 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 3:19 am

HI
Ok I cannot install Panzer corps on Windows XP SP3 (game purchased GOG).
I get message:
Panzer corps exe:
Entry point not found.
The procedure entry point EtwGettraceLoggerHandle could not be located in dynamic link library ntldll.dll

Have reinstalled game several times and also tried different version of ntldll.dll without success.


Don't know if this is GOG problem or Matrix problem....but any insights appreciated.
Thanks

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 8038
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Panzer Corps won't install on XP

Post by VPaulus » Tue Jun 11, 2019 9:59 am

Is this when installing the game on your hard disk or when attempting to run the game?

Pak75
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 11:20 pm

Re: Panzer Corps won't install on XP

Post by Pak75 » Tue Jun 11, 2019 10:51 am

Have downloaded files from GoG and installed it apparently successfully.
Message comes after clicking on Panzer corps exe or play game via Matrix/Slitherine portal.

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 8038
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Panzer Corps won't install on XP

Post by VPaulus » Wed Jun 12, 2019 9:22 am

You can always try to check if you have system files corrupted by running SFC /SCANNOW:
https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums ... tem-files/

Pak75
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Mar 25, 2019 11:20 pm

Re: Panzer Corps won't install on XP

Post by Pak75 » Wed Jun 12, 2019 11:50 am

Done that twice, didn’t work....
Note Panzer corps is only application for which this message is received.

Clearly something wrong with file offered for download.
What is file etwget traceloggerhandle anyway? Sounds very suspicious to me.
Other files such as Matrix portal launch okay.

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 8038
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Panzer Corps won't install on XP

Post by VPaulus » Thu Jun 13, 2019 11:49 am

Sorry, but please do note that there is nothing wrong with the files we provide. However do note that XP was discontinued by Microsoft on the 8th of April 2014, and as a result most of our new games and installers are not guaranteed to work at all. As this has been discontinued by Microsoft then no users should still be using this, and certainly not for newly created items, and we have discontinued support for these OSs when Microsoft did.

We stop testing games and installers on discontinued versions of Windows and cannot advise on these, as these are no longer supported by Microsoft. We in Tech Support can try to advise on this, but cannot guarantee that this will work. And if there is an issue with the installer or files not working on obsolete operating systems, we will not fix this, as we have no systems to test these on which still run outdated versions of Windows.

For the issue, this can be related with permissions. Are you running as a administrator?

Post Reply

Return to “Panzer Corps : Tech Support”