Moderators: Slitherine Core, Panzer Corps Design, Panzer Corps Moderators

rmshanny
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf

Multiplayer turns freeze when showing opponent's turn

Post by rmshanny »

Received an email from: PBEM Notification
Subject: Slitherine PBEM++ Server Message Panzer Corps

They noticed I was downloading some multiplayer turns multiple times and asked to post here if there was a problem. So here goes:

This problem has been going on since I started playing multiplayer (and only multiplayer...does not occur single player). It doesn't happen every turn, but will happen the majority of the turns in a multiplayer game and sometimes multiple times in the same turn. When I load a scenario (watch opponent's moves enabled) I see one or two of the opponents moves or attacks and hear the audio just fine. Then the video freezes, the blue spinning circle replaces the cursor, and I continue to hear audio from my opponent's turn without any video. If I wait long enough, the game transitions to my turn and I can play as normal, but am unable to go back and watch my opponent's turn. The frustrating workaround is to press the "esc" button before the opponent's turn finishes playing out, which brings up a screen where Windows allows me to press a button to quit the program without saving. I do so, reload Panzer Corps, login to multiplayer, etc. Often times the turn loads correctly and I see my opponent's moves seemlessly. A minority of the reloads result in the same problem occurring for a total of 2-3 times before being able to watch my opponent's moves.

I have played 15-20 MP games and have had this problem in each of them.