Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.9.0

A forum to discuss custom scenarios, campaigns and modding in general.

Moderators: Slitherine Core, Panzer Corps Moderators, Panzer Corps Design

huertgenwald
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 696
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 6:39 pm
Location: Eifel / south of Aachen

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.1

Post by huertgenwald » Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:47 pm

Thx, Mark !

A little bit of nitpicking :oops: :
There a two entries "fortkiller" in the file traitslist.txt

huertgenwald
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 696
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 6:39 pm
Location: Eifel / south of Aachen

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.1

Post by huertgenwald » Tue Aug 21, 2012 10:39 pm

After opening the directory for the unit graphics, your app throws an exception, Mark.
When i press "Ignore", it seems to run fine though.

Code: Select all

See the end of this message for details on invoking 
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.IndexOutOfRangeException: Index was outside the bounds of the array.
   at PzCEdit.MainForm.ReadTraitsList(String sTraitList)
   at PzCEdit.MainForm.coOpenButton_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.269 (RTMGDR.030319-2600)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
PzCEdit
    Assembly Version: 0.2.5.0
    Win32 Version: 0.2.5.0
    CodeBase: file:///F:/Spiele/Panzer%20Corps/PzCEdit/PzCEdit.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.278 built by: RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.282 built by: RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.269 built by: RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
DevExpress.XtraEditors.v10.2
    Assembly Version: 10.2.6.0
    Win32 Version: 10.2.6.0
    CodeBase: file:///F:/Spiele/Panzer%20Corps/PzCEdit/DevExpress.XtraEditors.v10.2.DLL
----------------------------------------
DevExpress.Utils.v10.2
    Assembly Version: 10.2.6.0
    Win32 Version: 10.2.6.0
    CodeBase: file:///F:/Spiele/Panzer%20Corps/PzCEdit/DevExpress.Utils.v10.2.DLL
----------------------------------------
DevExpress.Data.v10.2
    Assembly Version: 10.2.6.0
    Win32 Version: 10.2.6.0
    CodeBase: file:///F:/Spiele/Panzer%20Corps/PzCEdit/DevExpress.Data.v10.2.DLL
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.233 built by: RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Data
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.237 (RTMGDR.030319-2300)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_32/System.Data/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Data.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Core
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.0.30319.233 built by: RTMGDR
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.
If i delete the second "fortkiller" entry, the problem still persists.

PS, FYI: Exception didn't occur for me with version 0.80 !

mgarnett
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 9:10 am

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.1

Post by mgarnett » Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:37 pm

Hmm, I'll have a look at that now and check to see if I can reproduce the bug.

Cheers

Mark

naughtybalrog
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2011 8:25 pm

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.1

Post by naughtybalrog » Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:16 am

I am experiencing this "exception error" too Mark.

mgarnett
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 9:10 am

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.1

Post by mgarnett » Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:44 am

Thanks guys. I've found the bug and fixed it. A new version will be up in about 5 minutes.

mgarnett
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 9:10 am

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.1

Post by mgarnett » Wed Aug 22, 2012 1:27 am

naughtybalrog wrote:I am experiencing this "exception error" too Mark.

Hi Guys,

This bug should now be squashed! Let me know if you have any other problems.

Cheers

Mark

Jelinobas
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 10:30 am

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.2

Post by Jelinobas » Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 am

Great Tool! Thx :D

huertgenwald
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 696
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 6:39 pm
Location: Eifel / south of Aachen

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.2

Post by huertgenwald » Wed Aug 22, 2012 12:29 pm

Image

airbornemongo101
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1175
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:16 am
Location: Quakertown,PA. THE US OF A

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.2

Post by airbornemongo101 » Fri Aug 24, 2012 2:51 pm

Ok....here we go w/ the Mongo questions

I started playing around w/ editing the equipment file and b4 I got I could do anything I've hit a snag

I will explain:

I wanted to make a "new" unit....the Sdkz.222 (which is id #43 in the equipment file).I am using M Garnett's newest version of the editor,btw

When I pressed "add" unit the "new" unit was created in spot #1493 which is already occupied by a vanilla unit (the Western Allies train).

What am doing wrong?

I will be posting this in another thread also.
....that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain.......and that government of the people, by the people, for the people shall not perish from the earth.


Always remember, Never Forget:

Box 8087

5 - 5 - 5 - 5

airbornemongo101
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1175
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:16 am
Location: Quakertown,PA. THE US OF A

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.2

Post by airbornemongo101 » Fri Aug 24, 2012 3:05 pm

Ok,,got something to work

I went and phyiscally add in the Sdkz.222 to a "new" spot I made (#2000).

I then went in thru the editor and made another "new" unit (the Sdkz.231).

The "new" Sdkz.231 was placed in the correct spot of #2001.
....that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain.......and that government of the people, by the people, for the people shall not perish from the earth.


Always remember, Never Forget:

Box 8087

5 - 5 - 5 - 5

mgarnett
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 9:10 am

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.2

Post by mgarnett » Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:56 am

airbornemongo101 wrote:Ok,,got something to work

I went and phyiscally add in the Sdkz.222 to a "new" spot I made (#2000).

I then went in thru the editor and made another "new" unit (the Sdkz.231).

The "new" Sdkz.231 was placed in the correct spot of #2001.
I'm adding a feature to the editor now enabling a user to select any unit ID they want. With the change you can manually type in a unit ID of your choice and the editor will validate whether or not that ID already exists or not in the database. If the unit ID slot is free, the texbox will be coloured green, if the ID slot is already filled with another unit then the texbox will be coloured red.

You can still overwrite already existing units, but now you can organise your custom units a little better.

Cheers

Mark

mgarnett
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 9:10 am

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.3

Post by mgarnett » Sat Aug 25, 2012 6:54 am

Hi Guys,

A new feature has been added allowing users to edit the unit ID making it easier to organise custom content. The button beside the ID text box automatically scans through the database looking for the next vailable ID. It's downloadable from the link in the first post.

The unit ID text box will be red when the ID is already occupied and green when the ID is available and free. The little button next to the text box will automaticaly find the next available ID for you.

Cheers

Mark

airbornemongo101
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1175
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:16 am
Location: Quakertown,PA. THE US OF A

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.3

Post by airbornemongo101 » Sat Aug 25, 2012 2:36 pm

Thank you so much Mark.

Your work is defenitely appreciated
....that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain.......and that government of the people, by the people, for the people shall not perish from the earth.


Always remember, Never Forget:

Box 8087

5 - 5 - 5 - 5

mgarnett
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 9:10 am

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.3

Post by mgarnett » Sun Aug 26, 2012 7:19 am

airbornemongo101 wrote:Thank you so much Mark.

Your work is defenitely appreciated
Thanks for the kind words.

I can't remember why I never made the unit ID numbers editable in earlier versions, I must have had a good reason at the time, at least I hope I did! Anyway, I hope the new feature makes it easier to organise custom content.

I'm going to work on adding dynamic nationality filters. Instead of the country filters being hard coded by me, I will either read the "nations" data file or use a configuration text file that the end user can edit as much as they want. The disadvantage of using the nations data file, is that I have to pop up a dialog box asking the user to choose the file and I'm already unhappy with how many times the utility does that (although after the first run, the app will automatically find it because I will store the location in the INI configuration file).

If I include a text file that sits in the same directory as the application, then it can read automatically from that if it exists and if not, it will use the hard coded values. The disadvantage of this, is that the user will need to synchronise that text file with the data file and that could be a pain as well.

What do you guys think? Would you rather the dialog box asking for the location of the nations data file or would you prefer a simple text file?

Cheers

Mark

airbornemongo101
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1175
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:16 am
Location: Quakertown,PA. THE US OF A

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.3

Post by airbornemongo101 » Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:26 am

Mark whatever you think is best,quite frankly everything you have made/designed has worked flawlessly.
....that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain.......and that government of the people, by the people, for the people shall not perish from the earth.


Always remember, Never Forget:

Box 8087

5 - 5 - 5 - 5

airbornemongo101
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1175
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:16 am
Location: Quakertown,PA. THE US OF A

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.3

Post by airbornemongo101 » Tue Aug 28, 2012 6:33 pm

I have hit another snag

I started my equipment over and created a "new" Sdkz.223 in number slot 2000,so far everything worked flawlessly.

The problem started after I realized that the "new" 222 only had sea listed as a transport,so I added in rail and glider. They showed.

I then created another "new" unit in slot 2001 (the Sdkz.231).

The transport usage for the 222 only had sea listed,so I added rai,and glider for both the 222 and the 231.

They both showed,but then when I created the next "new" unit,the transport only showed sea again.

I tried adding in each transport "trait" in a time and saving,but as soon as a "new/added unit" is created the transport defaults back to sea.

I even tried adding them (transport trait) in manually,but the editor only showed sea when the file was opened thru the editor.

***********EDIT********

I was able to enter in the "transport traits" manully so the the editor would recognize them (I was leaving to much space)

So bottom line is that the editor needs some kind of tweak,please, so that the transport traits don't get erased when creating a new unit.
....that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain.......and that government of the people, by the people, for the people shall not perish from the earth.


Always remember, Never Forget:

Box 8087

5 - 5 - 5 - 5

mgarnett
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 9:10 am

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.4

Post by mgarnett » Wed Aug 29, 2012 12:36 pm

Done!

Usuable transports are now carried across when adding a new unit, I've uploaded a new version.

Cheers

Mark

airbornemongo101
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1175
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:16 am
Location: Quakertown,PA. THE US OF A

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.4

Post by airbornemongo101 » Wed Aug 29, 2012 1:09 pm

Awesome.

Thanks Mark
....that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain.......and that government of the people, by the people, for the people shall not perish from the earth.


Always remember, Never Forget:

Box 8087

5 - 5 - 5 - 5

mgarnett
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2009 9:10 am

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.5

Post by mgarnett » Thu Aug 30, 2012 6:37 am

One more fix added.

airbornemongo101
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Lieutenant Colonel - Fw 190A
Posts: 1175
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:16 am
Location: Quakertown,PA. THE US OF A

Re: Equipment\FX\Campaign Editor - New version 0.8.5

Post by airbornemongo101 » Thu Aug 30, 2012 3:34 pm

Thanks Mark :D
....that we here highly resolve that these dead shall not have died in vain.......and that government of the people, by the people, for the people shall not perish from the earth.


Always remember, Never Forget:

Box 8087

5 - 5 - 5 - 5

Post Reply

Return to “Panzer Corps : Scenario Design”