Why does moving any unit always transfer the general?

Sovereignty is a turn-based fantasy strategy game for the PC. It combines a kingdom management campaign game with a general's level tactical battle game.

Moderators: Slitherine Core, Gothic Labs

Post Reply
Dunadd
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:56 pm

Why does moving any unit always transfer the general?

Post by Dunadd » Thu Oct 29, 2015 4:28 pm

Why does moving any unit out of one army with a general in it always move the general to the other army? Isn't the general meant to be attached to a specific unit or am i misunderstanding?

Also why does any battle where you don't have a general seem to have to be auto-calced?

Jekky
Illustrious Software
Illustrious Software
Posts: 867
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:06 pm

Re: Why does moving any unit always transfer the general?

Post by Jekky » Thu Oct 29, 2015 4:43 pm

The general/hero is treated like other units - if you don't click on it to deselect it, it will move.

It does have some rules which units do not have - a hero must always have an army, it cannot move on it's own, so if you move all of your units the hero has to go with them. If you want it to remain where it is, you must leave at least one unit behind along with the hero, and if you want the hero to move, the hero and at least one unit must be selected to move.

Dunadd
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 4:56 pm

Re: Why does moving any unit always transfer the general?

Post by Dunadd » Thu Oct 29, 2015 7:42 pm

i worked it out eventually - sorry - meant to edit the post to say so. Thanks for the explanation.

Post Reply

Return to “Sovereignty”