Any problems with Mac CEAW Grand Strategy v2.00 post here

PSP/DS/PC/MAC : WWII turn based grand strategy game

Moderators: firepowerjohan, rkr1958, Happycat, Slitherine Core

pk867
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1601
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:18 pm

Any problems with Mac CEAW Grand Strategy v2.00 post here

Post by pk867 » Tue May 31, 2011 4:35 pm

Hi All,

Any questions about the Mac version we will try to answer here and provide solutions

bensand88
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 11:07 pm
Location: Washington State, USA

Post by bensand88 » Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:19 pm

Just a big - Awesome job guys! I had a couple failed attempts to download the GS 2.0 early yesterday so just chilled for a few hours and tried again in the afternoon. Downloaded smooth and clean, started up and I have already been beaten by the Polish a couple times. Just kidding! :lol:

Will be looking for some PBEM action after I've had a chance to run through the game vs. the AI. These are huge changes for the MAC side and it's going to take a while to get a handle on the new strategy and tactics required to compete with the PC guys that have been playing GS for the last couple years. Should be fun!

Once again, thank you to the dev team.

pk867
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1601
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:18 pm

Post by pk867 » Wed Jun 01, 2011 9:51 pm

Hi You are welcome.

Tactics used in the previous version may or may not work in the new version.

The changes made will make the game new again.

pk867
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1601
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:18 pm

Post by pk867 » Wed Jun 08, 2011 11:46 am

bump

tsnouffer
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:14 pm

Post by tsnouffer » Wed Jun 08, 2011 9:47 pm

Wow. Just discovered this game. Where have I been? Just finished my first game against AI in 1.6, now reviewing guide for 2.0 and gearing up for my first PBEM game with another Mac user.

Thanks for the Mac support! I'll let you know if I turn up any problems.

pk867
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1601
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:18 pm

Post by pk867 » Wed Jun 08, 2011 10:10 pm

Hi,

Remember CEAW Grand Strategy is cross-platform compatible. :) So if you do not have a fellow Mac player I am sure you can find plenty of players using the PC. That was our main goal when we started on this path.

Have fun!

pk867
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1601
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:18 pm

Post by pk867 » Wed Jun 08, 2011 10:13 pm

I forgot to mention you can play the AI in Grand Strategy.

Also the tutorial with CEAW-GS does have references to new features and to the manual.

tsnouffer
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:14 pm

Post by tsnouffer » Thu Jun 09, 2011 1:23 am

pk867 wrote:Hi,

Remember CEAW Grand Strategy is cross-platform compatible. :) So if you do not have a fellow Mac player I am sure you can find plenty of players using the PC. That was our main goal when we started on this path.

Have fun!
Sure thing. It just so happens that my buddy who I talked into getting the game too has a Mac. More players for everyone!

tsnouffer
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:14 pm

Post by tsnouffer » Thu Jun 09, 2011 2:17 am

Just started up 2.0 for the first time. Launched the 1943 scenario and sound seemed fine for the Allies half of the turn. When it came to my Axis part of the turn, in game sound stopped.

I'll see if I can recreate it, but here are my specs

PM G5 Dual 2.3 GHz
OS 10.5.8
4GB RAM
256MB VRAM

I was running in Hi graphics, full screen.

Edit: Tried it in low graphics, windowed with same 1943 scenario. Sound seemed to be ok in that mode.

To be fair, I only played for about 1 turn in each.

I'll try it other ways to see if I can recreate it.

Thanks

pk867
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1601
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:18 pm

Post by pk867 » Thu Jun 09, 2011 8:38 am

Hi,
Ok. The readme provided with the installation mentioned that the sound and effects may cause crashes and freezes.

This is carrier over from the vanilla version. We did not attempt to fix those issues. It suggested to play the game with the music and sound effects turned off. This can be done in the options menu within the game.

tsnouffer
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:14 pm

Post by tsnouffer » Sun Jun 12, 2011 10:30 pm

Thanks for the earlier response!

On trying to create a PBEM game, first I give the game a name.

After that, I am asked to create a PW for the Axis. It is very difficult to get the text area for the PW to activate. Sometimes it never happens at all and I have to quit out. Other times, I stumble onto making the box active. I haven't found a way to reliably make that work though. Quite annoying.

pk867
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1601
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:18 pm

Post by pk867 » Sun Jun 12, 2011 11:38 pm

Hi,

What OS are you using? !0.4 , 10.5 or 10.6 ? Do you have the latest java installed?

What system do you have and how much ram?

You should be able to mouse the mouse over the area to input the game name or password and click using your mouse or trackpad.

tsnouffer
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:14 pm

Post by tsnouffer » Mon Jun 13, 2011 12:31 am

pk867 wrote:Hi,

What OS are you using? !0.4 , 10.5 or 10.6 ? Do you have the latest java installed?

What system do you have and how much ram?

You should be able to mouse the mouse over the area to input the game name or password and click using your mouse or trackpad.
Here are my specs:

PM G5 Dual 2.3 GHz
OS 10.5.8
4GB RAM
256MB VRAM

Yeah, clicking in the text area seems to have no effect most of the time.

pk867
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1601
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:18 pm

Post by pk867 » Mon Jun 13, 2011 6:17 pm

ok,

I do not have a problem on My old PowerMac Dual G5 original with 10.5.8 .

It is slower than my newer Macbook Pro. But then again it is 8 years old :)

Have you turned off the Music and Sound effects in the options menu?

You can start a HotSeat game to access the in game options panel to turn those off.

The music is a big resource hog. This problem was present when we were beta testing 2 years ago

using the terminal. It cleared up when we created the true Mac application.

Have you checked to see if you have the latest version of Java from Apple?

If you do you can go into /Applications/Utilities and open Java Preferences.

There you can specify what version of Java will take priority. You should be able to move Java 1.5 to the top to have that have priority
running Java apps.

You can try this- http://support.apple.com/kb/TS3489

this shows you the Java Preferences I mentioned earlier

Or you can try this- http://www.piranhamethod.com/developmen ... -or-later/

pk867
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1601
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:18 pm

Post by pk867 » Tue Jun 14, 2011 12:20 am

Hi,
I just checked with my older system and yes there is a delay when you first setup the game with a password.

It will take about a minute. I would suggest that you put the application CEAW-GS in the background by performing another action (ie read mail)

The second time should take about 15 seconds. Once created the password delay is no longer incurred.

The issue is java on the Mac and the timeout routines may take time. I am checking into a solution for the next patch if there is any.

I apologize for the delay in entering the password, but this at the moment is the best that can be done at this time.

Just be patient a few minutes will make all the difference.

pk867
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1601
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:18 pm

Post by pk867 » Tue Jun 14, 2011 1:10 am

Hi,
I did more testing in the Java preferences J2SE 5.0 version- 1.5.0_28-b04 should be at the top and checked.

Uncheck J2SE 1.4.2 version 1.4.2_22 . Quit Java Preferences.

Launch the Application CEAW Grand Strategy 2.0 . Select windowed, 1939 scenario.

You should be able to put the cursor in the name field and the cursor should appear.

If not, click on the gray area above the input box. Now click on the white border of the input box the cursor should appear.

Enter name of game. When the password box comes up select the border of the box. If the cursor does not appear click in the grey area above. Now click the white edge of the password box.

When the box appears to confirm the password, click in the grey area above the box. Now click the white border.

The input cursor should appear.

tsnouffer
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:14 pm

Post by tsnouffer » Tue Jun 14, 2011 2:06 pm

pk867 wrote:Hi,
I did more testing in the Java preferences J2SE 5.0 version- 1.5.0_28-b04 should be at the top and checked.

Uncheck J2SE 1.4.2 version 1.4.2_22 . Quit Java Preferences.

Launch the Application CEAW Grand Strategy 2.0 . Select windowed, 1939 scenario.

You should be able to put the cursor in the name field and the cursor should appear.

If not, click on the gray area above the input box. Now click on the white border of the input box the cursor should appear.

Enter name of game. When the password box comes up select the border of the box. If the cursor does not appear click in the grey area above. Now click the white edge of the password box.

When the box appears to confirm the password, click in the grey area above the box. Now click the white border.

The input cursor should appear.
Thanks for checking this out. The "click the white area above the box. Now click the white border" approach seemed to be the most reliable for activating the PW box.

Thanks!

pk867
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1601
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:18 pm

Post by pk867 » Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:59 pm

Hi

Have some fun gaming! Pass the word around to your friends.

harpo64
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 7:18 pm

Game hangs against AI

Post by harpo64 » Thu Jun 16, 2011 7:22 pm

Hi there, I'm playing as Allies against the AI, 1939 scenario, and at turn 35 the game seems to hang. The German turn starts, goes through the air phase, then nothing happens. The music's still playing, it's not frozen, but nothing happens. I've left it like that for several minutes in case something's happening I'm not seeing, but no turns have taken very long so far, it just seems like the game has stopped.

iMac Quad Core i7 2.8 GHz
8GB Ram
OSX 10.6.7

Thanks for any help/suggestions.

pk867
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1601
Joined: Fri May 08, 2009 3:18 pm

Post by pk867 » Thu Jun 16, 2011 7:28 pm

Hi,

that late and later in the game the AI will take longer to perform its moves. Also it is suggested to play the game with the music off and sound effects which can cause the game to freeze and is also a resource hog on the Mac.

If you perused the other posts the game can teach somewhat about the game, but it is really about the PBEM that is balanced and most challenging. There are plenty of players. So post in the area looking for a game and have fun. The game with so be fine.

Post Reply

Return to “MILITARY HISTORY™ Commander - Europe at War : General Discussion”