GS v3.10 available on the Matrixgames site

PSP/DS/PC/MAC : WWII turn based grand strategy game

Moderators: firepowerjohan, rkr1958, Happycat, Slitherine Core

GogTheMild
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E
Posts: 455
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:44 pm
Location: Derby, UK

Re: GS v3.10 available on the Matrixgames site

Post by GogTheMild » Thu Sep 04, 2014 7:23 pm

Not sure if this is the right place to report it, but in my newly installed 3.10 when I load a new game against the AI using the 1943 scenario the Allies get to move first. I assume that this is an error? If not it needs adding to the change log. Or it may just be me? :(

Nice amendments BTW. I especially like some of the new unit representations :D .
We sleep peaceably in our beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on our behalf.

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4710
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: GS v3.10 available on the Matrixgames site

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Thu Sep 04, 2014 10:30 pm

The Allies are supposed to go first in the 1943 and 1944 scenarios.

The reason is that 1943 is the Operation Husky. If the Axis can go first they can block coastal hexes on Sicily so the landing won't take place. The Russians will usually readjust for Operation Citadel.

1944 is Overlord. Same reason sas for Husky.

Berger
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 7:35 pm

Re: GS v3.10 available on the Matrixgames site

Post by Berger » Sun Sep 14, 2014 6:09 pm

I notice a change that is a reversion to earlier games - in 3.10 you can now rail to cities and resources immediately after conquest instead of waiting one turn. Was this intentional?

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4710
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: GS v3.10 available on the Matrixgames site

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Sun Sep 14, 2014 8:08 pm

That is not correct. I tried a new GS v3.10 game and captured some cities in Poland. I was not able to rail reinforcements there on the same turn as capture.

captkiwi
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 3:05 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: GS v3.10 available on the Matrixgames site

Post by captkiwi » Mon Sep 15, 2014 5:18 am

Am wondering Mr. Stauffenberg, can a person with v3.10 play against an opponent who has v.3.00?

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4710
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: GS v3.10 available on the Matrixgames site

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Mon Sep 15, 2014 9:38 am

I wouldn't recommend doing it because there are some differences so the game could get confused. E. g. XP rules boosting stats in GS v3.10. That means one side would get the boost while the other won't.

neverwalkalone
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:58 am

Re: GS v3.10 available on the Matrixgames site

Post by neverwalkalone » Sat Sep 20, 2014 12:23 pm

A 'long time no play' guy here. Was it correct to install this in the Matrix games>Commander europe at war folder? (where CEAW 1.12 allready existed)
Or should I have made a specific folder for the update?

When I start up it says CEAW 1.12 GS 3.1 in the corner. Wasn't 100% sure it was supposed to be like that.

captkiwi
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 133
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 3:05 am
Location: New Zealand

Re: GS v3.10 available on the Matrixgames site

Post by captkiwi » Sat Sep 20, 2014 6:31 pm

I just downloaded the update myself and what you see is correct. You should see a yellow v3.10 in the upper left corner of the option page when you start up. At least on my page it shows. :D

neverwalkalone
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:58 am

Re: GS v3.10 available on the Matrixgames site

Post by neverwalkalone » Sat Sep 20, 2014 6:58 pm

captkiwi wrote:I just downloaded the update myself and what you see is correct. You should see a yellow v3.10 in the upper left corner of the option page when you start up. At least on my page it shows. :D
Hmm, yeah, it shows.
The reason why I'm so curious if everything is correct though, is because some graphics seem off. Some numbers are jumbled up just a bit and the PP amount in the cities is slightly off (not in the middle of the city circle).... Gameplaywise everything seems perfectly fine though, that's what's strange.

Peter Stauffenberg
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4710
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2007 4:13 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: GS v3.10 available on the Matrixgames site

Post by Peter Stauffenberg » Sun Sep 21, 2014 1:00 am

The map font is Haettenschweiler. If you don't have that font installed then a substitute font is used (a bit wider). The substitute font can cause some clipping in message boxes and offset text on the map.

Haettenschweiler is usually automatically installed via Microsoft Office, but can also be downloaded from the Internet by searching the font.

neverwalkalone
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 11:58 am

Re: GS v3.10 available on the Matrixgames site

Post by neverwalkalone » Sun Sep 21, 2014 7:36 am

Stauffenberg wrote:The map font is Haettenschweiler. If you don't have that font installed then a substitute font is used (a bit wider). The substitute font can cause some clipping in message boxes and offset text on the map.

Haettenschweiler is usually automatically installed via Microsoft Office, but can also be downloaded from the Internet by searching the font.
Thanks for this solution, I have not tried this yet, but I'm almost sure this must be it since I had to reinstall my laptop recently! Will led you know if it worked.

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 15505
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: GS v3.10 available on the Matrixgames site

Post by zakblood » Sat Nov 08, 2014 6:51 pm

im using Descarga Pc Commander Europe at War Mega Mod Final, on version 3.0 of the game atm, can i update to 3.10 straight on, or would a clean install be better without the mod loaded?

and then after 3.10 goes on, put the mod back on? mind you it was only made for 3.0 so not fully sure it will cause problems later, so maybe better to finish of what i'm doing first before i update to 3.10?

Post Reply

Return to “MILITARY HISTORY™ Commander - Europe at War : General Discussion”