Charges/Evades/Outcomes and Obstacles

Moderators: hammy, Blathergut, terrys, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
pugsville
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:42 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Charges/Evades/Outcomes and Obstacles

Post by pugsville » Tue Sep 08, 2015 4:30 am

What effect do obstacles have on charges, evades and outcome moves

Can you only charge beyond an obstacle when in contact with obstacle?

IF not already in contact with a obstacle does an outcome or evade stop even if then contacted by charger?

deadtorius
General - Elite King Tiger
General - Elite King Tiger
Posts: 4173
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Re: Charges/Evades/Outcomes and Obstacles

Post by deadtorius » Wed Sep 09, 2015 12:29 am

To charge:
You would charge an enemy defending an obstacle, so there would have to be a target enemy touching the obstacle on their side. You would then move up to and in contact with your side of the obstacle and fight from that point. Even though not in direct base contact you would both be considered to be in combat so no shooting or being shot at.
Can you only charge beyond an obstacle when in contact with obstacle?
I believe you can but must CMT to cross the obstacle. To cross an obstacle you must have some part of your units front touching the obstacle and be parallel to it. Page 80 has these restrictions laid out. So to charge across and obstacle would cost an extra command point, 1 if a steady unit 2 (and 2 tests) if a disordered/ spent unit. Don't think you can intercept across one though.
IF not already in contact with a obstacle does an outcome or evade stop even if then contacted by charger?
I would say yes. The evaders can try to shift or wheel to try and avoid it but they can't cross it and if they can't get around it will likely end up contacted in the rear. Caught while trying to crawl over that wall or through the hedge.

pugsville
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:42 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Charges/Evades/Outcomes and Obstacles

Post by pugsville » Wed Sep 30, 2015 4:09 am

Units in Skirmish formation Light infantry and irregalar cavalry can evade across obstacles without restriction? They don't need a CMT to cross so would say they can charge (at there limited ability regarding allowing targets) and evade across it?

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”