defensive fire and intercept

Moderators: hammy, Blathergut, terrys, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
bahdahbum
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1950
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:40 pm

defensive fire and intercept

Post by bahdahbum » Wed Apr 06, 2016 8:57 am

One of the pleasures of real big battles is the number of unusual situations .

A french INF unit is facing a russian INF unit and declares a charge. But the charging unit is being intercepted by a second russian INF unit that was on the flank of the first russian unit, 1 MU to the rear . So the franch unit is intercepted at 1 MU distance from the intended target and does not contact it as there is not step forward in FOGN .

Now the intended target will be able to fire at the chargers .

Am i right to say that the unit will fire with all 4 dice as the target is within 2 MU of the firers and it is not a support fire or is it a support fire with 2 dice only ?

pugsville
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:42 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: defensive fire and intercept

Post by pugsville » Wed Apr 06, 2016 1:37 pm

no it is not allowed to fire at the original chargers at all.

rules page 32 second column 2 point

'a unit being intercepted may not be fired upon by the original target of the assault'

deadtorius
General - Elite King Tiger
General - Elite King Tiger
Posts: 4173
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Re: defensive fire and intercept

Post by deadtorius » Sun Apr 10, 2016 8:59 pm

A successful intercept ends with the charging unit in contact with the interceptors, therefore you can not shoot at them. Aside from the rule noted above.

pugsville
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:42 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: defensive fire and intercept

Post by pugsville » Tue Apr 12, 2016 11:47 am

not in the fire phase, but in the defensive fire phase all units that the charing unit passes with 2mu short range are entitled to fire in the defensive fire before the charges goes in.

UNLESS the unit was the original target of the charge now intercepted.

unit A charges unit B but is intercepted by unit C without this bit in the rules uni B could fire defensively as long as A still passes within 2 mu of unit B.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”