charge question

Moderators: hammy, Blathergut, terrys, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
bahdahbum
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1950
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:40 pm

charge question

Post by bahdahbum » Sat Apr 23, 2016 4:15 pm

Here is the case :

If we read pg 29 ( Wheeling during an assault move ), the unit making an assault must wheel as far as necessary to have at least part of the target in front of the center of the unit .

Now we have a large french INF unit that wants to charge a prussian unit in a BUA . If the unit goes straight forward, part of the extreem right of the unit will hit a wavering ART unit .

If we follow the rules it seems to me that the charging unit must either :

- Wheel to the left as to avoid the ART which is partly in the way and so charge the ennemy INF

or

- Wheel to the right as to hit the wavering artillery because it must put it's center towards the "target", the ART unit and so move it away and continue charging the ennemy INF unit if the ART breaks .

In this case it is of some omportance as if it wheels towards the ART it might be shot in the back by another ennemy unit :D

pugsville
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 223
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:42 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: charge question

Post by pugsville » Mon Apr 25, 2016 1:36 pm

"In this case it is of some omportance as if it wheels towards the ART it might be shot in the back by another enemy unit"

this statements not quite right, units bring during charges only count as flank/rear firing if they are so before the charge move, so if the unit can fire into the rear it can do regardless of the wheel, or it can fire because of the wheel/path but will not get any flank/rear bonus

bahdahbum
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1950
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:40 pm

Re: charge question

Post by bahdahbum » Mon Apr 25, 2016 1:59 pm

OK, but the firing / or the flank charge will happen latter, so what about the wheeling of the charger

bahdahbum
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1950
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 7:40 pm

Re: charge question

Post by bahdahbum » Sun May 01, 2016 1:11 pm

Let's rephrase it :

A french unit wants to charge a prussian unit in a BUA . If it charges straight forward, the rightmost corner will hit an ennemy battery .

- May it charge straightforward and "hit" the battery .

- May it wheel at the beginning of the charge to avoid hitting the battery and so charge the INF unit in the BUA as it will miss the battery

- If the french wants to hit the battery and hopping to rout it as it is wavering, should it not , if the battery stays, wheel to put it's center towards the battery

:D

deadtorius
General - Elite King Tiger
General - Elite King Tiger
Posts: 4173
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Re: charge question

Post by deadtorius » Wed Aug 03, 2016 1:32 am

I say in this case the artillery either becomes the initial target, so you can charge straight ahead as part of the target is already in front of you and no actual wheel is needed, if the arty breaks you get to pursue hopefully into the BUA. If the BUA is the target you can wheel so that you miss the artillery. Terry had said some thing to that effect somewhere in the past. You can wheel past the enemy center to avoid a friend or a non target enemy.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”