New Player Looking for Tips

General discussion forum for anything related to Field of Glory Ancients & Medieval.

Moderators: philqw78, terrys, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Diocletian284
Private First Class - Opel Blitz

New Player Looking for Tips

Post by Diocletian284 »

I am new to FoG AM. I have had the 1st edition rules for awhile and recently purchased the 3rd Edition rules and have been reading through them. I have experience with ancients gaming playing mostly DBx type games (DBA and ADLG). I am looking for something a bit different to try. Since ADLG is the most popular game in my region, looks like I will be doing FoG solo for now, which is fine.

I have signed up for the FoG Yahoo group and the FoG Players Association to get communication lines open.

I am a 28mm player. I have Middle Republican Romans, Later ImperiaI Romans, and Seleucids (in production). I do not have a large number of figures, so it looks like FoG 300 is a good supplement for me to use. I cannot field the 600+ point armies, but can do 300 points. I am planning to do Republican Romans versus Seleucids solo games.

What is appealing to me so far about FoG Am is that a single stand is not a whole unit like in DBA and ADLG. You have multiple stands of different amounts depending on army list combined together to make a battle group. Overall, the rules seem a bit more intensive, but I am looking for a game with more "meat" to it.

Are there any suggestions for solo play, or any tips to help? Hopefully after getting good with solo play and understanding the rules better I can introduce others.
berthier
1st Lieutenant - Grenadier

Re: New Player Looking for Tips

Post by berthier »

First and foremost, welcome to FOG. I would also suggest that you sign up for the FOG-AM Facebook group (https://www.facebook.com/groups/1726636790966631/about/) if you Facebook. The yahoo group traffic is sporadic at best.