Deploying units with reduced efficiency?

Order of Battle is a series of operational WW2 games starting with the Pacific War and then on to Europe!

Moderators: The Artistocrats, Order of Battle Moderators, Order of Battle Moderators, The Artistocrats

Post Reply
conboy
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 904
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:18 pm
Location: Lower Alabama

Deploying units with reduced efficiency?

Post by conboy » Thu Jan 07, 2021 10:31 pm

Hidee-ho,
I seem to remember being able to deploy units with decreased efficiency in the editor without resorting to the spawn trigger. Does anyone know how to adjust efficiency for a unit you want to place on the map?

How do i get to this characteristic without going to the spawn trigger settings?
Screenshot 25.jpg
Screenshot 25.jpg (397.3 KiB) Viewed 318 times
thanks!

conboy

GabeKnight
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Posts: 3279
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Deploying units with reduced efficiency?

Post by GabeKnight » Thu Jan 07, 2021 11:14 pm

It's somehow missing in the "set unit status" trigger effect, right? Agree that it should be added.

conboy
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 904
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:18 pm
Location: Lower Alabama

Re: Deploying units with reduced efficiency?

Post by conboy » Fri Jan 08, 2021 4:07 pm

I looked through the likely scenarios I might have done it. I guess its my imagination or faulty memory ...

conboy

It would be a logical feature, e.g., to make capture of a hex increasingly difficult over turns.

I hate autocorrect!

Admiral_Horthy
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 330
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 6:43 pm
Location: Budapest, Moscow

Re: Deploying units with reduced efficiency?

Post by Admiral_Horthy » Fri Jan 08, 2021 5:00 pm

How was it done with the soviets in the first Barbarossa scenario? I believe they started all orange... aren't they?

For me the most annoying is that NoRetreat is a commander treat not a unit's. Like Quick retreat. So my suicide units withdraw ... eh.

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 7999
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Deploying units with reduced efficiency?

Post by Erik2 » Fri Jan 08, 2021 5:11 pm

The Soviets were probably under-supplied.

You can try setting aggression to 100 to avoid cowardly retreats.
Some AI orders also have a check for 'ignore enemy', but i've never tried it.

conboy
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 904
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:18 pm
Location: Lower Alabama

Re: Deploying units with reduced efficiency?

Post by conboy » Fri Jan 08, 2021 6:18 pm

I think it would be a very good feature for the editor to be able to deploy single low efficiency inits without reducing supply.

Thanks!

conboy

Admiral_Horthy
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 330
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 6:43 pm
Location: Budapest, Moscow

Re: Deploying units with reduced efficiency?

Post by Admiral_Horthy » Fri Jan 08, 2021 10:32 pm

Indeed! But something must be invented to keep the efficiency at that level. Otherwise it will restore to max in the next turn if there is supply

conboy
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 904
Joined: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:18 pm
Location: Lower Alabama

Re: Deploying units with reduced efficiency?

Post by conboy » Sat Jan 09, 2021 12:40 am

Adm,
Agreed. We are also asking for a strength limit on some units.
So you can face off a battalion to a regiment without it becoming a regiment next turn or so, and so on.
The low efficiency should last for just one or two turns, the strength limit would be permanent (I suppose you could make it reversible by trigger?)

conboy

GabeKnight
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Posts: 3279
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Deploying units with reduced efficiency?

Post by GabeKnight » Sat Jan 09, 2021 9:03 am

Admiral_Horthy wrote:
Fri Jan 08, 2021 5:00 pm
How was it done with the soviets in the first Barbarossa scenario? I believe they started all orange... aren't they?
Yep. Spawned units.
Erik2 wrote:
Fri Jan 08, 2021 5:11 pm
Some AI orders also have a check for 'ignore enemy', but i've never tried it.
Works well, for example with retreating units (to an exit hex or something like that).

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 7999
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Deploying units with reduced efficiency?

Post by Erik2 » Sat Jan 09, 2021 10:14 am

I asked for being able to set a max unit strength a few years back.
Still think it is a very usable tool.
There was some discussion with one of the devs a while back about tagging units as garrisions and have restricted strength/movement.

Admiral_Horthy
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 330
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 6:43 pm
Location: Budapest, Moscow

Re: Deploying units with reduced efficiency?

Post by Admiral_Horthy » Sat Jan 09, 2021 11:01 am

What I miss the most ... and it's preventing me from the thing I want to build.

Is the trigger for change alliance. Switch sides. For example neutral units, waiting idle, then joining - that can be done with deleting the unit and recreating - but I want to change active units which have been in combat (eg. low efficiency, strength loss, hero, etc)to switch sides, or turn to neutral. Also there's no third side ally, that fights against the same enemy (or everyone against everyone) but provides no help = supply. Switching units to this "ally" means I'm on my own, they keep stuff for themselves. Third side ally/ neutral ally can be used so simulate non combat elements, civilians, bandits etc etc - the current Neutral alliance is for impassable scenery, they can't be attacked of move into their area

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 7999
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Deploying units with reduced efficiency?

Post by Erik2 » Sat Jan 09, 2021 3:57 pm

You can have up to 4 different sides, or combinations with teams;
1 vs 1 vs vs 1 vs 1
2 vs 1 vs 1
2 vs 2
3 vs 1

If this is what you meant.

Admiral_Horthy
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 330
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2018 6:43 pm
Location: Budapest, Moscow

Re: Deploying units with reduced efficiency?

Post by Admiral_Horthy » Sat Jan 09, 2021 11:00 pm

uh.... 1 vs 1 vs 1 but is really 2 vs 1 but not in alliance but separately.

For example Allies vs Germans AND Soviet vs Germans, But NOT Allies vs Soviets.
Or, Germans vs Soviet AND Hungary vs Soviets, but NOT Germans vs Hungarians... somehow if They are not in the same team, they attack each other as well. But if they share the same color they share supply, and area of control, that's what I don't want


I'm a poor scenario guy, maybe something I missed.

GabeKnight
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Posts: 3279
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Deploying units with reduced efficiency?

Post by GabeKnight » Sun Jan 10, 2021 6:34 am

Sounds good, but I don't think it would work well with the current supply mechanic.

Imagine allies with their own front lines attacking the same enemy - we would constantly cut each others supply lines... :wink: :lol:

Post Reply

Return to “Order of Battle Series”