When and WHere can units board boats/Amphibioous craft?

Order of Battle is a series of operational WW2 games starting with the Pacific War and then on to Europe!

Moderators: Order of Battle Moderators, The Artistocrats

Post Reply
Yolo911
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 266
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:29 pm
Location: Woodland , CA

When and WHere can units board boats/Amphibioous craft?

Post by Yolo911 » Fri May 08, 2015 3:38 am

Is there a rule about which units under what circumstances can load onto watercraft?

I landed a Marine Engineering unit and a 105 howitzer unit on the same small island (strip of land about seven hexes long and one hex wide) just southeast of the airfield you have to take in the New Georgia battle. The howitzer can come and go as it pleases on a boat but the engineering unit is stuck there. They also have their own supply ship so that isn't an issue.

I also have a Marine 43 unit on the mainland on a coastal hex in the same battle. It is not a core unit. It is in supply and 10 for efficiency but it cannot load onto a watercraft. but a Marine 43 core unit can load onto a watercraft right next to the non-core unit?

So what is the criteria for boarding boats?

Myrddraal
The Artistocrats
The Artistocrats
Posts: 1505
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:49 pm

Re: When and WHere can units board boats/Amphibioous craft?

Post by Myrddraal » Fri May 08, 2015 8:38 am

To board a transport, you either have to be in a port, or adjacent to a coastal warship.

So to extract units where you have no port, move a warship to the coast, and you can board your units into transports there.

Acererak
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 327
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2010 10:55 am

Re: When and WHere can units board boats/Amphibioous craft?

Post by Acererak » Fri May 08, 2015 9:54 am

Myrddraal wrote:To board a transport, you either have to be in a port, or adjacent to a coastal warship.

So to extract units where you have no port, move a warship to the coast, and you can board your units into transports there.
Supply ships are considered warships to apply this feature?

adherbal
The Artistocrats
The Artistocrats
Posts: 3894
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 6:42 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: When and WHere can units board boats/Amphibioous craft?

Post by adherbal » Fri May 08, 2015 10:54 am

Only Destroyers, Cruisers & Battleships IIRC.
Image

Horst
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1621
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: When and WHere can units board boats/Amphibioous craft?

Post by Horst » Fri May 08, 2015 10:55 am

Boarding seem to work for all but adjacent carriers, supply ships and submarines, so it works even with tiny PT boats or the support ships (mines/repair) according to my test.

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 6734
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: When and WHere can units board boats/Amphibioous craft?

Post by Erik2 » Fri May 08, 2015 11:08 am

I think it is a bit too easy to get units on transports using an adjacent warship.
During beta I proposed to add a small resource and/or 1 naval command point cost each time you debarked outside a port.

Post Reply

Return to “Order of Battle Series”