Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Order of Battle is a series of operational WW2 games starting with the Pacific War and then on to Europe!

Moderators: The Artistocrats, Order of Battle Moderators

lauter11
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 2:18 am

Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by lauter11 » Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:37 pm

Is it just me, or doesn't damage register for the secondary objective for the Panther D for anyone?

bebro
The Artistocrats
The Artistocrats
Posts: 2934
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:50 pm

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by bebro » Wed Nov 14, 2018 4:17 pm

It checks at the end of the scn and should go green if achieved.

lauter11
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 2:18 am

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by lauter11 » Wed Nov 14, 2018 5:49 pm

Okay, just thought with the 0/12 entry that it would let you know during the course of the scenario.

Thanks.

Halvralf
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 10:13 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by Halvralf » Wed Nov 14, 2018 6:01 pm

lauter11 wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:37 pm
Is it just me, or doesn't damage register for the secondary objective for the Panther D for anyone?
I had the same issue. I had deployed two Panther D's from my core and the game didn't count anything from the aux Panther then when I in the middle of the battle upgraded my core Panthers to model A the counter and popup came up . Seemed I had caused 18/12 dmg with the aux one :-).
"They couldn't hit an elephant at this distance."

GabeKnight
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2351
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by GabeKnight » Wed Nov 14, 2018 6:08 pm

Works for me using the "default" core force:

Screenshot 742.jpg
Screenshot 742.jpg (574.64 KiB) Viewed 1203 times

lauter11
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 2:18 am

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by lauter11 » Wed Nov 14, 2018 6:22 pm

I used an import as well and it isn't counting anything during the scenario.

hrafnkolbrandr
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:26 pm

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by hrafnkolbrandr » Wed Nov 14, 2018 7:44 pm

I used an imported core, and it is working.

GUNDOBALDO08
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 5:07 pm

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by GUNDOBALDO08 » Wed Nov 14, 2018 8:08 pm

Must important think: I doesn’t received bonus Panther A at the end of scenario, also if I deal over them 12 damage...

GUNDOBALDO08
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 279
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2017 5:07 pm

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by GUNDOBALDO08 » Wed Nov 14, 2018 8:08 pm

Must important think: I doesn’t received bonus Panther A at the end of scenario, also if I deal over them 12 damage...

GabeKnight
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2351
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endsieg

Post by GabeKnight » Wed Nov 14, 2018 9:10 pm

Halvralf wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 6:01 pm
I had the same issue. I had deployed two Panther D's from my core and the game didn't count anything [...]
Yeah, the error in the counter doesn't seem to be connected to the core import, but rather if there's a second Panther unit present on the battlefield.

GUNDOBALDO08 wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 8:08 pm
Must important think: I doesn’t received bonus Panther A at the end of scenario, also if I deal over them 12 damage...
You'll get it in a later scen.

hrafnkolbrandr
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:26 pm

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by hrafnkolbrandr » Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:07 am

Is that Panther A the one with the unreliable trait?

Halvralf
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 10:13 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by Halvralf » Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:19 am

hrafnkolbrandr wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:07 am
Is that Panther A the one with the unreliable trait?
Nope.
"They couldn't hit an elephant at this distance."

bru888
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 3380
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 5:39 pm

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by bru888 » Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:08 am

This setup is not going to work for the following reasons.

This trigger says, is there ANY PzKw Panther D tank on the map:

Screenshot 2.jpg
Screenshot 2.jpg (230.09 KiB) Viewed 1089 times

and the trigger also requires THIS PARTICULAR PzKw Panther D to have done 12 damage:

Screenshot 3.jpg
Screenshot 3.jpg (286.71 KiB) Viewed 1089 times

Which is fine so far. The trouble, however, is this fail trigger which says, if ANY PzKw Panther D tank, not the PARTICULAR one in question, is destroyed, fail the objective:

Screenshot 4.jpg
Screenshot 4.jpg (230.32 KiB) Viewed 1089 times

Players could have other PzKw Panther D tanks in their core to lose and thus fail the objective.
- Bru

bru888
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 3380
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 5:39 pm

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by bru888 » Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:17 am

Here's how I would have attempted to set this up; I believe it would work. Both triggers would address only the PARTICULAR tank in question (and use Combat Event instead of Any Event):

Screenshot 1.jpg
Screenshot 1.jpg (308.26 KiB) Viewed 1087 times
Screenshot 2.jpg
Screenshot 2.jpg (313.29 KiB) Viewed 1087 times
Screenshot 3.jpg
Screenshot 3.jpg (284.41 KiB) Viewed 1087 times
- Bru

bru888
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 3380
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 5:39 pm

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by bru888 » Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:30 am

There's another interesting aspect to this, come to think of it. (Please stop me if I'm boring you. :) )

The way this setup is designed, all this particular tank must do is survive long enough to deal 12 damage. If it's destroyed after that, the objective is still achieved. (Not true; see below.)

Is that what the designer intended? Because the way the objective is worded would suggest otherwise: "Panther D must survive and deal damage." To me, "must survive" would mean all the way to the end of the scenario but that would require a different approach altogether. Perhaps the mission should be "Panther D must survive long enough to deal [12] damage."

EDIT: Actually, no. The WIN trigger says "If that tank is alive AND it has done 12 damage, the objective is Completed." On the other hand, if that tank is subsequently destroyed, then the FAIL trigger would switch the objective from Completed to Failed as intended. So I think this setup would work but the triggers need to be edited, perhaps as I recommended above.
- Bru

hrafnkolbrandr
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Senior Corporal - Destroyer
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:26 pm

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by hrafnkolbrandr » Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:36 am

Halvralf wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:19 am
hrafnkolbrandr wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:07 am
Is that Panther A the one with the unreliable trait?
Nope.
Hey thanks!

That first scenario is a bit of a doozy, and that aux Panther helped a LOT.

bebro
The Artistocrats
The Artistocrats
Posts: 2934
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:50 pm

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by bebro » Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:29 am

bru888 wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:08 am


Players could have other PzKw Panther D tanks in their core to lose and thus fail the objective.
No. The trigger works only for aux because the "core" button is unchecked in the condition. There is only one aux Panther D on the map per design, so this should be fine, as it has been throughout the beta.

Players achieving this in scn 1 could give us a hint if they receive the free 5 str Panther (*corrected*) A - so "reliable" in scn 3, but nothing I read so far sounds like it wouldn't.

Halvralf
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 10:13 am
Location: Sweden

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by Halvralf » Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:02 pm

bebro wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:29 am
Players achieving this in scn 1 could give us a hint if they receive the free 5 str Panther (*corrected*) A - so "reliable" in scn 3, but nothing I read so far sounds like it wouldn't.
I can confirm getting the free Panther A in scenario 3 with a new commander aswell!!!!
"They couldn't hit an elephant at this distance."

VanBishop
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jul 01, 2017 4:53 pm

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by VanBishop » Thu Nov 15, 2018 1:15 pm

1) Imported core from PanzerKrieg:
1a) inflicted damage does not register until you upgrade one of the core Panthers to A
1b) the bonus Panther did NOT appear in scenario 3 (despite having survived and inflicted 18 damage)
2) No imported core
2a) inflicted damage registered just fine
2b) the Panther appeared in scenario 3

terminator
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2980
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:48 pm

Re: Panther in 1st scenario Endzieg

Post by terminator » Thu Nov 15, 2018 1:19 pm

bebro wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 9:29 am
bru888 wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:08 am


Players could have other PzKw Panther D tanks in their core to lose and thus fail the objective.
No. The trigger works only for aux because the "core" button is unchecked in the condition. There is only one aux Panther D on the map per design, so this should be fine, as it has been throughout the beta.

Players achieving this in scn 1 could give us a hint if they receive the free 5 str Panther (*corrected*) A - so "reliable" in scn 3, but nothing I read so far sounds like it wouldn't.
This is something I asked a long time ago (it is so old that is did not find my post).
It is impossible to count separately the No-Core Units :
- "Core" button checked -> only Core Units
- "Core" button unchecked -> Core and No-Core Units

Post Reply

Return to “Order of Battle Series”