Place names incorrectly displayed

Order of Battle is a series of operational WW2 games starting with the Pacific War and then on to Europe!

Moderators: Order of Battle Moderators, The Artistocrats

Post Reply
Juansana
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:37 pm

Place names incorrectly displayed

Post by Juansana » Thu Nov 15, 2018 6:50 pm

Hello, in the update to OoB 7.1.4 display errors appear in the place names again
Attachments
Fehler OoB 7.1.4.jpg
Fehler OoB 7.1.4.jpg (128.64 KiB) Viewed 1228 times

terminator
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2974
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:48 pm

Re: Place names incorrectly displayed

Post by terminator » Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:58 pm

What is this scenario ?
Did you make a complete installation ?

I find that the size of the panel could be better adjusted in certain cases :

Screenshot 861.png
Screenshot 861.png (149.25 KiB) Viewed 1199 times
PS: scenario = Falaise Pocket (Endsieg)
Last edited by terminator on Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:25 am, edited 2 times in total.

Juansana
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 76
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:37 pm

Re: Place names incorrectly displayed

Post by Juansana » Fri Nov 16, 2018 3:19 am

This scenario is from Blitzkrieg -> Yugoslavia.
And yes, I have installed all DLC, including 7.1.4.

terminator
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2974
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:48 pm

Re: Place names incorrectly displayed

Post by terminator » Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:27 am

Juansana wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 3:19 am
This scenario is from Blitzkrieg -> Yugoslavia.
And yes, I have installed all DLC, including 7.1.4.
The special characters raise problem :
hex_838 = Pančevo
hex_1091 = Vršac

Screenshot 866.png
Screenshot 866.png (249.98 KiB) Viewed 1164 times
hex_1047 = Timișoara

Igor1941
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 325
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:05 pm

Re: Place names incorrectly displayed

Post by Igor1941 » Fri Nov 16, 2018 9:23 am

Igor1941 wrote:
Tue Nov 13, 2018 1:35 pm
Russian version Image

Igor1941
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 325
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:05 pm

Re: Place names incorrectly displayed

Post by Igor1941 » Fri Nov 16, 2018 9:36 am

Image

Image

GabeKnight
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2348
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Place names incorrectly displayed

Post by GabeKnight » Fri Nov 16, 2018 12:23 pm

Yep, same here.

Screenshot 745.jpg
Screenshot 745.jpg (692.72 KiB) Viewed 1138 times
Screenshot 744.jpg
Screenshot 744.jpg (471.57 KiB) Viewed 1138 times

terminator
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2974
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:48 pm

Re: Place names incorrectly displayed

Post by terminator » Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:14 pm

I preferred when the size of the panel was proportional to the Location Name :

- Before Endsieg :

Lacations name(1).JPG
Lacations name(1).JPG (12.67 KiB) Viewed 1096 times

- After Endsieg :

Screenshot 869.png
Screenshot 869.png (81.94 KiB) Viewed 1096 times

Igor1941
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 325
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:05 pm

Re: Place names incorrectly displayed

Post by Igor1941 » Sat Nov 17, 2018 12:02 am

Moscow map
Image

Yang
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 1:06 am

Re: Place names incorrectly displayed

Post by Yang » Mon Nov 26, 2018 5:50 pm

terminator wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:14 pm
I preferred when the size of the panel was proportional to the Location Name :

- Before Endsieg :


Lacations name(1).JPG


- After Endsieg :


Screenshot 869.png
I have also same font errors with stupid squares like everyone else.
How can i fix this?

bebro
The Artistocrats
The Artistocrats
Posts: 2933
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:50 pm

Re: Place names incorrectly displayed

Post by bebro » Mon Nov 26, 2018 6:39 pm

There must have been a problem regarding translated text versions - for now a simple solution could be to switch the game to English, which should work, at least for those who are ok with playing in English..

To do so just select the UK flag in the main menu.

Apologies for the inconvenience.

Yang
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 1:06 am

Re: Place names incorrectly displayed

Post by Yang » Tue Nov 27, 2018 1:39 am

bebro wrote:
Mon Nov 26, 2018 6:39 pm
There must have been a problem regarding translated text versions - for now a simple solution could be to switch the game to English, which should work, at least for those who are ok with playing in English..

To do so just select the UK flag in the main menu.

Apologies for the inconvenience.
Aren't you a developer? Don't you want to fix this bug?

terminator
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2974
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:48 pm

Re: Place names incorrectly displayed

Post by terminator » Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:19 am

This problem is resolved by playing in English because it is the Russian version :

RussianLanguage.JPG
RussianLanguage.JPG (27.44 KiB) Viewed 944 times


This problem is not resolved by playing in English because it is the English version (I always play in English although I am French) :

Screenshot 866.png
Screenshot 866.png (249.98 KiB) Viewed 944 times
(Blitzkrieg, 07_Yugoslavia)

The special characters raise problem :
hex_838 = Pančevo
hex_1091 = Vršac

Yang
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 1:06 am

Re: Place names incorrectly displayed

Post by Yang » Tue Nov 27, 2018 7:51 am

terminator wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:19 am
This problem is resolved by playing in English because it is the Russian version :


RussianLanguage.JPG



This problem is not resolved by playing in English because it is the English version (I always play in English although I am French) :


Screenshot 866.png

(Blitzkrieg, 07_Yugoslavia)

The special characters raise problem :
hex_838 = Pančevo
hex_1091 = Vršac
I am a Russian and want to play the game in Russian. Russian is also among the game support languages. It is irresponsible to play in English to solve the bug. What are developers doing? I paid to play the game in Russian. Not English.

bebro
The Artistocrats
The Artistocrats
Posts: 2933
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:50 pm

Re: Place names incorrectly displayed

Post by bebro » Tue Nov 27, 2018 9:35 am

Yang wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 1:39 am
Aren't you a developer? Don't you want to fix this bug?
Of course this problem needs to be corrected, but it might take some time to iron out this problem.

The option to play in english can be selected as an interim solution until the issue is fully fixed.

bebro
The Artistocrats
The Artistocrats
Posts: 2933
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:50 pm

Re: Place names incorrectly displayed

Post by bebro » Tue Nov 27, 2018 1:10 pm

terminator wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:19 am
This problem is not resolved by playing in English because it is the English version (I always play in English although I am French) :
It's not clear right now if this is one and the same problem.

It looks to me that English - some characters are wrong.

Russian - entire names are wrong.

So selecting English may at least help.

But yes, it is certainly something that should be adressed.

Post Reply

Return to “Order of Battle Series”