What's with these OOB road runner targets?

Order of Battle is a series of operational WW2 games starting with the Pacific War and then on to Europe!

Moderators: The Artistocrats, Order of Battle Moderators

Der_Kuenstler
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38

What's with these OOB road runner targets?

Post by Der_Kuenstler » Mon Dec 16, 2019 4:31 am

I'm fairly new to OOB having come over from playing Panzer Corps. Why is it so hard to kill the units in this game? I read about how the aircraft work and get it, but I've noticed I can beat a lowly towed AT gun down 1 or 2 in strength, and then when attacked again it will just shoot away at light speed two spaces into the fog of war. What the? How did it manage that? Then by the time I find it it is back to 10 strength again. I've never seen one of my weakened units zip away like that. Mine just sit and take it until they die. This last scenario I must have beat 10 units to death and 8 or 9 of them scooted away with just one strength left just out of my reach. Frustrating! Am I missing something? :|

bru888
Order of Battle Moderator

Re: What's with these OOB road runner targets?

Post by bru888 » Mon Dec 16, 2019 7:20 am

No, that's the way it is. You're not missing anything. Look at it this way: IRL, how often were units utterly annihilated? Any competent commander would withdraw the battered remnants of his force rather than letting them get wiped out to the last man. Only if he were surrounded, or the attack sudden and overwhelming, would that happen. You probably do the same thing yourself; I know I do because a saved unit can be reinforced.