Max Zoom level

Order of Battle is a series of operational WW2 games starting with the Pacific War and then on to Europe!

Moderators: The Artistocrats, Order of Battle Moderators

Shards
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 3276
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 10:05 am

Max Zoom level

Post by Shards » Fri Apr 24, 2020 4:58 pm

Hi,

So, I know that many of you already update the variables.txt to increase the game zoom levels.

If we were to increase them by default, what would be your suggested values and why?

Thanks

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 7758
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by Erik2 » Fri Apr 24, 2020 6:20 pm

Quick test to maximize the use of my 4k monitor :wink:
Min zoom is nice for getting an overview on large maps.
Max zoom just to admire the quality of the graphics.
Granted, these values are a bit extreme (I had to reduce the resolution of the files to 80% to be able make them fit here).

defaultMinZoom = 10
defaultMaxZoom = 100

min.jpg
min.jpg (941.11 KiB) Viewed 1203 times
max.jpg
max.jpg (786.55 KiB) Viewed 1203 times

Shards
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 3276
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 10:05 am

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by Shards » Fri Apr 24, 2020 6:37 pm

Heh, yes, for you ninja rigs, bigger would seem to be better ;)

Anyone on a somewhat less hot machine tried changing their settings?

Navman2854
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:09 pm
Location: Wilmington DE USA

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by Navman2854 » Fri Apr 24, 2020 8:45 pm

Shards wrote:
Fri Apr 24, 2020 6:37 pm
Heh, yes, for you ninja rigs, bigger would seem to be better ;)

Anyone on a somewhat less hot machine tried changing their settings?

I also use the 10 min and 100 max. I'd like for those to be the default because it's a pain to have to reset them after an update. However, majority would rule of course.

bru888
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 4786
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 5:39 pm
Location: United States

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by bru888 » Fri Apr 24, 2020 8:57 pm

I use this:
defaultMinZoom = 20
defaultMaxZoom = 200

but I am out of step on both counts. Here, 20 is close enough for me but other players probably prefer 10:

Screenshot 2.jpg
Screenshot 2.jpg (684.85 KiB) Viewed 1174 times

whereas I like seeing the entire map if I wish, even the largest ones. This is a medium-sized map at 200 (1920 x 1080 screen):

Screenshot 3.jpg
Screenshot 3.jpg (317.64 KiB) Viewed 1174 times

and this is the same map that I estimate would be at 100 but again, when I look at the largest map, I want to be able to zoom all the way out and see it all which is why I use 200:

Screenshot 4.jpg
Screenshot 4.jpg (644.15 KiB) Viewed 1174 times

So the consensus may be building for 10 and 100.
- Bru

Shards
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 3276
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 10:05 am

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by Shards » Fri Apr 24, 2020 9:11 pm

My current thinking is 20 / 80, because someone has to think of the people with old graphics chips :-)

GabeKnight
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by GabeKnight » Fri Apr 24, 2020 9:21 pm

bru888 wrote:
Fri Apr 24, 2020 8:57 pm
So the consensus may be building for 10 and 100.
Agree.

Personally I'm using max=7 (on my rig that's really the max. setting before screen tearing occurs) and I need that to check the models and textures. Zooming out is useful with larger maps, to see deployment hexes and such.
But I'd suggest to keep the "default" zoom levels the way they are now.

Navman2854
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:09 pm
Location: Wilmington DE USA

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by Navman2854 » Sat Apr 25, 2020 3:31 am

Shards wrote:
Fri Apr 24, 2020 9:11 pm
My current thinking is 20 / 80, because someone has to think of the people with old graphics chips :-)
Not a bad idea :idea:

Juansana
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:37 pm

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by Juansana » Sat Apr 25, 2020 10:07 am

I would wish that no matter how large or small the zoom is, the bottom edge of the map is completely visible and not hidden by the interface.
Otherwise I would find the values of bru888 with min 20 and max 200 ok

Shards
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 3276
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 10:05 am

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by Shards » Sat Apr 25, 2020 10:47 am

Juansana wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 10:07 am
I would wish that no matter how large or small the zoom is, the bottom edge of the map is completely visible and not hidden by the interface.
Otherwise I would find the values of bru888 with min 20 and max 200 ok
Yep, I've got a request in to address this

GabeKnight
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by GabeKnight » Sat Apr 25, 2020 12:30 pm

Shards wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 10:47 am
Juansana wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 10:07 am
I would wish that no matter how large or small the zoom is, the bottom edge of the map is completely visible and not hidden by the interface.
Yep, I've got a request in to address this
Thanks!
And how about some hotkey to toggle UI visibility on/off? I know there's a cheatcode for that, but a hotkey would be better/easier.

Juansana
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:37 pm

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by Juansana » Sun Apr 26, 2020 1:59 am

GabeKnight wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 12:30 pm
Juansana wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 10:07 am
I would wish that no matter how large or small the zoom is, the bottom edge of the map is completely visible and not hidden by the interface.
Thanks!
And how about some hotkey to toggle UI visibility on/off? I know there's a cheatcode for that, but a hotkey would be better/easier.
A permanently visible on/off switch for the UI would be very helpful.
Can you tell me which cheat code would result in the on/off switch?

bru888
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 4786
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 5:39 pm
Location: United States

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by bru888 » Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:16 pm

Juansana wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 1:59 am
A permanently visible on/off switch for the UI would be very helpful.
Can you tell me which cheat code would result in the on/off switch?
#videomode on/off
Hides/reveals bottom control panel.
- Bru

bru888
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 4786
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 5:39 pm
Location: United States

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by bru888 » Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:17 pm

Getting back to the zoom level, extra capacity to zoom out helps with that immovable control panel problem to see the lower portions of the map. Now that the GUI is updated, designers would be well-advised to come up with that toggle control panel up/down switch.

Screenshot 1.jpg
Screenshot 1.jpg (383.44 KiB) Viewed 921 times
- Bru

Juansana
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:37 pm

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by Juansana » Tue Apr 28, 2020 1:45 am

bru888 wrote:
Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:16 pm
Juansana wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 1:59 am
A permanently visible on/off switch for the UI would be very helpful.
Can you tell me which cheat code would result in the on/off switch?
#videomode on/off
Hides/reveals bottom control panel.
That doesn't work for me.

terminator
General - Elite King Tiger
General - Elite King Tiger
Posts: 4234
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: the loveliest country in the world

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by terminator » Tue Apr 28, 2020 5:26 am

bru888 wrote:
Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:16 pm
Juansana wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 1:59 am
A permanently visible on/off switch for the UI would be very helpful.
Can you tell me which cheat code would result in the on/off switch?
#videomode on/off
Hides/reveals bottom control panel.
The videomode function only effect is to disable part of the UI (8.4.1) :(

videomode(2).jpg
videomode(2).jpg (938.1 KiB) Viewed 877 times

Such a function would be interesting when playing with a screen 15.6" :idea:
Last edited by terminator on Tue Apr 28, 2020 2:06 pm, edited 8 times in total.

bru888
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 4786
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 5:39 pm
Location: United States

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by bru888 » Tue Apr 28, 2020 5:41 am

Works for me but I'm still in 8.3.0 and I bet you guys are on 8.4.1. Shards, if you please, another item to fix one way or the other; i.e., restore cheat code or install control panel toggle switch.

Screenshot 3.jpg
Screenshot 3.jpg (474.04 KiB) Viewed 889 times
Screenshot 4.jpg
Screenshot 4.jpg (488.99 KiB) Viewed 889 times
- Bru

Juansana
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2017 4:37 pm

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by Juansana » Tue Apr 28, 2020 10:08 am

Yeah, Bru, that's what it seems to be. Of course I installed it immediately after the release of version 8.4.1. Too bad that there are so many bugs in the system

Shards
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 3276
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2015 10:05 am

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by Shards » Tue Apr 28, 2020 1:04 pm

Added videomode to the backlog.

Y'all could have found these in the beta ;-)

Anyway, the next patch will have a fix for being able to pan the camera down low enough to see around the UI.

GabeKnight
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3191
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Max Zoom level

Post by GabeKnight » Tue Apr 28, 2020 1:27 pm

Was it mentioned somewhere that the scen editor doesn't scale as the rest of the game?

Post Reply

Return to “Order of Battle Series”