1280x1024 resolution?

Moderators: Nacho84, N_Molson

Post Reply
nats
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 10:19 pm
Location: Pocklington, UK

1280x1024 resolution?

Post by nats » Fri Jan 24, 2014 4:01 pm

Any chance of the game supporting my native screen resolution of 1280x1024 in the future?
"It's life Jim, but not as we know it"

Nacho84
SPM Moderator
SPM Moderator
Posts: 1382
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 6:32 pm
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: 1280x1024 resolution?

Post by Nacho84 » Fri Jan 24, 2014 8:16 pm

Hello nats,

At the moment we're only planning to support 4:3 and 16:9 resolutions. We may add support for more aspects ratios later, but I cannot promise anything at this stage.

Cheers,
Ignacio Liverotti
Lead Developer of Buzz Aldrin's Space Program Manager

Polar Motion
Twitter

nats
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 10:19 pm
Location: Pocklington, UK

Re: 1280x1024 resolution?

Post by nats » Sat Jan 25, 2014 10:05 am

I have had a problem with only two games so far in terms of resolution both indie games - this one and Lords of Midnight remake. Ive had this monitor for 6-7 years probably so its not exactly new or unusual technology. I wasnt aware my resolution was a particulary unusual one, certainly I havent noticed it being an issue until lately with very small games developers.

I think if you didnt have plans to support this resolution on or shortly after release it would be a mistake. I can play the game in full screen mode with bands along the top and bottom which is better than LoM where I have to play the game windowed, but either case is not particularly attractive, I always like to play my games full screen maximised for sake of immersion.
"It's life Jim, but not as we know it"

nats
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 10:19 pm
Location: Pocklington, UK

Re: 1280x1024 resolution?

Post by nats » Sat Jan 25, 2014 1:53 pm

nats wrote:I think if you didnt have plans to support this resolution on or shortly after release it would be a mistake
Just to follow up on this if you look at the Steam hardware survey carried out in December the top resolutions are as follows:

1. 1366x768 33% Widescreen
2. 1920x1080 32% Widescreen
3. 1366x768 23% Widescreen
4. 1600x900 7.6% Widescreen
5. 1280x1024 7.3%
6. 1680x1050 6.9% Widescreen
7. 1440x900 6%
8. 1024x768 2.9%
9. 1360x768 2.7% Widescreen
10. 1280x800 2.4% Widescreen
11. 1920x1200 2.4% Widescreen

Most of the resolutions you are presently supporting are very minimally used compared to the top seven above. In essence by not allowing for my native monitor res you are effectively not providing for over 7% of gamers, and interestingly all the resolutions higher than my native monitor res are widescreen monitor resolutions. All other resolutions below these 11 are very minimally used (well below 1% of gamers each)
Last edited by nats on Sat Jan 25, 2014 2:13 pm, edited 5 times in total.
"It's life Jim, but not as we know it"

Nacho84
SPM Moderator
SPM Moderator
Posts: 1382
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 6:32 pm
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: 1280x1024 resolution?

Post by Nacho84 » Sat Jan 25, 2014 1:54 pm

No problem. I see your point, I'll add this to the backlog. Now that we're nearly there with the implementation for 4:3 and 16:9, adding support for a third aspect ratio should take less time, but I cannot promise this feature will be implemented soon, as I need to focus on gameplay code first :)

Cheers,
Ignacio Liverotti
Lead Developer of Buzz Aldrin's Space Program Manager

Polar Motion
Twitter

nats
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 156
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 10:19 pm
Location: Pocklington, UK

Re: 1280x1024 resolution?

Post by nats » Sat Jan 25, 2014 1:59 pm

Nacho84 wrote:but I cannot promise this feature will be implemented soon, as I need to focus on gameplay code first :)
Of course :-)
"It's life Jim, but not as we know it"

Nacho84
SPM Moderator
SPM Moderator
Posts: 1382
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 6:32 pm
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: 1280x1024 resolution?

Post by Nacho84 » Sun Jan 26, 2014 4:46 pm

Notice that many of the resolutions you listed will be supported. We'll be providing support for 4:3 and 16:9 aspect ratios, so that will cover lots of items from the list above.

Cheers,
Ignacio Liverotti
Lead Developer of Buzz Aldrin's Space Program Manager

Polar Motion
Twitter

Mandragoron
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2013 9:24 am

Re: 1280x1024 resolution?

Post by Mandragoron » Mon Nov 10, 2014 6:35 pm

Hi,

how can i tell the game that i want the resolution 1024 x 768 ? The automated funktion just offers me the resolution of my tv, which is connected with the pc too, no change to tell him i want the game to run on my monitor.
Any way to access the resolutioninfo manuell and change it? The splash screen seems to stupid for this ;)

Nacho84
SPM Moderator
SPM Moderator
Posts: 1382
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 6:32 pm
Location: Brighton, UK

Re: 1280x1024 resolution?

Post by Nacho84 » Wed Nov 12, 2014 6:43 pm

Hello Mandragoron,

Apologies, seems I missed this post! The launcher is something that Unity3D (the game engine we're using) provides. All it does is list all the available resolutions supported by your monitor/graphics card combination, so we as developers don't have a lot of control over it.

That being said, you can force the game to run at a certain resolution by defining some command line arguments. Please check out this page.

Notice that we'll be releasing a patch supporting all resolution types (4:3, 16:9, 16:10 and 5:4) this week, so that should fix your issue.

Cheers,
Ignacio Liverotti
Lead Developer of Buzz Aldrin's Space Program Manager

Polar Motion
Twitter

Post Reply

Return to “Buzz Aldrin's Space Program Manager : Early Access Beta Forum”