World Generator modding

Moderators: Pandora Moderators, Slitherine Core

Post Reply
YaroslavUSSR
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:00 pm

World Generator modding

Post by YaroslavUSSR » Sat Jun 07, 2014 1:23 pm

Is it possible to create worlds that consist only of certain types of ecoregions? For example, I would like to create Arctic worlds or Tropical worlds (or Desert worlds like Tatooine) selecting "Cold" or "Warm" temperatures in advanced settings. I tried to edit Grassland.xml, Savanna.xml and Tundra.xml setting latitudePeak, latitudeRange and occurrenceModifier to zero but I had no success: they are still created but without features of ecoregions and look like black tiles. I got the same result deleting Grassland, Savanna and Tundra from WorldGenerator.xml.

mrowka
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:07 pm

Re: World Generator modding

Post by mrowka » Fri Jun 13, 2014 8:08 am

Did you try deleting ecoregions that you dont want from worldgenerator

YaroslavUSSR
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: World Generator modding

Post by YaroslavUSSR » Fri Jun 13, 2014 7:59 pm

mrowka wrote:Did you try deleting ecoregions that you dont want from worldgenerator
Yes, I tried. Regions are still created but they look like black hexes without grass/trees/etc. textures.
Attachments
Pandora000.jpg
Pandora000.jpg (169.06 KiB) Viewed 3608 times

YaroslavUSSR
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: World Generator modding

Post by YaroslavUSSR » Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:34 am

I found the solution. For example, you want to generate tropical world.
You should edit Tropical.xml:
latitudePeak="0.0" latitudeRange="1.0"
Now the tropical ecoregions will be from equator to the poles.
To exclude other regiones from the world generating process you should edit appropriate features setting occurrenceModifier to zero. In my mod I excluded arctic, savanna, tundra and grassland. Now when I select warm temperature the world consists only of tropical and desert ecoregiones.

mrowka
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 12:07 pm

Re: World Generator modding

Post by mrowka » Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:51 pm

YaroslavUSSR wrote:I found the solution. For example, you want to generate tropical world.
You should edit Tropical.xml:
latitudePeak="0.0" latitudeRange="1.0"
Now the tropical ecoregions will be from equator to the poles.
To exclude other regiones from the world generating process you should edit appropriate features setting occurrenceModifier to zero. In my mod I excluded arctic, savanna, tundra and grassland. Now when I select warm temperature the world consists only of tropical and desert ecoregiones.
Well its like the old days of pandora modding, you mostly sit and change various settings to see the results :D

Thanks for info btw :)

YaroslavUSSR
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:00 pm

Re: World Generator modding

Post by YaroslavUSSR » Mon Jun 16, 2014 2:34 pm

mrowka wrote: Well its like the old days of pandora modding, you mostly sit and change various settings to see the results :D

Thanks for info btw :)
Not at all. I think it will be great if some day the developers add the option to let a player to choose between "arctic", "desert" or "tropical" worlds in the start menu. These worlds look amazingly in their first game Conquest: Divide and Conquer. Just now we can only choose climate.

stiefelss
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 10:44 pm

Re: World Generator modding

Post by stiefelss » Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:08 am

Relevant to the discussion topic: I'd really like to increase the maximum amount of factions for a map. I want to make a 64x64 map with 12 factions (6 vanilla plus six from the extra factions mod). How would one go about this?

eddieballgame
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Elite Panzer IIIL
Posts: 448
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2012 2:53 am

Re: World Generator modding

Post by eddieballgame » Tue Jan 31, 2017 8:39 am

Make the adjustments in the Data/World-WorldParameters xml file & the Data/Core/Languages/English-WorldParameters xml file

This is the "readme" for my Bigger Worlds Mod:

BIGGER WORLDS:

WAS:
<tiny dimension="24 24"/> <!-- 576 tiles / 3 factions = 192 tiles per faction / 36 tiles per city = 5.33 cities per faction -->
<small dimension="32 32"/> <!-- 1024 tiles / 5 factions = 204.8 tiles per faction / 36 tiles per city = 5.69 cities per faction -->
<medium dimension="40 40"/> <!-- 1600 tiles / 7 factions = 228.57 tiles per faction / 36 tiles per city = 6.35 cities per faction -->
<large dimension="48 48"/> <!-- 2304 tiles / 7 factions = 329.14 tiles per faction / 36 tiles per city = 9.14 cities per faction -->
<huge dimension="56 56"/> <!-- 3136 tiles / 7 factions = 448 tiles per faction / 36 tiles per city = 12.44 cities per faction -->

NOW:
<tiny dimension="40 40"/> <!-- 1600 tiles / 7 factions = 228.57 tiles per faction / 36 tiles per city = 6.35 cities per faction -->
<small dimension="48 48"/> <!-- 2304 tiles / 7 factions = 329.14 tiles per faction / 36 tiles per city = 9.14 cities per faction -->
<medium dimension="56 56"/> <!-- 3136 tiles / 7 factions = 448 tiles per faction / 36 tiles per city = 12.44 cities per faction -->
<large dimension="64 64"/> <!-- 4096 tiles / 7 factions = 585.14 tiles per faction / 36 tiles per city = 16.25 cities per faction -->
<huge dimension="72 72"/> <!-- 5184 tiles / 7 factions = 740.57 tiles per faction / 36 tiles per city = 20.57 cities per faction -->

Post Reply

Return to “Pandora : Modders Corner”