Page 1 of 1

Adding Orders to a Device

Posted: Mon Aug 04, 2014 10:15 pm
by kabobawsome
Is it possible to do? I was trying to make a Device which replaces the Xenomorph Pheropod and adds the ability for the unit to terraform. I was also wondering if there was a way to change the way it is obtained.

Re: Adding Orders to a Device

Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 8:22 am
by Xilmi
It might be possible but there's no example for something like that in the existing files.

The former is tagged as Light, Mechanical, Worker.

So I think the Worker tag is what allows him to terraform.

I've seen that several Features can impact the units standing on them via modifiers.

So maybe a Device can impact its unit in a similar way.

But without a proper example that might be a lot of trial and error to find out... If only the devs would read the forums. :\

Re: Adding Orders to a Device

Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2014 11:40 pm
by mrowka
You cant do that, orders are in units xml, adding order to device will not add that order to unit, or most likley will show you the error on the game start.
Developers would need to add such option to device class, or ability to compile your own dll.