Screen resolution

Tech support for Battle Academy 2

Moderators: Slitherine Core, BA Moderators

Post Reply
Sergeiev
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 7:51 pm

Screen resolution

Post by Sergeiev » Thu Apr 02, 2015 5:02 pm

how can i adjust the screen resolution on the Steam Mac version of the game ? Being stuck in 1024x768 windowed or full screen (streched) on a 2560x1440 screen is not very enjoyable. :)

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8886
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Screen resolution

Post by pipfromslitherine » Thu Apr 02, 2015 5:05 pm

OSX doesn't allow for fullscreen resolution changing so it game plays at the resolution of the main monitor.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

Sergeiev
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 7:51 pm

Re: Screen resolution

Post by Sergeiev » Thu Apr 02, 2015 5:44 pm

What about windowed mode ? Can i play at 1600x1200 windowed ?

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8886
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Screen resolution

Post by pipfromslitherine » Thu Apr 02, 2015 7:45 pm

Hmmm. Try opening up your options file (in ~/Documents/My Games/BA2) and changing the REZX and REZY values. This will only work (assuming it does!) in windowed mode.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

Sergeiev
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2013 7:51 pm

Re: Screen resolution

Post by Sergeiev » Fri Apr 03, 2015 3:08 pm

Sadly it does not work. :(

But thank you for your quick replies.

makigono1
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 69
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2015 2:30 am

Re: Screen resolution

Post by makigono1 » Fri Apr 28, 2017 5:50 am

Was there ever a solution devised for this problem?

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8886
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: Screen resolution

Post by pipfromslitherine » Fri Apr 28, 2017 6:35 pm

It's not strictly a problem - fullscreen works correctly, it is just that very wide resolutions show some stretching of some UI elements. The battle view itself keep a constant ratio.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

gphillips1965
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 2:25 pm

Re: Screen resolution

Post by gphillips1965 » Fri Jun 23, 2017 11:06 pm

I asked support about this and they did not know, but you can do it

On a Mac find the ba2 app and then right click and open package, in the data directory there is a file called mapview.txt

I changed mine to (below) and it works. Can zoom out to see a huge area now

PITCH 45
ZOOM 200
ZOOMLIMIT 1000
ROTATE 30
FOV 30

I recommend you backup the app file first incase you have an issue

enric
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1853
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 8:47 am

Re: Screen resolution

Post by enric » Mon Jun 26, 2017 5:26 pm

It's better do not modify the internal original files of BA.
In Documents/My Games/BA2 there is a file: USER.TXT, add the following text
NoZoomLimit 1

Post Reply

Return to “Tech Support”