Bug or valid move?

Post Reply
Fritz
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 251/1
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz  251/1
Posts: 136
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:53 am

Bug or valid move?

Post by Fritz » Sun Feb 03, 2013 9:24 am

Finally I can post in the forum.
I cant make a new post at the main Battle of Bulge section. :shock: Why?
I tried then 3x times to post at the Shenandoah Studio Forum section below, but posts must be approved. Not very friendly. And time consuming to find out. :cry:

Anyway. For the forth time.

Here is a picture at Google Drive:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0By7GM9F ... FnOXc/edit

I play as Allies. My units form a line to prevent Axis forces to sneak by.
But the KI moved through my defence without fighting. The Pz Lehr moved from Houffalize (arrow) to Ouffet. Ignoring all my units.
My question: Is this a valid move or a bug?

P.S: I needed one hour for a simple post, since the forum isnt working right. I am at the end of my patience. :?

s_nkarp
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 222
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 3:02 pm

Re: Bug or valid move?

Post by s_nkarp » Sun Feb 03, 2013 7:05 pm

Wow, that looks like a nasty bug. Thanks for taking the trouble to post it.

The reason we require approval to post is that we were getting dozens of spam posts daily, which was ruining the forum for everyone. I wish we could let people post without any sort of moderation, but the bad guys make it hard.

My apologies for the hassle.

daviddunham
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:53 pm

Re: Bug or valid move?

Post by daviddunham » Sun Feb 03, 2013 7:22 pm

Roemmel wrote:Finally I can post in the forum.
Here is a picture at Google Drive:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0By7GM9F ... FnOXc/edit

I play as Allies. My units form a line to prevent Axis forces to sneak by.
But the KI moved through my defence without fighting. The Pz Lehr moved from Houffalize (arrow) to Ouffet. Ignoring all my units.
My question: Is this a valid move or a bug?
Thanks for your persistence. Is this a game you still have access to? http://www.shenandoah-studio.com/Forum/ ... p?f=9&t=43 explains how to send a report from within the game, which will include a saved game that lets us analyze exactly what happened.

Peter_TSS
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 5:51 pm

Re: Bug or valid move?

Post by Peter_TSS » Mon Feb 04, 2013 3:24 pm

If it happened in one turn, this is a bug.

It is possible for the Axis to sneak by your lines, but not in one turn. The Axis would have had to move the Pz Lehr to Manhay on the 22nd. Then on the 23rd, the Pz Lehr could have moved to Werbomont and on to Ouffet.

boone737
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:54 pm

Re: Bug or valid move?

Post by boone737 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:09 pm

I had a similar bug where 2 Pz was engaged in Trois Ponts, they ran through isolated Werbomont units to engage 30 Inf in Ouffet. Manay and Spa were also occupied by Allies. It was actually a crazy stupid AI move since now that unit is isolated, too.

I tried to send a bug report, but the tap, tap and hold didn't open up the email.

Is all this related to 1.1?

(What's the best way to post a screenshot?)

daviddunham
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:53 pm

Re: Bug or valid move?

Post by daviddunham » Mon Feb 18, 2013 4:13 pm

Tap-tap-hold is perhaps an awkward way to phrase it. The first two are complete taps. Your finger touches the screen three times, the third time you don't lift it until the email page appears.

I guess if you're using the forum software, the Img button lets you attach a screen shot. But a bug report with a saved game is way more useful.

boone737
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:54 pm

Re: Bug or valid move?

Post by boone737 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:27 pm

Thanks, I submitted a tap-tap-tapnhold bug report.

Later in the same game, the infantry and 9 Pz attacked Manhay, then the next day did the same thing, 9 Pz left for Stourmont. Another boneheaded AI move. I didn't submit a bug for that one, since they are no-doubt related.

I suspect a fix to 1.1 is coming soon.

(I like the 'unactivated units' confirmation box. Thanks.)

daviddunham
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2012 4:53 pm

Re: Bug or valid move?

Post by daviddunham » Mon Feb 18, 2013 10:31 pm

I think we determined the move was unusual but legal. And not at all the best the AI could have made (though probably not a regression in version 1.1).

Kavomatovlbat
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2014 6:35 am

Bug or valid move

Post by Kavomatovlbat » Thu Jan 08, 2015 5:05 am

I am playing a multi game on baku and a supply bug occurs.
My two tanks on the right are out of supply althought thez are on a supplied railroad.
the multiplayer game is wO8d8R.

VowetOl
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 5:26 am

Bug or valid move

Post by VowetOl » Sat Jan 17, 2015 10:46 am

Bump

I would like a reply from the Nival team. This bug only occurs in games 2200 rating .. and im sick of LOSING ALOT OF RATING BECAUSE I CANT JOIN THE GAME???

WHERE IS THE DAMN ENGLISH RESPONSE?

Post Reply

Return to “Shenandoah General Discussion Forum”