PBEM Times Out

Moderators: Order of Battle Moderators, The Artistocrats

rhine
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 10:35 pm

PBEM Times Out

Post by rhine » Mon Jun 01, 2015 4:59 am

Is anyone else having this issue? I've tried everyday to launch PBEM in Order of Battle, but it keeps hanging and finally says:

"pbem_error_The request timed out"

Baph
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 4:32 am

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by Baph » Mon Jun 01, 2015 10:22 am

Yep.. getting the same error. Version 1.6.7 (steam)
Out of interest, does anyone know what ports this game uses?

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 7995
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by VPaulus » Mon Jun 01, 2015 4:12 pm

As far as I can see the issue is not our side.
Please check if any of your Internet security program (like anti-virus, firewall, etc.) isn't interfering. Check also your router firewall.
Time outs can also be related with poor network and Internet communication.

rhine
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by rhine » Mon Jun 01, 2015 4:17 pm

VPaulus wrote:As far as I can see the issue is not our side.
Please check if any of your Internet security program (like anti-virus, firewall, etc.) isn't interfering. Check also your router firewall.
Time outs can also be related with poor network and Internet communication.
What ports do we need to enable?

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 7995
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by VPaulus » Mon Jun 01, 2015 4:32 pm

It's http, so it should be port 80.

GrdAdmiral
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 6:23 pm

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by GrdAdmiral » Thu Jun 04, 2015 3:03 am

I'm having the same problem with my friend. Can you please be more specific than http: port 80? What ports need to be enabled for outbound and inbound ports? Game keeps timing out at the login screen.

Maxkudos
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 9:27 pm

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by Maxkudos » Thu Jun 04, 2015 3:33 am

Same problem when I tried to do multiplayer. I have turned off anti-virus and Firewall.

adherbal
The Artistocrats
The Artistocrats
Posts: 3894
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2005 6:42 pm
Location: Belgium

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by adherbal » Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:57 am

Just to make sure: You are trying it a couple of times in a row? If the server is overloaded the request may time-out. I just tried it again myself and it worked on the second attempt.
Image

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8977
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by pipfromslitherine » Thu Jun 04, 2015 3:26 pm

All the PBEM traffic uses standard HTTP, so no port opening should be required required.

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

TomBombadil711
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2009 9:06 pm

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by TomBombadil711 » Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:33 pm

Same problem here, tried a couple of times, will try again tomorrow.

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 6321
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by Erik2 » Thu Jun 04, 2015 8:46 pm

I've had no problem earlier, but now the process only gets this far.
Attachments
pbem.jpg
pbem.jpg (91.83 KiB) Viewed 1741 times

Baph
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 4:32 am

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by Baph » Thu Jun 04, 2015 10:12 pm

Starting to run out of ideas on this one.

*Disabled Router Firewall..
*Configured port forwarding on 80
*No windows firewall...

Still no joy.
Still getting "pbem_error_The request timed out" when logging in.

If anyone has any ideas to try or has overcome this issue.. please post your solution.

GrdAdmiral
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 6:23 pm

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by GrdAdmiral » Thu Jun 04, 2015 10:25 pm

pipfromslitherine wrote:All the PBEM traffic uses standard HTTP, so no port opening should be required required.
I've tried for two days now. We have attempted more than 100 times it seems like. I can not access the multiplayer portion of the game with my friend. I am able to log in with no problems, but he just receives that timeout error every time. He tried recreating another account and the same problem.

rhine
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Private First Class - Opel Blitz
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 29, 2015 10:35 pm

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by rhine » Thu Jun 04, 2015 10:40 pm

GrdAdmiral wrote:
pipfromslitherine wrote:All the PBEM traffic uses standard HTTP, so no port opening should be required required.
I've tried for two days now. We have attempted more than 100 times it seems like. I can not access the multiplayer portion of the game with my friend. I am able to log in with no problems, but he just receives that timeout error every time. He tried recreating another account and the same problem.
Same - not sure why port 80 would be blocked? It's what web browsers, etc use..

GrdAdmiral
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Corporal - 5 cm Pak 38
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2013 6:23 pm

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by GrdAdmiral » Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:06 pm

I have no idea either. I attempted to try playing from my laptop, and I have the same error. Nothing I do seems to fix it. My desktop computer works fine. The only difference is that my desktop is windows 8.1 and my laptop is windows 7. There should be no issues.
Attachments
Timed Out.jpg
Timed Out.jpg (216.01 KiB) Viewed 1729 times

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8977
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by pipfromslitherine » Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:12 pm

Thanks for all the detail you guys are giving - it will help a lot in trying to work out where the issue lies.

Are all the people having issues on W8?

Cheers

Pip
follow me on Twitter here

Baph
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2011 4:32 am

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by Baph » Thu Jun 04, 2015 11:55 pm

Windows 7 Home Premium here....

greywulfe
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 12:03 am

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by greywulfe » Fri Jun 05, 2015 12:10 am

Running WIndows 7 - so is my friend. Same issue as everyone else. Was working fine before - now it's not connecting. Don't think this is firewall related - it worked fine since I bought the game, same with my friend.

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 6321
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by Erik2 » Fri Jun 05, 2015 9:05 am

Tried two systems (Win7 & Win8) on two physically different PCs/networks.
Same problem, the connecting never finishes.

greywulfe
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 12:03 am

Re: PBEM Times Out

Post by greywulfe » Fri Jun 05, 2015 1:49 pm

Works this morning...

Post Reply

Return to “Order of Battle : World War II - Tech Support”