marines

Moderators: Order of Battle Moderators, The Artistocrats

Post Reply
joey
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:03 pm

marines

Post by joey » Sun May 21, 2017 1:28 am

I am in the middle of the Marines campaign. I just completed the Saipan scenario and am trying to continue on to Guam. Guam will not load. As I try to load Guam, it does not go to the briefing. Instead it goes directly to the editor map, and it does not allow me to do anything. I believe the scenario may be corrupt. I tried to reinstall Marines. But the results are the same. Anyone have any ideas on how I can get a version of the Marines Guam scenario? Or does anyone have any other ideas of what may be the issue?

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 7016
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: marines

Post by Erik2 » Sun May 21, 2017 9:19 am

I 'nuked' my way through all the Marine scenarios without problems, so it looks like something is corrupt with your installation.
It is probably not the scenario itself, but maybe the data.cmp file that runs the campaign.

I'm not sure if we're allowed to attach official content on the forum. You'll hopefully get an official response soon.

bru888
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 4421
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 5:39 pm
Location: United States

Re: marines

Post by bru888 » Sun May 21, 2017 2:50 pm

I just did the same (type Shift + C, then type #igotnukes to advance past each scenario) and I reached Guam with no problem.

There might be a problem with your scenario but it could also be a corruption of the file that determines how the game advances from one scenario to the next: data.cmp. Erik knows about this file, but obviously neither he or anybody else can fix it for you remotely.

So my recommendation would be to do the following:
  • In the game menu, click Single Player, Load Game, and look for saves in the [U.S. Marines] folder.
    Try to load the Auto Save (Campaign) and Auto Save (Turn End) files.
    If you can load the Auto Save (Campaign), hopefully that is from when you finished Saipan.
    Immediately look at the Specialisations tab and take note of which specialisations you had acquired and how many points you had.
    If you can load the Auto Save (Turn End), hopefully that is also from when you finished Saipan.
    Immediately look at how many Requisition points that you had at the end of Saipan and take note of them.
The reason I am saying all this is because I am going to recommend that you do a complete uninstall and reinstall of your game and DLC, including re-entering all game keys. Be sure to patch up to 3.4.0. Wipe out your saved games in C:\Users\[your name]\Documents\My Games\Order of Battle - WW2\SaveGames.

So you would continue as follows:
  • Use the #igotnukes cheat code to advance to the Guam scenario.
    On the campaign screen that you see before starting Guam, use the #epiphany <value> cheat code [Gives <value> Specialisation Points (used only in the Specialisation screen)] to adjust your points and "buy" the specialisations that you had at the end of Saipan. Give yourself enough points to have the balance that you had left over at the end of Saipan.
    Start Guam and use the #warbonds <value> cheat code [Gives <value> resources] to bring you to where you where at the end of Saipan.
Hopefully, you should be back to where you were before the problem occured, and ready to go with a fresh game installation.
- Bru

joey
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Dec 08, 2014 10:03 pm

Re: marines

Post by joey » Sun May 21, 2017 6:08 pm

bru888, I followed your directions. They worked. I did a complete reinstall, and it seems to be working now. Thanks. Have a great weekend! j

bru888
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 4421
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2016 5:39 pm
Location: United States

Re: marines

Post by bru888 » Sun May 21, 2017 6:41 pm

joey wrote:bru888, I followed your directions. They worked. I did a complete reinstall, and it seems to be working now. Thanks. Have a great weekend! j
My pleasure, joey. Enjoy the game.
- Bru

Post Reply

Return to “Order of Battle : World War II - Tech Support”