Mac Multiplayer broken?

Moderators: The Artistocrats, Order of Battle Moderators

Post Reply
Balois
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:49 am

Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by Balois » Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:21 pm

When I try to play my turn in a new multiplayer game the game crashes. It loads about 2/3 of the way, pauses, the music stops and then after a minute or two the games crashes. I tried to attach the log but Im told the extension log is not allowed?
It is titled "player.log". So I tried to paste the whole log into the post but it exceeds the limit. Please advise on how to get you the player log.

Mac Pro (Late 2013) 3.7 Quad Core Intel Xeon E5
Memory 16GB, AMD FirePro D700 6 GB

Order of Battle 5.2.0

Balois

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 16045
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by zakblood » Sat Dec 02, 2017 2:33 pm

http://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtop ... 72&t=64167

there's the link for the information on how to get the log etc, sorry i can't answer anything else, have no idea on Mac's

Balois
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:49 am

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by Balois » Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:39 pm

I copied the log to text edit with the txt extension and was told "The extension txt is not allowed"

Please advise how to get you the player log.

Balois

Balois
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:49 am

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by Balois » Mon Dec 04, 2017 1:41 pm

zakblood_slith wrote:http://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtop ... 72&t=64167

there's the link for the information on how to get the log etc, sorry i can't answer anything else, have no idea on Mac's

thanks but my problem is not "getting" the log it is how to "upload" the log.

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 7806
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by Erik2 » Mon Dec 04, 2017 6:10 pm

You need to zip the file before you attach it to a post

Balois
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:49 am

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by Balois » Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:37 pm

Erik2 wrote:You need to zip the file before you attach it to a post
Thanks Erik. Long time since our last match. If this gets fixed then maybe we can play again.

Thanks again.

Balois
Attachments
Player.log.zip
(19 KiB) Downloaded 47 times

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 7806
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by Erik2 » Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:26 pm

Balois wrote:
Erik2 wrote:You need to zip the file before you attach it to a post
Thanks Erik. Long time since our last match. If this gets fixed then maybe we can play again.

Thanks again.

Balois
Yes, it has been a while.
Whenever you get the 64bit version (recommended) working, I have a few new multiplayer scenarios ready for testing.
The maps are fairly large. I'm not sure the 32bit version will be able to load them due to 32bit's inability to access all your PC's memory.

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 16045
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by zakblood » Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:33 pm

ah so going to 64bit was Erik's fault then it seems with massive maps and mods :mrgreen:

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 7806
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by Erik2 » Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:38 pm

zakblood_slith wrote:ah so going to 64bit was Erik's fault then it seems with massive maps and mods :mrgreen:
Well, sort of.
Shards got a 64bit version by adherbal to test a couple of my larger scenarios (that failed with the old v4)
They apparently worked with the 64bit and the rest is history.
Sorry :oops:

And as I've stated elsewhere. 64bit worked for me right from the start...

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 16045
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by zakblood » Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:52 pm

did with me on steam, just not on site and glad you got your version up and running and able to play online again, as your mods are the best, and it's good to see your still enjoying doing them :wink:

Balois
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:49 am

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by Balois » Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:08 pm

Erik2 wrote:
Balois wrote:
Erik2 wrote:You need to zip the file before you attach it to a post
Thanks Erik. Long time since our last match. If this gets fixed then maybe we can play again.

Thanks again.

Balois
Yes, it has been a while.
Whenever you get the 64bit version (recommended) working, I have a few new multiplayer scenarios ready for testing.
The maps are fairly large. I'm not sure the 32bit version will be able to load them due to 32bit's inability to access all your PC's memory.
I assume by 64bit, your referring to the 5.0 & up version and if the developers can help then I will look forward to a chance to test your new scenarios. Always fun to try & beat the scenario designer. I tried deleting local content and redownloading but no success.

Balois

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 7806
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by Erik2 » Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:13 pm

5.x exists in one 32-bit version and one 64-bit version.

Balois
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:49 am

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by Balois » Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:18 pm

Erik2 wrote:5.x exists in one 32-bit version and one 64-bit version.
Im downloading from Steam and get what they give me. Is there a way (link) to get the 64K version?

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 16045
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by zakblood » Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:31 pm

no in steam it does both, but if you have a 32bit version eg o/s it will use that, if you have a 64bit o/s, it defaults to that, so as long as you have a 64bit o/s you will be fine

Balois
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:49 am

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by Balois » Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:23 pm

Erik2 wrote:
Balois wrote:
Erik2 wrote:You need to zip the file before you attach it to a post
Thanks Erik. Long time since our last match. If this gets fixed then maybe we can play again.

Thanks again.

Balois
Yes, it has been a while.
Whenever you get the 64bit version (recommended) working, I have a few new multiplayer scenarios ready for testing.
The maps are fairly large. I'm not sure the 32bit version will be able to load them due to 32bit's inability to access all your PC's memory.
Erik, I am now able to play using "Bootcamp" on my Mac running Windows 10 so I am able to try put one of your new scenarios if interested. Im free from now until dec 20th when I go on holiday. The windows version was also causing me trouble but when 5.2.0 was downloaded I was suddenly able to play agin. Just let me know.

Balois
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:49 am

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by Balois » Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:24 pm

I forgot to mention I'm playing the 64bit version in windows.

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 16045
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by zakblood » Wed Dec 06, 2017 8:20 pm

5.2.0 is the first install which should have downloaded another one 5.2.2 now is the latest, which is why yours in now working, enjoy

Balois
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Senior Corporal - Ju 87G
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 2:49 am

Re: Mac Multiplayer broken?

Post by Balois » Wed Dec 06, 2017 8:34 pm

zakblood_slith wrote:5.2.0 is the first install which should have downloaded another one 5.2.2 now is the latest, which is why yours in now working, enjoy
The Mac version is still 5.2.0 & is still not working. However I’m also running 5.2.2 under “boot Camp” & Windows 10 and it works well. Just a pain to reboot to play just this one game. The Mac version has not worked properly for me in some time.

Post Reply

Return to “Order of Battle : World War II - Tech Support”