Check for Updates????

Moderators: The Artistocrats, Order of Battle Moderators

Post Reply
robertahyuk
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 10:29 pm

Check for Updates????

Post by robertahyuk » Wed May 27, 2020 12:09 pm

I noticed after the last update that "Check for Updates" is no longer on the opening screen when you click on O.o.B. What happened to it? I've tried a few times to get updates and download them from "My Page" but it doesn't always work. They were on the right path but never updated the game. Is this going to stay this way??

Thank you
Desktop Screenshot 2020.05.27 - 09.14.22.86.png
Desktop Screenshot 2020.05.27 - 09.14.22.86.png (989.72 KiB) Viewed 650 times

Navman2854
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 5:09 pm
Location: Wilmington DE USA

Re: Check for Updates????

Post by Navman2854 » Thu May 28, 2020 10:17 pm

robertahyuk wrote:
Wed May 27, 2020 12:09 pm
I noticed after the last update that "Check for Updates" is no longer on the opening screen when you click on O.o.B. What happened to it? I've tried a few times to get updates and download them from "My Page" but it doesn't always work. They were on the right path but never updated the game. Is this going to stay this way??

Thank you
Desktop Screenshot 2020.05.27 - 09.14.22.86.png
Yeah, noticed that too. Quite a few times using it the update wouldn't process correctly. Maybe they're working on improving it? I'd rather not have to login but whatever works pretty reliably is OK by me.

robertahyuk
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 10:29 pm

Re: Check for Updates????

Post by robertahyuk » Fri May 29, 2020 3:59 pm

Navman2854 wrote:
Thu May 28, 2020 10:17 pm
robertahyuk wrote:
Wed May 27, 2020 12:09 pm
I noticed after the last update that "Check for Updates" is no longer on the opening screen when you click on O.o.B. What happened to it? I've tried a few times to get updates and download them from "My Page" but it doesn't always work. They were on the right path but never updated the game. Is this going to stay this way??

Thank you
Desktop Screenshot 2020.05.27 - 09.14.22.86.png
Yeah, noticed that too. Quite a few times using it the update wouldn't process correctly. Maybe they're working on improving it? I'd rather not have to login but whatever works pretty reliably is OK by me.
I just wish one of the mods or someone would bother to take the time to tell me what's going on with this. So far? Not a word.
Thanks Navman

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 16030
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Check for Updates????

Post by zakblood » Fri May 29, 2020 4:08 pm

many things can interfere with it work or stopping it completely tbh,

here's a list on how to improve that,

install and run the game as admin, always, then it sets up the right file permissions to run and store and generally work as designed.
1.jpg
1.jpg (90.21 KiB) Viewed 605 times
putting this part aside for a moment, any other things installed and running can conflict with it, 3rd party AV & firewall programs etc, by default, lets say for instance your on windows 10 like me, which has a fully working AV and firewall but you install another, it maybe better, but is it as game friendly?

well ask yourself, if it's a launcher issue, why isn't everyone else complaining it just doesn't work?

so take it back a step and then see what is different from a standard setup, then check it and read it's logs, normally then you find which program doesn't like the new game one and stops it from working, plain and simple, but not always the case either.

but it's a start, good luck

robertahyuk
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 10:29 pm

Re: Check for Updates????

Post by robertahyuk » Fri May 29, 2020 4:17 pm

I've always ran the game as "Administrator", so that's not the problem. No third party AV either. Went through some of the logs and found that the updates I download from "My Page" seem to go in a different file in "Documents". But after it's downloaded there, I usually move it to "Patches" and open it there and then it will work. I always liked using the "Check for Updates" as I think it's easier.
I'm not complaining but just wondering why that's no longer on the launch screen.

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 16030
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Check for Updates????

Post by zakblood » Fri May 29, 2020 4:19 pm

i've not commented as don't know either, that's a question for staff support to answer and glad your sorted and it works btw

when it does work one day then not another, mostly that's either a update to windows or a local loop net issue etc, which is random and frustrating but not something that can be coded in or altered either, how ever random it is i'm sorry to say

robertahyuk
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 10:29 pm

Re: Check for Updates????

Post by robertahyuk » Fri May 29, 2020 4:37 pm

I just always thought it was easier to use the check for updates on the initial screen but that might be because I get a bit lazy and just use that.
Oh well, thanks for responding and hopefully someone will have an answer. Luckily, there isn't many updates to this game compared to some others.
I'll just wing it until maybe someone has an idea.

THANK YOU!!

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 16030
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Check for Updates????

Post by zakblood » Fri May 29, 2020 4:48 pm

have past the message on so someone else will look and give feedback, and tbh sorry for missing it in the first place :wink:

robertahyuk
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 10:29 pm

Re: Check for Updates????

Post by robertahyuk » Fri May 29, 2020 4:58 pm

Nothing to be sorry about. You have always been helpful and I appreciate that.
Maybe someone has a clue????
I've even uninstalled Red Steel and the newest update and installed them again to no avail.
I'll live, Thanks!

zakblood
Most Active User 2017
Most Active User 2017
Posts: 16030
Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:44 pm

Re: Check for Updates????

Post by zakblood » Fri May 29, 2020 5:01 pm

past on to support, office closed now but someone will reply and give some clue on what's going off and why hopefully some time soon

VPaulus
Slitherine
Slitherine
Posts: 8150
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 8:33 pm
Location: Portugal

Re: Check for Updates????

Post by VPaulus » Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:08 pm

It will be fixed on the next patch.
Sorry.

robertahyuk
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Sergeant Major - Armoured Train
Posts: 565
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 10:29 pm

Re: Check for Updates????

Post by robertahyuk » Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:36 pm

VPaulus wrote:
Mon Jun 01, 2020 5:08 pm
It will be fixed on the next patch.
Sorry.
Not really a problem but was just confused as to where it went. Again, nothing to be sorry about.
Thank you for responding.

95bravo
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2012 2:46 pm

Re: Check for Updates????

Post by 95bravo » Sat Jun 06, 2020 2:35 pm

I just purchased Red Steel and Winter War (thank you D-Day!). Winter War installed fine. Red Steel v,8.4.1 downloaded ok but when installing it says to update to v.8.4.1 and sends me to the website.

Your thoughts, well wishes, redeeming ideas?

Richard

GabeKnight
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3193
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Check for Updates????

Post by GabeKnight » Sat Jun 06, 2020 3:55 pm

95bravo wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 2:35 pm
Your thoughts, well wishes, redeeming ideas?
What version of OoB are you running now (it's shown on the main screen, bottom)? If it ain't v8.4.4, then you'll need the update.

Post Reply

Return to “Order of Battle : World War II - Tech Support”