Germany Grand Campaign

Moderators: Order of Battle Moderators, The Artistocrats

Brainy
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 4:25 am

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by Brainy » Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:12 am

Well, the good news is that I never saw those rings before, ever. Now I wonder how many others I have missed since this game was released? So were there other branches off in earlier campaigns like Poland, or Denmark?

See a big but here,
BUTT!
the bad news was that I tried three different branches, and every one came up with the same 2D map of the scenario I picked. Oslo was really long and skinny, and I think Bergen was really big, nice map but same 2D form. So still no action on the Western Front for me.

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 6326
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by Erik2 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 11:35 am

Brainy wrote:Well, the good news is that I never saw those rings before, ever. Now I wonder how many others I have missed since this game was released? So were there other branches off in earlier campaigns like Poland, or Denmark?

See a big but here,
BUTT!
the bad news was that I tried three different branches, and every one came up with the same 2D map of the scenario I picked. Oslo was really long and skinny, and I think Bergen was really big, nice map but same 2D form. So still no action on the Western Front for me.
I think you need to download and install the latest version of this campaign again.
You have issues that was never reported by other players.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gaqpb975t7kks ... 0.zip?dl=0

Horst
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1612
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by Horst » Sun Feb 04, 2018 12:02 pm

What I forgot to mention in Poznan: Frankfurt needs a flag should you purchase and deploy later more units in the northern start-region.

About the Italian core: how about giving them spec points too starting from Sea Lion on? If the core will only consists of naval units then you can give them only the naval specs. I still remember a few PzC scenarios besides Sicily where you have a bunch of Italian ground units on your side too, but no idea if it’s fine to include them also as core.
This is also about the Kriegsmarine: if you don’t support any naval aircrafts then better remove the Flight School and other specs to avoid any unnecessary waste of points there.

DanzigN: you can still gain dozens of spec points here. I have just read that other players have already reported this too some time ago. The flawed campaign editor is not to be blamed here though.
While it’s good to have infinite triggers on move events for supply route connections, adding rewards to them is a bad idea. You will get the reward on every move event while the connection is established. Rewards here unfortunately require an additional trigger. Maybe it works best if you add the scenario end trigger combined with Turn Start event to reward it only when the scenario ends. Turn Start events still trigger when after the last turn AFAIR. If you are lazy, you can only check once the connection on scenario end with your reward included.

Lodz: Destroy all trains: Hansgeorg Bätcher is no Heer commander but a Luftwaffe one.

The other scenarios until Brest worked quite fine. There are still many supply points on the edges of the Brest map.
After a long break from these PzC campaigns, I totally forgot how tough these are compared to the official OOB campaigns. You are hardly used to so many AI units pestering your own at same time. This is sometimes so crazy that you can easily run out of RPs. If you forget to ping AI arty by own aircraft or arty and bang... your defensive line collapses. The large amount of commanders are truely needed there.

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 6326
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by Erik2 » Sun Feb 04, 2018 4:06 pm

The Italians may only use the general specialisations, but I'll add them in whenever the campaign editor allows me to do so...
The Kriegsmarine may get use of an aircraft carrier if the campaign lasts long enough.

Horst
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1612
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by Horst » Sun Feb 04, 2018 5:37 pm

In the campaign editor, if you click on the small flags in settings\specs, you can configure each faction's specs. Only the "add" function seems to break things, but you usually don't need that. There aren't alot specs for the minor nations anyway. I still use the old data.cmp files either when I like to configure the original campaigns and let the campaign editor convert them automatically. Old school rules!

GabeKnight
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2359
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by GabeKnight » Sun Feb 04, 2018 6:17 pm

Horst wrote:I still use the old data.cmp files either when I like to configure the original campaigns and let the campaign editor convert them automatically. Old school rules!
Good tip.
...and maybe you're right, I'm feeling really old just now willing to stick to text-editors and such... :wink:

Horst
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1612
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by Horst » Sun Feb 04, 2018 6:46 pm

I believe game version 4.1.1 (Burma) was the last one which uses the data.cmp files. On the next game version, the campaign editor was introduced. Too bad there is no data.cmp file for Panzerkrieg anymore, but it's not a big deal as only the start-/end-dates are somewhat too cramped for my own modified spec-tree. I've changed a bit availability, requirements and dates for factions, hence it looks a bit different. The arrows easily mess up.

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 6326
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by Erik2 » Mon Feb 05, 2018 12:01 pm

Horst wrote:In the campaign editor, if you click on the small flags in settings\specs, you can configure each faction's specs. Only the "add" function seems to break things, but you usually don't need that. There aren't alot specs for the minor nations anyway. I still use the old data.cmp files either when I like to configure the original campaigns and let the campaign editor convert them automatically. Old school rules!
I you set the specs to say 1 for a faction, it removes other factions temporarily. Also the 1 does not stick.

Horst
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1612
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by Horst » Mon Feb 05, 2018 5:16 pm

Okay, Erik, that confirms my opinion that the campaign editor is still a total failure in my book so far. It might be useful to move some arrows and circles around, but is otherwise in such an alpha-state that it should have never be released so far, destroying our beloved little data.cmp files.

Brainy
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 4:25 am

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by Brainy » Mon Feb 05, 2018 8:11 pm

think you need to download and install the latest version of this campaign again.
You have issues that was never reported by other players.
Well, all worth a try I suppose, yet just as futile as when I did it after your release ... three tries ago. Same results it doesn't matter which scenario ring I pick, I get a 2D editor map, but only in Norway. Restarted Campaign and works fine. I have for a long time always created two saves when I start a scenario, a "deploy save" and a "manual save", so at any time I cant go back and restart at the deploying phase, either changing units or staying put. Also a manual save for anytime I thought to do, such as meal times, end of the day, or want to play anything else out of total frustration :roll:

Points of possible interest, first I am playing the 64-bit version, at least that's what it says on the loading screen at the version of the game number.

Secondly, I started on German Grand Campaign 1.5 and first encountered the problem there. Are there any chances that all the rest of these players started or played their games in different version numbers other than 1.5 say like an earlier version.

Third I'm am trying to resurrect a save from 1.5 to the new 2.0 version, Is this possible? Is there something different there you did to Norway that would prevent me from loading from there, and would a total restart from the beginning get the same results or is that where my problems might lie. A previous save from Sjaelland doesn't work but a total restart in Poland would work ? I played through Sjaelland and beat it, but can't advance any further and I don't see a new save here working any better from a restart of the "entire" campaign.

p.s. I believe I might see an "issue"
The following scenarios are fixed based on specific player issue feedback.
(Note that there are still issues with the campaign editor, ie stuff I can't fix).

11Narvik
12Sjaelland
14Albert
15Haag
16Sedan
23Dunkerque
24Reims
25Dijon
38Brighton
39Newick
40Guildford
41Reading
42Farnborough
43Milton
50LondonA
52Oxford
53Coventry
54Irish
55North
56Hadrian
57Antonine
58Orkney
How is it possible for me to advance from Sjaelland "12" into Narvik "11" ..... ? This cant be right? My last saves are "Sjaelland deploy" and "Sjaelland manual" the invasion of Denmark. How can Narvik Norway be after.... at number 11 ? 11 is before 12 not after ?

ME262
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 62
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2012 9:35 pm

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by ME262 » Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:28 pm

Hello Erik2, which version of OOB is required to play this campaign? WW2, blitzKreig, panzerkreig ???thanks in advance... look forward to playing this one.

GabeKnight
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2359
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by GabeKnight » Mon Feb 05, 2018 9:42 pm

@Brainy
Don't think about numbering that much, the sequence's set with the campaign editor. Every time you begin a new scenario, the according data's read out of the individual scenario file in the campaign folder, so a restart of the campaign is not necessary (but you have to start from the campaign save or manually "restart" the scenario to update to new content). Older saves worked for me without any problems.
Me thinks your problem lies here:
Erik2 wrote:The campaign folder is now named Germany Grand Campaign. The zip name includes a version number.
If you want to continue a saved campaign and your previous version included a version number, you need to rename the new folder to the old name.
You'll have to overwrite the existing files in the v1.5 folder OR rename the new one. Do you have by any chance TWO Germany Grand Campaigns when you'd start a new single player custom camapaign now?

Brainy
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Lance Corporal - Panzer IA
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2018 4:25 am

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by Brainy » Tue Feb 06, 2018 6:01 am

Thanks, Gabeknight for the input, when I first downloaded the new 2.0, I dragged the contents into the 1.5 folder, that didn't work and the save loaded up with the same error with the map. I deleted both and downloaded 2.0 again. then I opened both winrar's giving me two folders the same except the numbers. When I tried the game again the save loaded up with the same error with the map, so then I checked to restart the campaign, and there wasn't one! This is where it gets tricky, but I will explain as best I can remember. Realizing that the two folders didn't work together, I deleted both and downloaded 2.0 again.

Extracting it, I realized that inside the new Germany Grand Campaign 2.0 folder, I had another that wasn't numbered at all just called Germany Grand Campaign. This is common with winrar depending on how you open it or extract it. So I'm not sure if my previous tries with 2.0 worked at all because I might have had double folders all along.

So I numbered the newly opened Germany Grand Campaign folder to 1.5, tried the game again with the same results. I think I might have tried the 2.0 version by itself once too, but as it stands now in my game there is only a renamed 2.0 folder to 1.5 so Im not sure at all of anything anymore. :o

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 6326
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by Erik2 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 10:00 am

ME262 wrote:Hello Erik2, which version of OOB is required to play this campaign? WW2, blitzKreig, panzerkreig ???thanks in advance... look forward to playing this one.
I think you need to purchase one official DLC before playing custom stuff, multiplayer or have access to the editor.
Me, I always buy everything since I want this small company to keep creating new content.

Horst
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Sr. Colonel - Battleship
Posts: 1612
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 1:22 pm

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by Horst » Tue Feb 06, 2018 11:21 am

I just recently played through the muddy Oslo map.
The triggers more or less all worked fine. What didn’t work so well was the Kjeller airfield objective. It required a Capture VP event, what is rather difficult to get if you first move a unit into the airfield hex. Afterwards, there weren’t a lot flags left to capture.
The most serious issue was that I had no idea how to support all the many landing troops with only less than a handful 3-point non-flagged settlements nearby. My troops already took a long crawling trip to travel there thanks to the lack of supply, but it was hardly enough to support so many units.
What is also too difficult is to capture the two forts down there, expecting only a single paratrooper is enough against a fort, where one was additionally guarded by an inf unit. Together with Fredkrikstad, you simply don’t have the proper amount of troops to conquer the entrenched AI units there without any arty, naval, or air support. It’s a pity there is no chance to return aircraft back to the battlefield after they run out of fuel.
Too bad there is also no core-unit action possible, but it is still good for gathering some RP and spec points after the too-difficult Brest fight.
Oh, and I was also disappointed that you hire Erik als Field Marshall when you visit his house. :P

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 6326
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by Erik2 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 4:32 pm

Oslo is difficult to simulate.
Maybe I could add the reinforcements as sea transports along the fjord. The player could use these to invade objectives that are otherwise difficult to reach in a reasonable time.

Igor1941
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:05 pm

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by Igor1941 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:06 pm

in 1941 the commanders were not given out. The company of the eastern front. Version 2.0

Igor1941
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 340
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:05 pm

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by Igor1941 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:08 pm

In the Polish and Norwegian companies commanders were issued. Version 2.0

GabeKnight
Major-General - Tiger I
Major-General - Tiger I
Posts: 2359
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by GabeKnight » Tue Feb 06, 2018 7:14 pm

Brainy wrote:I think I might have tried the 2.0 version by itself once too, but as it stands now in my game there is only a renamed 2.0 folder to 1.5 so Im not sure at all of anything anymore. :o
Then it seems I was wrong about that. I've tried to open the Narvik and Oslo scenario on my computer and it worked without problems. But they are quite large maps and it took some time to load, so it could be your PC's configuration or a 32/64bit issue... I don't know anymore. Sorry.
And I don't have a savegame that early into the campaign, either. I could offer you one of mine from "25Dijon", but with my core composition...
Screenshot 84.jpg
Screenshot 84.jpg (311.87 KiB) Viewed 1069 times
Screenshot 85.jpg
Screenshot 85.jpg (342.41 KiB) Viewed 1069 times

Erik2
Order of Battle Moderator
Order of Battle Moderator
Posts: 6326
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2011 12:59 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Germany Grand Campaign

Post by Erik2 » Tue Feb 06, 2018 9:03 pm

Originally all German commanders were assigned during the scenarios in 1939-40.

Post Reply

Return to “Order of Battle : World War II - Scenario Design”