Page 44 of 45

Normandy UK & Canada 1944 2.5

Posted: Sat Jul 11, 2020 10:42 am
by Erik2
Normandy UK & Canada 1944 2.5
Link updated in first post

06Villiers
Fixed sec obj

09Cristot
Added German garrisons
Doubled Allied resource income

13Caumont
Reduced Allied land command points
Doubled Allied resource income
Added more turns

14Martlet
Changed panzer orders
Added German garrisons
Reduced Allied land/air command points
Fixed air exit

04Juno
Added transport to Candian eng units
More aggressive Germans

07JunoD2
Added German garrisons
More aggressive Germans

08Mesnil
Minor terrain changes
Added 2 turns

19Carpiquet
Added more Allied supply
Reduced Allied air and land command points
Added German garrisons

25Verrieres
Reduced Allied land command points
Added German garrisons
Added more German supply

30Bonfait
Relocated/added more supply locations
Increased sec obj difficulty
Reduced Allied land command points

26Bois
Fixed air exits
Reduced Allied air command points
Increased sec obj difficulty
Increased German aggressions level
Added German garrisons

29Bistiere
Added more Allied supply

32Gaumesnil
Reduced Allied land command points

34Falaise
All Werhmacht units now start at full strength
Werhmacht resource income halved

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Mon Jul 13, 2020 7:54 pm
by Mascarenhas
Back to New Britain with GK Mod

I dared to try this option and ha an even hard time. Gabe's Mod arty is much more flexible and active, since flak may be converted as regular arty and vice versa with some units; and many can fire over land or sea units. Even having played this campaign during the beta phase, and having a reasonable knowledge about the tricks and traps you planted along the way, It was impossible to me to win Jacquinot bay in only 48 rounds. Anyway, It gave me a lot of fun and I congratulate you all for the excellent work, modder and creatives. BTW, just a note/suggestion: RAAF never deployed a squadron at Jacquinot; instead, NZ AF did, with a squadron of F4U Corsairs. I'd suggest that, eventually, you guys could replace those Hurris for the sake of accuracy. RAAF never operated Hurries in the Pacific, btw, but Spitfires only, with limited success against what an author called "acrobatic" Zero pilots.

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Mon Jul 13, 2020 8:14 pm
by bru888
Thanks for playing, Mr. M.!

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Mon Jul 13, 2020 10:44 pm
by Mascarenhas
Always a pleasure, gents!

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2020 12:03 am
by rafdobrowolski
I believe the Scenario is called Carpiquet, prior to Operation Goodwood and Atlantic, I got all 16 secondary objectives, but at the end of the scenario I get a minor victory. I lost a few throughout the scenario, but recaptured them all prior to turn 30.

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2020 9:16 pm
by unitlost
These are excellent. Thank you!

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:59 pm
by bru888
raf, is yours an observation or a complaint?

unit, thank you. There's more to come (but they take time).

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 4:32 am
by rafdobrowolski
bru888 wrote:
Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:59 pm
raf, is yours an observation or a complaint?

unit, thank you. There's more to come (but they take time).
Neither actually. A report of a possible trigger not working perhaps more so than anything.

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 2:44 pm
by bru888
rafdobrowolski wrote:
Fri Jul 24, 2020 4:32 am
bru888 wrote:
Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:59 pm
raf, is yours an observation or a complaint?

unit, thank you. There's more to come (but they take time).
Neither actually. A report of a possible trigger not working perhaps more so than anything.
That's a complaint. Let me take a look at the official version to see if I can spot a problem.

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 2:58 pm
by bru888
Actually, it's the scenario before Carpiquet, Operation Epsom - Counterattack, that has the "Expand the salient" secondary mission: "Taking and holding these 16 locations by the end of the scenario will accomplish this objective. Note that this includes Le Cartel and Point 112 which are controlled by the British at the start. Get 3 specialisation points and 300 resources."

And, I found the problem. Thanks for reporting it, raf.

Erik, please change this trigger event to "Turn Start" because one of the conditions is "Scenario turn limit" but there is no capture VP event to cause the trigger to activate at that time:

Screenshot 1.jpg
Screenshot 1.jpg (242.92 KiB) Viewed 729 times

Normandy UK & Canada 1944 2.6

Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 3:10 pm
by Erik2
Normandy UK & Canada 1944 2.6

Fixed Epsom sec obj.
Link updated in first post.

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 8:35 pm
by rafdobrowolski
bru888 wrote:
Fri Jul 24, 2020 2:58 pm
And, I found the problem. Thanks for reporting it, raf.
No problem, I love helping you all out! Great work, seriously giving me so much enjoyment and increasing my screen time these days.

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2020 11:56 pm
by bru888
rafdobrowolski wrote:
Fri Jul 24, 2020 8:35 pm
bru888 wrote:
Fri Jul 24, 2020 2:58 pm
And, I found the problem. Thanks for reporting it, raf.
No problem, I love helping you all out! Great work, seriously giving me so much enjoyment and increasing my screen time these days.
That's good. It keeps us going.

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 2:49 pm
by Shards
Asking in this thread as it's probably the most focused on the editor.
Variable.jpg
Variable.jpg (30.91 KiB) Viewed 591 times
If we put in the work to enable you to add/subtract etc two variables (rather than the current limit of only being able to set equal to), would you find value in that functionality?

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 3:45 pm
by bru888
Did you cut off the screen print? Is there a box underneath like this one that indicates what you want done (add, subtract, etc.)?

Screenshot 3.jpg
Screenshot 3.jpg (7.42 KiB) Viewed 585 times

Or is it just a matter of changing the value of "Var2" to equal "Var1"?

Either way, speaking for myself only, I don't see much value in it. I can manipulate "Var1" and "Var2 to my heart's content using separate effects and the box shown above (which I hope is not going away).

There are quite a few other things that I would ask for in the editors and I am sure that Erik has his own list. Periodically, I see him plant a suggestion here and there; I am not sure what the track record is because I take OOB as it comes these days, paying not much attention to wish lists.

However, were you to start a thread, asking for suggestions, I would surely take an interest. Not one of us; you or some other designer in order to lend it imprimatur.

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 5:52 pm
by Shards
There's no cut off, which is kinda my point :-)

At the moment, there's no way to add two variables together, so you end up having to make multiple copies of triggers to deal with very similar situations. Which makes maintenance a pain!

E.g. consider a multiplayer map where I give 2 points per Flag held. If I want to change that to 3, I have to go through and update several triggers instead of just changing one in the setup.

Or, and this is the current pertinent bit, if I want to give someone more points the earlier they achieve an objective, o can't currently combine that with another variable that's tracking kills...

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 7:38 pm
by bru888
I meant the image being cut off. What I am getting at is, will there still be a basic function for setting a variable to = or +/- a value? I don't see that in your screen print. As long as that capability is preserved, then I can't have any objection to what you are proposing.

Yes, I am a nervous nellie, but please don't have them damage the Set Scenario Variable effect which would in turn compromise many a scenario, DLC and custom.

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 7:46 pm
by bru888
Shards wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 5:52 pm
E.g. consider a multiplayer map where I give 2 points per Flag held. If I want to change that to 3, I have to go through and update several triggers instead of just changing one in the setup.
By the way, now that I read this, I can see the possibilities, yes. But where is the capability of just setting a variable to a certain value? That is why I hope it is just cut off in your screen print.

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 8:41 pm
by Shards
There's two buttons on the Set Scen Variable trigger.

"Variable Value:" is the default and what you're used to, with =,+,- for integers

If you click the "other variable" button, then you can set you variable equal to another variable. Which is useful in some circumstances, but I'm struggling to make mp tournament maps with sensible and interesting scoring systems without being able to do integer arithmetic on two variables.

Re: BrucErik CSD Studio

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2020 8:51 pm
by bru888
Shards wrote:
Mon Aug 10, 2020 8:41 pm
There's two buttons on the Set Scen Variable trigger.

"Variable Value:" is the default and what you're used to, with =,+,- for integers

If you click the "other variable" button, then you can set you variable equal to another variable. Which is useful in some circumstances, but I'm struggling to make mp tournament maps with sensible and interesting scoring systems without being able to do integer arithmetic on two variables.
Then I cannot see any downside except inadvertent regression of the original capability. Test, test, test! Test until you experience caffeine fits and bloody fingertips! :x ( :wink: )