No tool tips

PC/MAC : A belnd of role playing game and RTS following the story of the mighty Roman Empire.

Moderator: Slitherine Core

Post Reply
alex0809
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 9:41 am

No tool tips

Post by alex0809 » Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:40 pm

Hello,
I have no tool tips in my Legion Arena game:
Image
What could be the issue here? In some other places I have tool tips, for example when I hover over the 3d unit model in this screen.

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9302
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: No tool tips

Post by pipfromslitherine » Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:48 pm

Can you provide your system specs please. It could be a driver issue.

Have you tried running the game in a window to see if that helps?

Cheers

Pip

alex0809
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 9:41 am

Re: No tool tips

Post by alex0809 » Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:06 am

Here is my dxdiag: http://pastebin.com/BygQWv1h
How do I run the game in windowed mode?

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9302
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: No tool tips

Post by pipfromslitherine » Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:49 pm

If I recall correctly, you need to add the line

FULLSCREEN 0

to the user.txt file which is found in the DATA folder of the game install directory.

Cheers

Pip

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9302
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: No tool tips

Post by pipfromslitherine » Tue Jan 15, 2013 3:51 pm

Another thing I just spotted is that you have the text size increased from the default. Can you see whether reducing it to its normal size fixes the issue?

Cheers

Pip

alex0809
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 9:41 am

Re: No tool tips

Post by alex0809 » Tue Jan 15, 2013 5:24 pm

Nope both didn't help...

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9302
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: No tool tips

Post by pipfromslitherine » Tue Jan 15, 2013 6:22 pm

Are you running anything on the nVidia control panel, such as forced AA or forced texture quality?

Cheers

Pip

alex0809
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 9:41 am

Re: No tool tips

Post by alex0809 » Tue Jan 15, 2013 8:57 pm

No, I also reset it to factory settings to be sure.
This is really a weird issue... I first thought maybe it is because of fonts or something but after all I am shown part of some tooltips..

pipfromslitherine
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 9302
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 10:35 pm

Re: No tool tips

Post by pipfromslitherine » Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:11 pm

I'm not sure what else to suggest. There were some dynamic texture bugs introduced in the nVidia drivers in the older DirectX path a while ago, and while we have reported the issues (and the issues affect quite a few games other than ours) they don't seem to have gotten fixed unfortunately. I would imagine they are more focused on supporting the newer DX versions and features.

The only other thing I can think to try is to try running the game in a different screen resolution and or bit depth to see if that makes any difference.

Cheers

Pip

alex0809
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Sergeant - 7.5 cm FK 16 nA
Posts: 200
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 9:41 am

Re: No tool tips

Post by alex0809 » Tue Jan 15, 2013 9:44 pm

That was the first things I tried :(
I feel a bit shabby asking this because of your fast support but is it possible to get a refund on this?

IainMcNeil
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13551
Joined: Fri Apr 01, 2005 10:19 am

Re: No tool tips

Post by IainMcNeil » Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:06 am

Can you contact support@slitherine.co.uk with your details and send a link to this thread and we'll see what we can do.

Post Reply

Return to “Legion Arena & CoM”