Creating a new scenario

Post Reply
edward77
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:11 pm

Creating a new scenario

Post by edward77 » Sat Jul 20, 2019 1:38 pm

The structure of SJ is a bit more complicated than P&S as there is no Text 1 file already set up for linking unit names with the squads file. The squads file is huge and there are no alternate textures immediately available in the editor. I`m completely at sea in trying to efficiently create a set of units of any one clan other than a hit or miss approach when selecting units. This very laborious and even If i do this there is then no way I can identify the required number in the squads file to insert in the text 1 file. I'm sure there must be a better more efficient method.

Paul59
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1890
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:26 pm

Re: Creating a new scenario

Post by Paul59 » Sun Jul 21, 2019 1:41 pm

Hi ed,

I'm not exactly sure what your problems are, but these are a couple of ideas to help:

1) Copy a Text.txt file from another scenario to use in your scenario folder. Just delete everything that is already in it.

2) Open your scenario in the editor, and place a unit on the map. Save the scenario file, and open the scenario .BAM file Notepad++. Search in Notepad++ for unitco, that will take you to the start of the section in the .BAM file that records the units that you have used. That will show you the exact unitname that you have used, you can then search for that name in the Squads.csv to find the unit number. You can have all three programs open at the same time and switch between them using ALT+TAB.

If you have selected the wrong unit, delete it from the scenario, and try another unit. You just need to save the scenario before you can check the .BAM file to get the name.
Scenario Designer - Age of Belisarius, Rise of Persia, and Wolves at the Gate.

TT Mod Creator

edward77
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Sergeant - Panzer IIC
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2010 9:11 pm

Re: Creating a new scenario

Post by edward77 » Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:24 am

Paul, yet again many thanks for your help. Now that I have notepad++ I can do as you suggest. After some thought I finally decided to set up a custom squads file of all units in sets 3 and 5. This has worked fine, as there are only two units of the specific type and size, one for each side, therby reducing the squad file from 896 items to 220 and reducing the time tracing them within the squads file. Means I have to settle for only two clans. I could perhaps increase this if I knew how to get the alternative textures working.

Paul59
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Brigadier-General - 8.8 cm Pak 43/41
Posts: 1890
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2015 11:26 pm

Re: Creating a new scenario

Post by Paul59 » Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:43 pm

edward77 wrote:
Mon Jul 22, 2019 11:24 am
Paul, yet again many thanks for your help. Now that I have notepad++ I can do as you suggest. After some thought I finally decided to set up a custom squads file of all units in sets 3 and 5. This has worked fine, as there are only two units of the specific type and size, one for each side, therby reducing the squad file from 896 items to 220 and reducing the time tracing them within the squads file. Means I have to settle for only two clans. I could perhaps increase this if I knew how to get the alternative textures working.
Hi ed,

I am away on holiday at the moment and therefore cannot check my version of the game, so I am not sure why you cannot access all the alternative textures.
Scenario Designer - Age of Belisarius, Rise of Persia, and Wolves at the Gate.

TT Mod Creator

Cronos09
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 4:28 pm

Re: Creating a new scenario

Post by Cronos09 » Wed Jul 24, 2019 4:20 am

Text 7 of SG is similar to text 1 in P&S. It nearly contains all the units from the Squads file. Imho, there are no alternative textures here for the Japanese units (with the exception of 2 folders - SJ_UNIFIERS and SJ_OTHERS). Perhaps due to the fact that several different unit names correspond to the same texture in the Squads file.

Post Reply

Return to “Scenario Design”