Rear Bases in a BG

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design, hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
Malty666
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:12 am
Location: Malta
Contact:

Rear Bases in a BG

Post by Malty666 » Sun Jun 20, 2010 8:43 pm

We had a situation where I had a 3 base cavalry unit (it had lost a base earlier) in the following formation:

XX
X


The problem is that, when wheeling and moving the rear base ended up in an open field - leaving the BG disrupted.

If the base was shifted onto the other file it would have been out of the field.

Is there a rule for how you set your rear ranks because after combing through the book we couldn't find any?

We played it as disrupted as shifting the base to avoid the terrain sounded...well overly 'gamey' to use a nice word.

Feedback? Opinions?

hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy » Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:22 pm

First a couple of bonus answers:
only bases that are in terrain are dissordered.
dissordered and disrupted are not the same thing although they have similar effects.

Now the answer you have asked for:
you can only change the 'formation' of a BG by turning, contracting or expanding. Turns will result in a new formation facing to a side and the rear rank is not restricted in where it is placed. Contracting should be obvious as is expanding. You certainly cannot shift a rear base as part of an advance just because it suits.

Malty666
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:12 am
Location: Malta
Contact:

Post by Malty666 » Sun Jun 20, 2010 9:51 pm

So how does the "only that base is disordered" work? :?

If I have to lose 1 per 3 dice for being disordered, but only 1 base is disordered, do I lose a dice still?

berthier
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
2nd Lieutenant - Elite Panzer IVF/2
Posts: 734
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:01 am
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Contact:

Post by berthier » Sun Jun 20, 2010 10:13 pm

3 bases would have to be in the disordering terrain for you to lose a dice.

BlackPrince
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Staff Sergeant - StuG IIIF
Posts: 269
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:34 pm

Post by BlackPrince » Sun Jun 20, 2010 10:58 pm

Disorder works on a base by base case, so if one base is disordered as it only accounts for one dice then there is no effect as are not three or more dice.
So two bases disordered accounts for two dice in melee no effect for being disordered. However, in the inpact phase two bases add in four dice (two dice each) because when bases are disordered ordered you lose 1 per 3 dice the bases in the impact phase will only get three dice not four.
Keith

It was better to leave disputing about the faith to the theologians and just run argumentative non-believers through with the sword (Louis IX).

deadtorius
General - Elite King Tiger
General - Elite King Tiger
Posts: 4176
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:41 am

Post by deadtorius » Mon Jun 21, 2010 1:12 am

Also works for friendly cav and elephants, only your base next to the nellies is disordered so no dice loss for you, the enemy loses dice for being disordered if they charge the nellies as they are all within disordering range since they are in frontal contact and in range when in an overlap position.
It's a neat way the system works that you can be in a slightly bad position but not suffer ill effects for it in combat.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”