Elephants and Commanders

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Design, Field of Glory Moderators

Post Reply
mbsparta
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 331
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 11:57 pm

Elephants and Commanders

Post by mbsparta » Tue Mar 05, 2013 4:48 am

Can a Commander not mounted on an elephant "command" an elephant BG?
I am having a V2 brain-fart ...
Specifically, can a commander depicted as mounted on a horse rally a broken elephant BG?
I seem to remember a V2 rule that only commanders mounted on elephants can "command" elephant BGs? Can't find it in the V2 book ....

Lost in old age
Mike B

zoltan
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Captain - Heavy Cruiser
Posts: 901
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 6:40 am
Location: Wellington, New Zealand

Re: Elephants and Commanders

Post by zoltan » Tue Mar 05, 2013 7:33 am

mbsparta wrote:Can a Commander not mounted on an elephant "command" an elephant BG?
I am having a V2 brain-fart ...
Specifically, can a commander depicted as mounted on a horse rally a broken elephant BG?
I seem to remember a V2 rule that only commanders mounted on elephants can "command" elephant BGs? Can't find it in the V2 book ....

Lost in old age
Mike B
V2 4-3. Only commanders depicted on elephants can affect quality re-rolls of elephants.

ravenflight
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Brigadier-General - 15 cm Nblwf 41
Posts: 1966
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2009 6:52 am

Re: Elephants and Commanders

Post by ravenflight » Tue Mar 05, 2013 8:50 am

zoltan wrote:
mbsparta wrote:Can a Commander not mounted on an elephant "command" an elephant BG?
I am having a V2 brain-fart ...
Specifically, can a commander depicted as mounted on a horse rally a broken elephant BG?
I seem to remember a V2 rule that only commanders mounted on elephants can "command" elephant BGs? Can't find it in the V2 book ....

Lost in old age
Mike B
V2 4-3. Only commanders depicted on elephants can affect quality re-rolls of elephants.
So ONLY quality re-rolls... although I do find it rather humorous that a general on an elephant can bring a BG of Cataphracts back from disorder. 'Now now geegee's nice straight lines on me' :)

Vespasian28
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 9:04 pm

Re: Elephants and Commanders

Post by Vespasian28 » Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:18 pm

Equally humorous are all those foot commanders, especially the one' s in armour, legging it after that routing body of horse.

I suppose the elephant mounted commander could be shouting polite words of "encouragement" via a megaphone to his equine comrades to rally them whereas actually being involved in the melee will cause a real issue.
That said it's a rule that doesn't really bother me as despite owning a Classical Indian army I'm not daft enough to attach a general to an elephant Bg anyway.

hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Re: Elephants and Commanders

Post by hazelbark » Tue Mar 05, 2013 6:20 pm

Well the commanders are not always literal they represent some command and control capabilities.

Mehrunes
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 517
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:21 pm

Re: Elephants and Commanders

Post by Mehrunes » Sun Apr 07, 2013 4:34 pm

Can I model commanders on elephants even if it is not proposed in the army lists?

At least it states "should depicted", not "must depicted". And I'm getting downsides, too (can't affect mounted BGs AFAIR).

hazelbark
General - Carrier
General - Carrier
Posts: 4957
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 9:53 pm
Location: Capital of the World !!

Re: Elephants and Commanders

Post by hazelbark » Sun Apr 07, 2013 9:40 pm

No you should not mount commanders on elephants unless specifically allowed.

If you do you must play them as if they are not mounted on elephants.

rbodleyscott
Field of Glory 2
Field of Glory 2
Posts: 22721
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2005 6:25 pm

Re: Elephants and Commanders

Post by rbodleyscott » Mon Apr 08, 2013 7:37 pm

Mehrunes wrote:Can I model commanders on elephants even if it is not proposed in the army lists?

At least it states "should depicted", not "must depicted". And I'm getting downsides, too (can't affect mounted BGs AFAIR).
Yes you can, but then they will neither be able to affect mounted re-rolls NOR elephant re-rolls, so that is not a very cunning plan. Read what it actually says on P.4-3. (Not sure which page that is in printed version)

timmy1
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Lieutenant-General - Nashorn
Posts: 3436
Joined: Fri Feb 29, 2008 8:39 pm
Location: Chelmsford, Essex, England

Re: Elephants and Commanders

Post by timmy1 » Mon Apr 08, 2013 9:46 pm

P24.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”