evading and interpenetration

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
bayankhan
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 12:59 am

evading and interpenetration

Post by bayankhan » Tue Jun 17, 2008 6:29 pm

have some questions about this

-when interpenetrating, a unit gets 2 MUs of extra movement 'beyond its normal move' to help it clear the stationary unit. Does this apply when evading through a friendly unit? If so, is the extra movement added to the variable move, or is it to a 'normal move'

-when interpenetrating, a unit that can only get some of its stands completely through the friendly stationary unit, leaves the remaining stands on the other side, and disorders the friendly unit. Does this apply when evading?

hammy
Field of Glory Team
Field of Glory Team
Posts: 5440
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 2:11 pm
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Post by hammy » Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:51 pm

When evading there are specific rules on what occurs for partial interpenetrations. From memory any base that reaches the BG being interpenetrated is placed beyond, other bases are placed against the BG on the near side.

My rules are still packed in a bag so I can't quote a page number but it is there and IMO clearly stated. Interpenetrations start on IIRC P47.

SirGarnet
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2186
Joined: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:13 am

Post by SirGarnet » Tue Jun 17, 2008 11:05 pm

LF get up to a 2MU bonus to NORMAL MOVE distance if it would let the BG pass through (i.e., in the open the maximum would be 7 MU). So this could be quite a bonus if you rolled low on VMD.

Otherwise, those that reach the intervening BG are placed through, others remain on the near side, and the moving group is disordered. Friends behind the interpenetrated BG are shifted in the direction of interpenetration to make room. The BG interpenetrated is not disordered, but if it can't interpenetrate the interpenetrators, then it is stuck where it is.

The weird thing is when LF partially pass through at sharp angle, or interpenetrate two BGs not in battle line, which can effectively leaving disconnected bases on either side. They can do a 180 but not wheel or turn until they are clear, and they reform at the END of their move when ending the interpenetration.

Then the hard part - we determined that under the rules first they need to move clear, so moved the files each the minimum forward needed to get in at least corner to corner contact, then wheeling the resulting non-standard formation using the normal rules for measuring irregular front lines. Then they reform on the forward base at the end of the phase.

Following the exact rules for a 90 degree or 180 degree turn can be the most efficient way to get troops to collect together again in the desired spot.

Mike

KiwiWarlord
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Posts: 633
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 7:39 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Cav through LF

Post by KiwiWarlord » Sun Oct 25, 2009 7:35 am

Situation, a 4 base line of cav evaded back ending with 1 Cav in the middle of a LF Bg in 2 ranks. The 1 Cav was placed through the LF ( an allowed interpenetration ) but what happens to the other 3 bases of Cav ?
Do they exceed their evade move distance & maintain a line 4 bases wide or split into 1 Cav base on the far side of the LF the other 3 bases back and to the side of the LF ?
Note there was no room to shift the Cav sideways.
Thanks

KiwiWarlord
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Sergeant Major - SdKfz 234/2 8Rad
Posts: 633
Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 7:39 am
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand

Cav through LF

Post by KiwiWarlord » Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:37 am

Found the answer from an earlier post by Stevoid with a reply from RBS.

As the Cav were in a single rank they all remain in a single rank aligned with the Cav base that interpenetrated the LF.

Only if the Cav were in 2 ranks would they be split.
RBS Dec 7, 2007.

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”