The rules covering this are:terrys wrote:I certainly can't remember this coming up in Beta testing....Easy to apply but a bugger to remember. So much for simplicity.
Hitting 3 times against a BG that has only 7 bases remaining AND rolling a 1 on the death roll. - Fairly infrequent I think.
However, the rule says suffered 1HP2B "FROM" shooting or close combat..
It doesn't say 1HP2B "AFTER" combat or shooting - nor does that make sense.
In the same way that you wouldn't take a test on a 10-base BG if it took 3 hits from shooting - even if you failed the Death roll.
Battle Group suffered at least 1HP2B from...close combat: -1
For each full 25% of its original bases that Battle Group has lost: -1
The first is past tense.
So, turn sequence on p163:
Resolve all melee combats. In which a BG initially of 8 bases but now of 7 loses melee, receiving 3 hits. So the BG did not suffer 1HP2B from close combat.
roll for commander losses - not applicable
death roll - lose a base, down to 6.
Post combat cohesion test:
BG suffered 1HP2B in close combat - no 3/7 is not 1 per 2.
Has the battle group lost a full 25% of bases? Yes, so -1
As Terry says, the testing didn't specifically bring this up, or we'd have made the wording clearer.