Fighting whilst in contact with routers

This forum is for any questions about the rules. Post here is you need feedback from the design team.

Moderators: hammy, Slitherine Core, Field of Glory Moderators, Field of Glory Design

Post Reply
Vespasian28
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 9:04 pm

Fighting whilst in contact with routers

Post by Vespasian28 » Sat Jul 28, 2018 5:41 pm

Had an unusual situation today, for us anyway, where an enemy unit broke during Impact and in the pursuit the winners contacted a fresh enemy with a base and remained in contact with routers with another base whilst maintaining unit integrity.
During the melee phase can the winners count the base in contact with the routing troops as an overlap against the new enemy as the only contact they have is with the rear of the pursued or do they count as fighting the pursued even though no base losses can be inflicted?

grahambriggs
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Major-General - Jagdtiger
Posts: 2988
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:48 am

Re: Fighting whilst in contact with routers

Post by grahambriggs » Sun Jul 29, 2018 3:19 pm

Vespasian28 wrote:
Sat Jul 28, 2018 5:41 pm
Had an unusual situation today, for us anyway, where an enemy unit broke during Impact and in the pursuit the winners contacted a fresh enemy with a base and remained in contact with routers with another base whilst maintaining unit integrity.
During the melee phase can the winners count the base in contact with the routing troops as an overlap against the new enemy as the only contact they have is with the rear of the pursued or do they count as fighting the pursued even though no base losses can be inflicted?
They count as an overlap. Top of page 84 says bases in front edge contact with unbroken enemy fight them as do any overlaps. Since the bases are not in front edge contact with an unbroken enemy, they fight as an overlap.

philqw78
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Chief of Staff - Elite Maus
Posts: 8682
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 11:31 am
Location: Manchester

Re: Fighting whilst in contact with routers

Post by philqw78 » Tue Jul 31, 2018 9:05 am

grahambriggs wrote:
Sun Jul 29, 2018 3:19 pm
They count as an overlap. Top of page 84 says bases in front edge contact with unbroken enemy fight them as do any overlaps. Since the bases are not in front edge contact with an unbroken enemy, they fight as an overlap.
Surely the relevant paragraph would be where they are stated to count as in overlap and none of that mentions front edge contact with routers. This means that they do count as overlap as they are not excluded but is confusing. So IMO this would need to go in the Clarifications
phil
putting the arg into argumentative

Post Reply

Return to “Rules Questions”