Bursting through FOGAM2/FOGR
Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:39 am
I asked this question following a FOGR game on that forum two weeks ago but no responses yet so as the rules appear the same in FOGAM2 I am asking here in the hope of enlightenment:
A unit of LH evades a charge directly to it's rear where it meests a friendly mounted cavalry BG at roughly right angles to it as it is facing enemy LH to it's own front.
The evading LH obviously cannot interpenetrate so they shift sideways but cannot complete the evade move as it then runs into the enemy.
So, our reading of it is that as it cannot complete the evade, no shift is allowed and it must instead burst through the friendly cavalry.
However, it can only complete the burst through if there is room beyond for it; which in this case there is not as there is no room due to the enemy.
Consequently the evaders are destroyed.
So far this is our interpretation and we agree up to this point.
However, I think the enemy cavalry were being burst through and therefore drop a cohesion even though the burst through could not be completed.
My opponent thinks that as there was no room beyond, the evaders burst through would not have happened and therefore no drop.
We diced for the outcome as we could not agree and proceeded with no cohesion drop.
A unit of LH evades a charge directly to it's rear where it meests a friendly mounted cavalry BG at roughly right angles to it as it is facing enemy LH to it's own front.
The evading LH obviously cannot interpenetrate so they shift sideways but cannot complete the evade move as it then runs into the enemy.
So, our reading of it is that as it cannot complete the evade, no shift is allowed and it must instead burst through the friendly cavalry.
However, it can only complete the burst through if there is room beyond for it; which in this case there is not as there is no room due to the enemy.
Consequently the evaders are destroyed.
So far this is our interpretation and we agree up to this point.
However, I think the enemy cavalry were being burst through and therefore drop a cohesion even though the burst through could not be completed.
My opponent thinks that as there was no room beyond, the evaders burst through would not have happened and therefore no drop.
We diced for the outcome as we could not agree and proceeded with no cohesion drop.