Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

A new story begins...
The sequel to a real classic: Panzer Corps is back!

Moderator: Panzer Corps 2 Moderators

How much RAM does your computer have?

1Gb or less
1
1%
2Gb
0
No votes
4Gb
14
14%
8Gb
41
42%
16Gb
27
28%
32Gb
10
10%
Other (specify)
4
4%
 
Total votes: 97

SergeyG
FlashBack Games
FlashBack Games
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2017 11:52 am

Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by SergeyG » Fri Mar 31, 2017 1:25 pm

Hey Panzer Corps fans! We debute today with group of polls. It's important to know, so please participate.

nikivdd
Panzer Corps Map Designer
Panzer Corps Map Designer
Posts: 4124
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:21 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by nikivdd » Fri Mar 31, 2017 1:35 pm

12 Gb
https://www.facebook.com/NikivddPanzerCorps/
https://www.youtube.com/user/Nikivdd1/videos?shelf_id=0&view=0&sort=dd

guille1434
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2112
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 5:32 pm

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by guille1434 » Fri Mar 31, 2017 1:53 pm

Hehe... I currently have 24 Gb DDR3 RAM... (2 x 4Gb + 2 x 8 Gb) a rare combination, but I plan to upgrade to 32 Gb soon... :-)

Yrfin
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Master Sergeant - U-boat
Posts: 536
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2016 6:47 am
Location: Behind your backs

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by Yrfin » Fri Mar 31, 2017 1:54 pm

Better ask about video card for PzC II :wink:
Shoot first. Ask questions later.

Buffalohump
Corporal - Strongpoint
Corporal - Strongpoint
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:49 am
Location: North Texas

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by Buffalohump » Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:56 pm

Yrfin wrote:Better ask about video card for PzC II :wink:
I currently have 4 GB of ram but intend to buy new computer some time this year, agree with Yrfin what video card or equivalent will be required.

terminator
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Brigadier-General - Elite Grenadier
Posts: 2030
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2011 12:48 pm

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by terminator » Fri Mar 31, 2017 3:45 pm

I hope that the code will enough be optimized not to need a pc which is a monster of power to run the game

Rudankort
FlashBack Games
FlashBack Games
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 2:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by Rudankort » Fri Mar 31, 2017 4:20 pm

Yrfin wrote:Better ask about video card for PzC II :wink:
This poll will come later. :)
terminator wrote:I hope that the code will enough be optimized not to need a pc which is a monster of power to run the game
The point of these polls is to understand what kind of computers our player base has. This will be our reference point when we get to optimization.

goose_2
Tournament Organizer of the Year 2017
Tournament Organizer of the Year 2017
Posts: 2253
Joined: Tue Dec 23, 2014 5:22 am
Location: Winterset, Iowa

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by goose_2 » Fri Mar 31, 2017 4:56 pm

I am not sure as I am not tech savvy

A few years ago I was able to play StarCraft 2 on a pretty graphic level without much buffering on insane levels, that must have been pretty killer memory with pretty killer video card.

I haven't played anything other than Pz Corps really in 2 years so I am not sure what it is at.

Just diving in for a mo at work.

So much stuff is getting posted, I am not sure how this stuff will get sorted.

I will try and take some time and give more detail on what I meant by hokey, in a later post.
goose_2
Lutheran Multiplayer Tournament Organizer. :-)

sn0wball
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E
Master Sergeant - Bf 109E
Posts: 481
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 8:22 am
Location: Germany

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by sn0wball » Fri Mar 31, 2017 9:24 pm

And how many people know this by heart ? I had to click through the system properties for some time to find out. When I was still playing Panzer General and RAM was measured in MB, I could tell you all the tech specs of my 486 machine by heart.

Rudankort
FlashBack Games
FlashBack Games
Posts: 2611
Joined: Sat Aug 21, 2010 2:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by Rudankort » Fri Mar 31, 2017 9:58 pm

This article looks helpful to determine how much RAM a PC has under different versions of Windows:
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000149.htm

BiteNibbleChomp
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Lieutenant-General - Do 217E
Posts: 3223
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 6:35 am

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by BiteNibbleChomp » Sat Apr 01, 2017 9:11 am

3,49 gb.

- BNC
Creator of American Civil War mod for Strategic Command WWI!
Discuss here: http://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=4504986
Download: http://www.mediafire.com/file/tj4t11z3ttl142w/SCACW.zip/file

Kolaris
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Lance Corporal - SdKfz 222
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2016 9:02 pm

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by Kolaris » Sun Apr 02, 2017 2:22 am

4gb DDR2 @ 400mhz! Only 10 years old!

Hopefully upgrading this summer, when it would be 16gb DDR 4 @ 3200mhz. Just a slight upgrade.

bebro
The Artistocrats
The Artistocrats
Posts: 2580
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:50 pm

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by bebro » Sun Apr 02, 2017 11:08 am

Short answer: not enough ;) Which means 8 GB in my case

hurly
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Sergeant First Class - Panzer IIIL
Posts: 361
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 12:43 am

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by hurly » Sun Apr 02, 2017 11:53 am

bebro wrote:Short answer: not enough ;) Which means 8 GB in my case

why is that not enough ?

we will see

I have several machines working at home or in the Office, but I plan to play PC2 on my CoreI3 4330T with 6 GB and with the Internal Graphics Solution of the CPU.

It's working for Starcraft 2, it's working for Anno 1404, it's even working for a few Shooters.
Not with all Details enabled but at a resolution of 1920@1080 on an attached Flat Screen TV and without any Probs so far. So I don't think PC2 should be a mayor issue for that machine, at least not if the Game Engine is done well by the Development Staff (and I might add I trust them they will do well)

So why do I plan to play this and most of the other Time Consuming Games on this Machine while letting the CoreI7 with more RAM and a Big Graphic Card sitting Idle beside it ?

Pretty easy answer as I write the Machine uses 4,1 Watt and when I play seldom more than 15 Watt while the CoreI7 with the Graphic Card is at 200 to 400 Watt depending on the Game I'm playing.
Just do the Math according to your local Energy Prizes how much the difference is for the Duration of Playing Time of just Panzer Corps for a Year

bebro
The Artistocrats
The Artistocrats
Posts: 2580
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 12:50 pm

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by bebro » Sun Apr 02, 2017 2:23 pm

Oh, I guess I should be more careful here: I have no idea what PzC 2 would need in RAM, and personally I hope 8 would be fine for this game.

My comment was more in the general sense - kinda like "more is always better"

Razz1
Panzer Corps Moderator
Panzer Corps Moderator
Posts: 3279
Joined: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:49 am
Location: USA

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by Razz1 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 4:16 am

I just upgraded to 16Gb and found an old graphic card 950TX

Now I am maxed out on upgrades

turn4441
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 1:55 pm

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by turn4441 » Sun Apr 09, 2017 1:48 pm

16 GB

jeff00t
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Administrative Corporal - SdKfz 232 8Rad
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 7:08 pm

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by jeff00t » Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:20 pm

16 G too and even if i had 8Gb , i would buy 8 more. it is cheap now.
my custom single player mini-campaign in order of battle : normandie-niemen: Image
http://www.slitherine.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=374&t=79333&p=676302#p676302

Pill
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Private First Class - Wehrmacht Inf
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 5:05 pm

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by Pill » Mon Apr 10, 2017 9:47 pm

16GB but PC runs fine with 8GB. Some more intensive DX12 games need lots of RAM...

An easy way to find out system specs is press Windows Key +R,then type msinfo32 in the run box. This will bring up a window with a summary of CPU, RAM etc.
In the left hand side directory tree under Components/Display will be your Graphics Card info.

TSPC37730
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Staff Sergeant - Kavallerie
Posts: 319
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 9:43 am
Location: Dallas TX

Re: Poll: How much RAM does your computer have?

Post by TSPC37730 » Tue Apr 11, 2017 4:41 pm

8 Gb desktop, 4 Gb laptop.

Post Reply

Return to “Panzer Corps 2”